Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A feared icon of a pan-galactc tyranny and a jolly cute little model to boot,
Revell's Easykit Pocket kit is an excellent introduction to the world of modelling. The kit takes a popular and contemporary subject (none of your dusty, boring Spitfires or Messerschmidts here) and uses it to encourage wannabe kit bashers to practise the basic modelling skills: separating parts from the sprues, cleaning up the sprue stubs and paying attention to the...
Published on 17 Sep 2011 by Crookedmouth

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Kit But Could Have Been Much Better
The Revell Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor is a 21 part, ready painted star wars kit that can be clipped together without glue. The kit is remarkably well detailed and when completed is looks exactly the same as a Tie Interceptor from the original Star Wars movies. Also the 10 stage instruction manual is extremely easy to follow and well designed.

I do however,...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Mr. A Bridger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A feared icon of a pan-galactc tyranny and a jolly cute little model to boot,, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
Revell's Easykit Pocket kit is an excellent introduction to the world of modelling. The kit takes a popular and contemporary subject (none of your dusty, boring Spitfires or Messerschmidts here) and uses it to encourage wannabe kit bashers to practise the basic modelling skills: separating parts from the sprues, cleaning up the sprue stubs and paying attention to the (commendably clear and simple) instructions. Executed in the economical scale of 1/72, the kit is designed to be almost impossible to get wrong: the few "handed" components are designed so that they can only be fitted on the correct side of the model and there is no need for paint or glue (although I fixed the parts with superglue to ensure a robust finish). All in all this particular kit took me about 30m to build - it could be finished in rather less if you wanted though.

The quality is surprisingly good for what is essentially a cheap(ish) toy. The parts are moulded with plenty of detail and they fit together snugly with only the merest hint of a seam. The paint job is sparse but nicely done: the pilot figure, for instance, is painted with matt black overalls and gloss black boots and helmet which I thought was rather nice attention to detail, especially as the pilot will be all but invisible in the end! Equally impressive is the pilot's port hole, the framework of which is also painted.

Other reviewers have mentioned that this kit could do with a display stand. I suppose it could, but I'm going to be hanging mine from the study ceiling where it will dogfight with an English Electric Lightning and a Tupolev Tu16 Badger. Who will triumph, I wonder? The forces of darkness, I suspect...

The kit *is* quite fiddly so it's probably best suited for ages of around 10 years and upwards. Younger modellers will need some guidance, however so long as they're not inclined to eat the smaller parts (or insert them into ears, nostrils or other inappropriate orifices), this need only be a matter of gentle encouragement. More experienced modellers shouldn't be put off though as there's ample scope for improvement, especially in terms of the paint job, but if you want a *good* TIE fighter, I suspect that you'll look elsewhere...

Han: My wookie's got no nose.
Luke: How does he smell?
Han: Terrible!

Thank you and good night ladies and gentlemen. I've been Crookedmouth and you've been lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tie Interceptor, 14 Jan 2012
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
This is a very easy kit to put together and the instructions are simple to follow. To get the best out of the kit I'd advise getting a set of modelling pliers, glue and a file for plastic models.

Inside the box you'll find the pieces fixed to two plastic sheets and a separate bag for the clear plastic windows. Basic assembly took 15 minutes but I was a little unhappy with the plastic flash left on some of the pieces and the fit of the wings and body were a little loose. The pliers, glue and file sorted out these little problems.

Overall the quality of the product is very high and resembles something that GamesWorkshop would be proud of. The Revell easy-fit collection is one I will be proudly displaying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What no display stand!!, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Russell Law (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
I have other models in this series that all came with display stands, this one didn't for some reason bit disapointed. Nice model though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
1. Star Wars
2. Beautiful model
3. Easy to assemble
4. price

(nothing more to add, but system need some more words, bla bla..)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
I wanted a cheap and easy "put together" for my 9 yr old who is really into Star Wars now, although a little fiddly in inserting the pilot, this ticks all the boxes and he's very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but fiddly, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
The product is good value for money and when correctly assembled, looks the part.
Having said all of that, the package indicates that you don't need glue or knives to assemble, believe me you do. Some of the components are so well fixed to the transit frame they can easily be damaged while removing them. My 7 year old grandson did not understand the instructions very well, however the instructions are very clear but there are a lot of them for an 'EasyKit' making them unsuitable for particularly young children. I purchased 4 different Star Wars models at the same time for my grandson and each one took an average of about 20 minutes to assemble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great details, easy assembly, 15 Aug 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
I was very positively surprised by the details of this model, both in color and texture. I bought some "paint not required" model kits before where the colors turned up to be defined by the color of the plastic, so no details were highlighted in color. But in this kit several details (of course not as many as if you painted it yourself) are ACTUALLY PAINTED. Very detailed interior includes a black painted imperial fighter pilot, equiped just like in the movie. It holds together very well without any glue, and it could even survive a few minutes in a child's hands, eventhough it's not really a toy.
A small shortcomming, though: no display stand.
100mm long 77mm wide 64mm tall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Kit But Could Have Been Much Better, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. A Bridger (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
The Revell Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor is a 21 part, ready painted star wars kit that can be clipped together without glue. The kit is remarkably well detailed and when completed is looks exactly the same as a Tie Interceptor from the original Star Wars movies. Also the 10 stage instruction manual is extremely easy to follow and well designed.

I do however, have a number of complaints about this model. Although the kit is ready painted, it is still on the plastic frame and the individual components require clipping off. This, though, leaves some small marks on the components which will require cleaning with a modelling file which unfortunately removes the painted details around that point.

Also some of the details of the kit are very fiddly, particularly the cockpit area, which will generally mean that most children will/may require some assistance at this point. The completed model is also extremely delicate which means that it is primarily suited for display rather than as a toy.

Overall i would recommend this Easykit to any Star Wars fan or modelling fan who would like a nice Star Wars display piece. However, this kit could have been improved immeasurably with a display stand so that it could easily be placed on a shelf, especially considering the completed models fragility and its lack of suitability as a toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easykit pocket, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. Castle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
This is quite fiddly in parts and my 11 year old son eventually asked for my help to put it together but it did clip together very easily and not having glue all over the place was an added bonus. Once the model was assembled it did look very nice and is remarkably well detailed. Unfortunately it has been relegated to a shelf because, in my son's words, it is too delicate to play with. Maybe buying this model for an older person is alright but I would have to caution against buying it for a young child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars second purchase, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell Star Wars Easykit Pocket Tie Interceptor (Toy)
needed second one to match first , as expected still high quality item a a a a a a a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews