Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product- great value for money
Excellent product, value for money. Have previously purchased a smaller version of one of these hobby tools for £20 including the pendant wheels etc (which I already have, so didn't need) The smaller version vibrated so much because of it's size that after 5 minutes my hand was tingling very badly and could see that prolonged use of the smaller version could give the...
Published on 29 Aug 2009 by Miss Lhphillips

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT compatible with Dremel attachments
Does what it says. Good value.
EXCEPT - WARNING - the thread on the nose onto which attachments screw is NOT the same as the Dremel thread. So do not expect Dremel attachments to work - or vice versa for Silverline attachments on a Dremel tool.
Published on 18 April 2011 by Alistair Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product- great value for money, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Miss Lhphillips (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
Excellent product, value for money. Have previously purchased a smaller version of one of these hobby tools for £20 including the pendant wheels etc (which I already have, so didn't need) The smaller version vibrated so much because of it's size that after 5 minutes my hand was tingling very badly and could see that prolonged use of the smaller version could give the user RSI. This larger version however, is not only cheaper but far more stable and does a far better job. Most highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
I bought this as a replacement for another hobby tool that finally gave up on me- and I have to say that I'm glad I replaced it with this one.
I thought that the size would be awkward for my needs, but it's actually fine. It runs quite smoothly without much vibration and seems quite a sturdy piece; all in all, certainly good value for the price if your looking for a hobby tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT compatible with Dremel attachments, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
Does what it says. Good value.
EXCEPT - WARNING - the thread on the nose onto which attachments screw is NOT the same as the Dremel thread. So do not expect Dremel attachments to work - or vice versa for Silverline attachments on a Dremel tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotary Multi tool Dremel like, 12 Mar 2009
By 
D. Mahatme (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
Purchased this after a Dremel Li-on battery failed.
Pros: Solid quality feel.Ergonomically good-doesn't feel too large nor too heavy when using.Comes with accessories selection to get you started.
Variable speed for extra versatility
Handy case with plenty of space for additional accessories
3 year Warranty

Cons: It isn't cordless (but you could buy an inverter for field use and the total outlay would still be cheaper than a Dremel Li-ion.)

Overall: Extremely pleased and I doubt if anyone would be disappointed with this handy and versatile piece of kit at a bargain price.

Dremel Rotary Tool 300 Series + 25 AccessoriesDremel 10.8 Lithium Ion + 60 AccessoriesSkil 1415 Rotary Tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tool better than expected, instructions sorely needed, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Pierino Forno - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
I was surprised by the feel of quality and solidity; I was expecting something far flimsier.
So far it has worked perfectly. I needed it for building small photo camera accessories, and I do not intend to use it for heavy-duty DIY. It is a hobby tool, not a 2000W hammer drill.
Packaging was very good; the tool comes in a plastic case that also contains a fairly comprehensive (and unexpected) set of accessories (it would help if the product image reflected this).

I bought it along with a further set of accessories and a flexible drive shaft. I had read several reviews complaining that the flexible shaft could not be connected because there was some accessory missing. In fact, the shaft works perfectly well with the tool as is, but the procedure is not intuitive, and there are no instructions to be found, as neither the tool's booklet nor the shaft's package provided any. In order to make it work, follow this procedure:

1. unscrew and remove the tool's collar (the black plastic, threaded piece at the business end of the tool)
2. press the spindle lock button and loosen the tool's collet (the black steel, threaded piece that tightens the brass chuck)
3. take the flexible shaft and look inside the aluminium-coloured part; you'll see the end of the flexible rod that transmits the rotary motion
4. with a pair of pliers or pincers, grab the flexible rod and pull it out a couple of inches
5. insert the flexible rod you've just pulled out as far as it will go into the chuck, just as you would a drill bit
6. tighten the collet
7. screw on the aluminium-coloured part of the shaft in place of the collar

The flexible shaft will automatically be pushed inside the rubberised tube and grab the chuck at the far end.

Maybe I should have given it four stars because of the lack of instructions, but that would be mean. After all, it's dirt cheap.

I also noticed that - save for some cosmetic changes - this appears to be exactly the same as the Draper rotary tool. Have a look at it here to have a better idea of what you'll get when you buy the Silverline tool:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline multi hobby tool - great purchase, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
I've bought a couple of products now by Silverline and havnt had any problems at all with any of them.

This hobby tool is very similar to the very expensive dremmel and in my opinion works just as well for a fraction of the price.

Its very well made and feels sturdy and robust, as is the case for all the Silverline tools Ive bought. Theyre not professional quality but they are also not professional price. That isnt to say they are of poor quality as they are not.

This tool came in a sturdy blown plastic case which is great for keeping it in.

One thing I will point out so you dont make the same mistake as I did is that the Amazon listing doesnt show what comes with the product, so I bought an additional accessory pack. Turns out I didnt need it as this product comes with all the accessories you are likely to need. You get a bag full of various wire brushes, sanders, grinders etc and contains more or less the same as the accessory pack.

I would highly recommend this product. Its proved great for detailing and polishing my engine and will no doubt prove as useful when I find other jobs for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy absolute rubbish, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
I bought this to use as a light sanding disc for items off my scroll saw only used it twice and its burnt out on contacting silverline about the 3 YEAR garauntee I find I have to pay postage to return that is probably half the cost of the item I am going to cut my lossess and bin the hobby tool and put the money towartds a decent product NOT SILVERLINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome tool, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
these multi hobby tools are awesome, you can do so much with them every tool box should have one,
the silverline works very well and have stood up to some real punishment and still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value Dremel compatible mini drill, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
This is a good value mini drill, with smooth operation, good speed range and no significant play in chuck bearing. In clarification of other reviews it is Dremel compatible to the extent that the plastic thread on the body when the black finger hold is removed is similar - hence this drill fits accessories such as the Dremel drill stand where the drill is located by this plastic body thread. However Dremels use a non standard collet thread (7.1 x 40 tpi) whereas this drill like many other mini drills has an M8 x .75 collet thread. If you need to fit a 3 jaw chuck then a readily available 1/4" shank 3 jaw pin chuck may suffice - when the shank is unscrewed they usually have the M8 fine thread which (with spacer?) can be adapted to fit for low speed operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I found this to be a alright hobby tool but the constant breaking of the collets makes it inferior to all others, 28 Mar 2010
By 
J. J. Webbon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W (DIY & Tools)
I bought one of these to help me in a project, the collets would wear down in under a hour and they are NOT replaceable through silverline, therefore I ditched these and went with a dremel, 4x more expensive but yet its over 1000x better built and sturdier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline 249765 Multi-Function Rotary Tool 135W
£18.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews