Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the Directors cut
I originally could only find the directors cut of this old cult film. It has some silly carton type edits included which ruined it and then I found this original version which luckily does not have cartons and is great. Directors cut is in the bin !
Published on 22 July 2011 by Gatehouse

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, shame about the comic strip cut scenes
The Warriors is a great film from a director who has made more than his fair share of great movies. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, directors feel the need to tinker with their films and the result is nearly always detrimental. And so it is with The Warriors.

The opening scene in The Warriors with the eerie music and Wonder Wheel in the background is...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by George Nada


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the Directors cut, 22 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
I originally could only find the directors cut of this old cult film. It has some silly carton type edits included which ruined it and then I found this original version which luckily does not have cartons and is great. Directors cut is in the bin !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Walter Hill firing on all cylinders, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Warriors [1979] [DVD] (DVD)
There is this image that preludes the title credits of 'The Warriors' of the ferris wheel all lit up on Coney Island. It some how just stays with you after the end credits roll up and it reminds you of what a great era the 1970's was for film making, the same era that saw such classics as The Deer Hunter and Alien to name but a few. The Warriors has certainly gone on to become a cult classic and when it was released it received a certain amount of notoriety due to riots that took place in a number of cinemas. The Warriors though i think has remained popular since it has some very snappy cinematograhy, some great set pieces and was stylishly directed by one of Hollywoods great action directors Walter Hill who made other classics such as 'Driver' and 'Southern Comfort'. In The Warriors he managed to take a story of a street gang battling to get home into a drama that doesnt feel dated, more than twenty years after it was released. Indeed the only thing that felt wrong about the film was the end credits song which took it up a shade of lightness from where it did not belong. The Warriors is a very dark film, but it is also a compelling watch and yes!! admittedly there are some very violent moments though which are not gracious in their set up and are merely extensions of unspoken dialogue. What also i think makes this film such great eye candy is the cast of actors that Hill has assembled, notably 'David Patrick Kelly' as a rival gang leader who would also pop up in two of Hill's other films, 48 HRS and Last Man Standing. Just a great film all around and a soundtrack that is also worth purchasing too. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, shame about the comic strip cut scenes, 25 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Warriors is a great film from a director who has made more than his fair share of great movies. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, directors feel the need to tinker with their films and the result is nearly always detrimental. And so it is with The Warriors.

The opening scene in The Warriors with the eerie music and Wonder Wheel in the background is exceptional. Unfortunately, in the Director's Cut it is presaged with an unnecessary comic strip alluding to the historical connection between The Warriors and ancient Greece. For me it detracts from the greatness of the opening scene.

The comic strip interludes are used throughout the rest of the movie. To me they serve absolutely no purpose - the historical allegory doesn't add anything to the story or impact of the film. If anything, they actually detract significantly from the film in three ways:

1. It slows the film down. Though this is only marginal, the padding of the cut scenes creates an unwelcome break in the action and flow of the film.

2. The strips look and feels totally wrong. They look new and computer generated whereas the rest of the film is gritty, urban and very 70s. Could Walter Hill not at least have commissioned a hand-painted washed-out 70s style comic strip? As it is, the interludes really clash with the style of the actual movie. I find it quite jarring.

3. This is a bit pedantic, but the font used in the comic strips is MS comic sans. This font wasn't produced until 1994 - decades after the movie!! Again, couldn't Walter Hill have found something contemporary to the age of the film? Or something more attractive - Comic Sans is one of the ugliest and most over-used fonts.

I should add that the BR transfer is generally very impressive. When the gangs all meet at the start the colours are punchy and saturated. There is some grain - but that is in keeping with the age of the film, the feel of the film and the fact it was mainly shot at night.

As I say, the Warriors is a brilliant and classic film (5 stars) and this BR disc does it justice, I just wish two versions had been released - the original and the Director's Cut on the same BR disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a different film! The most amazing Transfer ever!, 8 Nov 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I never, ever, ever mention the quality of Blu-Ray transfers in my reviews and always focus on reviewing the film itself - not the format. However, in this case, I'm going to make an exception, because the film looked STUNNING! ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!!

I'm not going too talk about the film at all here - it's a classic, and I'm sure everyone reading this has seen it, or at least knows about it (briefly it's a 300 style story, where few take on many as they try to get home), what I'm going to talk about this amazing version of it.

I've never seen a Blu-Ray like it, and the effect was even more startling because of the films age. Having always seen it on VHS or TV the difference in HI-Def was mesmerising. It felt and looked like a totally different film. You could see the leather grain in the hide of the Warrior's vests for instance - the amount of detail was staggering, and this Hi-Def vibrancy and detail added a whole new element.

In fact - having watched the extras - I now know it was a level that was always there (or at least intended to be) but only now can technology relay the director's true vision to us. In the extras he talks about his original concept, and his hopes for the film; the comic book feel he wanted and tried so hard to achieve.

One way he hoped to achieve this was with the costumes or 'colours' that the gangs wore, and it's only now we can see the richness of the colours, and lustre of the fabrics used for these. The costume designs look amazing on this Blu-Ray; the silks, the satins, even the oils in the face paints and the shines of the leathers and lycras. Almost each individual grain of grease or dirt can be seen, ground into the individual threads of the gang's T-shirts, are now all there to witness for the first time in this detailed transfer. It's like looking though binoculars or something.

Even the lighting now comes alive in the Blu-Ray version of this film. We can see the original (an brilliant) idea/vision for the lighting at work - again trying to reinforce the directors vision of a comic book. At the start of the film, when the Warriors first go on the run, there is a torrential down poor. And this was because the guy in charge of lighting and the director wanted the streets wet with rain water for the rest of the film. Why? So that the water reflected all the lights from the city streets - and this again in the Hi-Def format works wonderfully as the greens, yellows and other colours from the street lights bounce upwards from puddles around the screen. This was just something that was just lost on me every other time I'd seen this film.

This Blu-Ray is a Director's cut of the film - and there are now added 'comic book' style cuts and transitions between scenes, which in my opinion aren't necessary and don't really add anything, but you can live with them - they certainly don't take away from the enjoyment of the film. Overall though, for me, this Blu-Ray director's cut will be remember for the staggering transfer which turns a great classic into a completely new film... it was like watching it again for the first time and it was 10 times better.

I'm going to have to give this 10/10 - the film itself is a 9... but honestly. I was left speechless. For the first time, I've witnessed what Blu-Ray can do, and why I spent so much on my home cinema system. It's just a shame other Blu-rays don't make the same effort.

If you found this review helpful, please give it the thumbs up - if not, comment on why so I can do a better job for you next time. Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how all Blu-ray transfers should be done, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Candle (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The chances are that if you are thinking about buying the warriors on Blu-ray you already know about the film so I wont bother reviewing that side of it. I already owned The Warriors on DVD and wasn't sure if I should bother buying it again on Blu-ray but I am so pleased I did. Not all films have the money spent on them when they are transferred to Blu-ray and can be worse than the DVD but The Warriors is 1st class. This film is 30 years old and it is spotless, no grain and sharp glossy clear pictures, it just looks amazing on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors...Come out to playaaaa!, 14 Feb 2010
By 
TMUK (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a great Example of how wonderful a good Blu ray transfer of older films can look. The images are crisp clear and shine in parts with an rich almost 3d feel to them. Greater reference to the graphic novel are made with links between some scenes done via a comic book style fade in's and out's.

The basic plotine is very simple. The Warriors are a gang from coney island who along with all the big gangs in Newyork are attending a meeting lead by the leader of the largest gang in the city. They arrive with 100's of members of various gangs to hear a plan for a city wide truce so the gangs can all claim there turf and ultimatley take control of the city but someone shoots him and the Warriors get blamed! Now the Warriors have to cross the city to get back to coney island and every gang is ready to rumble!

The Styles in the film may reflect the fashions of the late 70's but this cult classic film is timeless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how "old" movies should be presented!, 6 Aug 2009
By 
D. Katalinic (Stuttgart) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow!

I just received over amazon.uk the blue ray of "The Warriors". The disc arrived in 3 days. A big thank you for amazon. Super Service.

I saw this movie back in 1980 in a little cinema in Stuttgart. Back then it was a big hit. The transfer on this blue ray is really excellent.

I own this movie on dvd and if you ask me if there is a big difference between the dvd and the blue ray then I must answer clearly "yes". The picture is so much sharper. The colors are uch more intensive and the contrast is really great. This movie really looks like it was made yesterday. Also the bonus material is good and informative. Especially since the scenes in the dark are so good that you now see everything. The 5.1 DD mix was ok but I did not expect something special. It is clear and good enough.

I only can higly recommend to buy this excellent blue ray of this amazing movie! Can you dig it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly one of the best films made in the seventies., 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Warriors [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What can I say? One of the most inspirational, atmospheric and amusing films I've ever seen. Once you've watched it, you'll find yourself slipping in those quotes. A great watch for some very well choreographed fight scenes, an excellent tale of a gang trying to get back to the big Coney Island and to survive against all odds. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Blu Ray Transfer, 14 Sep 2013
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film has been transformed with its transfer to blu ray. The Warriors has always been one of the all-time great gang/gangster movies, but the colour and detailing in blu ray format is jaw-droppingly good. I wasn't exactly sold on blu rays with the first ten or fifteen I purchased in that format, but this DVD clinched my conversion to blu ray. No CGI in this movie and the action sequences/stunts are so much the better for it. James Remar is the one actor here who really made a name for himself beyond The Warriors, appearing in, for instance, Sex in The City and Dexter, and his performance here as the pit-bull terrier type muscle in the gang, is a bravura performance. Cool music, perfectly judged banter between the warring gangs, memorable fight sequences in the streets and on the subway, and a wonderful closing sequence at a run-down seaside fun fair. If you like movies like Do the Right Thing and The Long Good Friday, this film is at a similar level. Suffice it to say, I'm sure I've watched this film about 10 times over the last 30 years, and repeated viewings do little to diminish the enjoyment of watching it. Certain key moments stick in the mind, for instance the punk rocker leader clanging three beer bottles together with his fingers whilst he screeches "Waaaaarriorrrrrs, come out to plaaaaaiiiaaaay". Hard to explain it, but this film feels both raw and polished at the same time, both chillingly realistic and yet almost dream-like, for example the fight scene with the baseball loonies in the park. Too many recent Hollywood movies about L.A. street gangs attempt to be gritty and realistic, but are actually too polished, with lead actors who just don't convince as villains coming from the no go neighbourhoods. The Warriors will quite possibly always be the defining street gang movie, not only a seminal work, but a film which set the bar at a height nobody else has ever quite reached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't wait just get this, 31 Jan 2010
By 
L. Scott "Les" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen this film on the big screen and classic VHS. I did not expect the BLU-RAY to be much of an improvement but I was totally blown away! The quality of the transfer only reflects the quality of the original recording media and the BLU-RAY version is stunning. If you are into your cult films and don't want to pay a fortune then this film fits the bill. If you have seen it in the past and are unsure on the purchase I can assure you that you won't be disappointed this is a terrific film to own on BLU-RAY.The Warriors [Blu-ray] [1979]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warriors [HD DVD] [1979] [US Import]
The Warriors [HD DVD] [1979] [US Import] by Walter Hill (HD DVD - 2007)
£20.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews