Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wurzels do disco!
Not a bad CD. But The Wurzels seem to have jazzed up some of the songs, bit of a disco beat. My 7 year old thought they were good to dance to. Having said that they do sound good, but not what true Wurzel fans might expect. Some of the song I remember Adge Cutler singing, and thought Pete Budd's versions wern't as good. He seemed to be trying to sing them in Adge's style...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits but no Adge
May 2007 saw the release of the second compilation to bear the name "The Wurzels Greatest Hits". This collection brings The Wurzels story right up to date with the inclusion of three tracks from the "Never Mind The Bullocks" album, and the band's 2007 single I Am A Cider Drinker 2007 performed with Tony Blackburn.

Along with these are all your old favourites...
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by F. Blades


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wurzels do disco!, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Not a bad CD. But The Wurzels seem to have jazzed up some of the songs, bit of a disco beat. My 7 year old thought they were good to dance to. Having said that they do sound good, but not what true Wurzel fans might expect. Some of the song I remember Adge Cutler singing, and thought Pete Budd's versions wern't as good. He seemed to be trying to sing them in Adge's style & personally thought that didn't work. If you prefer the Wurzels now then you will probably enjoy this CD. Fans of the older stuff, namly Adge, may not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where be those Wurzels to?, 9 May 2007
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A goodtime, good fun CD - the classics are here, plus some modern reworkings, and there's a smattering of tracks from latter day Wurzels CDs - including some rather good jazzed up re-workings of old Adge Cutler songs that highlight how good he was! Ferry To Glastonbury is quite beautiful, and when the Common Market Came to Stanton Drew has simply not dated.

The only downside is the reworkings of hits by Oasis - amusing, but I'd rather hear the lyrics Wurzelized!

Well worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits but no Adge, 17 Sep 2009
By 
F. Blades (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
May 2007 saw the release of the second compilation to bear the name "The Wurzels Greatest Hits". This collection brings The Wurzels story right up to date with the inclusion of three tracks from the "Never Mind The Bullocks" album, and the band's 2007 single I Am A Cider Drinker 2007 performed with Tony Blackburn.

Along with these are all your old favourites from the post-Adge line-up - or at least enough from each phase of The Wurzels evolution to please those fans who buy a 'Best Of' compilation. However, Adge fans looking at the track list and expecting all those classic Adge Cutler performances may be a little disppointed, as they will find that the majority of the older songs are The Wurzels re-recorded versions from the A Taste Of Somerset album, so this truly is a 'Wurzels' compilation album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part novelty, part knees-up, 26 July 2014
By 
Bertie (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Wurzels never have been and never will be the last word in cutting edge contemporary music. However if like me you're a child of the 70's and remember most of the words to The Combine Harvester song then it's well worth taking a trip back down memory lane and purchasing this. You even get a Tony Blackburn duet. If this album was a food it would be cheese and cider - not sure it goes but who cares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
YOU CAN`T BEAT A GOOD OLD WURZEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Trip down memory lane, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cider, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Songs about drinking cider..excellent if you are in a silly mood or if your mood needs lifting or if you need to kill some aliens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Wurzels, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought as a bit of fun for a colleague from the countryside. All those fun tracks are here so if you have a brand new combine harvester with a CD player this could be for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arrrr, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
the recordings on this cd are brilliant, I hadn't heard some of them and I really enjoyed it. combine harvester and bills cowman are my favourite. a must listen to cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pefect Stocking Filler, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My nephew (21) saw the Wurzels live and all he wanted for Christmas was their greatest hits! ooo-ar oo-ar! great work guys - fast delivery - many thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Wurzels (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews