Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the elderly Miss Robin Hood
The inimitable Margart Rutherford here fits perfectly into the role of an elderly female "Robin Hood" aiding and abetting in a plan to steal from the rich in order to restore what they stole to the poor. Expect plenty of wild chases, flocks of pigeons, scatterings of currency notes, and cameo roles from many of your favourite players of the 1950s. You get plenty of...
Published on 12 April 2008 by John Austin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check! Check!
Miss Robin Hood is directed by John Guillermin and co-written by Val Valentine, Patrick Campbell, and Geoffrey Orme; from the story written by Reed De Rouen. It stars Margaret Rutherford and Richard Hearne. Music is orchestrated by Temple Abady (John Hollingsworth directing) and photography is by Arthur Grant. Plot finds Hearne as amiable newspaper columnist Henry...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the elderly Miss Robin Hood, 12 April 2008
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
The inimitable Margart Rutherford here fits perfectly into the role of an elderly female "Robin Hood" aiding and abetting in a plan to steal from the rich in order to restore what they stole to the poor. Expect plenty of wild chases, flocks of pigeons, scatterings of currency notes, and cameo roles from many of your favourite players of the 1950s. You get plenty of Margaret Rutherford for your money, and a top quality DVD restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 1 Jan 2008
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! I had no idea how good this was going to be. I laughed out loud all the way through. A cast of excellent British comedy talent and a story that is both for children and adults (a little postcard saucy in places!)
Rutherford is a unique talent and matched against James Robertson Justice she's always at her best! Just a great film that deserves to be seen by a wider audience but probably won't be as it is in black and white!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check! Check!, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Miss Robin Hood is directed by John Guillermin and co-written by Val Valentine, Patrick Campbell, and Geoffrey Orme; from the story written by Reed De Rouen. It stars Margaret Rutherford and Richard Hearne. Music is orchestrated by Temple Abady (John Hollingsworth directing) and photography is by Arthur Grant. Plot finds Hearne as amiable newspaper columnist Henry Wrigley, who gets roped in to robbery by eccentric old dear Miss Honey (Rutherford). All for a good cause you understand.......

Out of Group 3 productions, Miss Robin Hood sadly doesn't play out as worthy of the cast assembled for it. I would go so far as to say it's easily the weakest of the films that were found and received a DVD release under the Hollywood Classics Ltd banner of Long Lost Comedy Classics. Story is sweet enough, cast are fine, particularly Rutherford (more energy than actresses' half her age back then), Sid James, James Robertson Justice and Dora Bryan, but the film seems caught between trying to be screwball, farce or a cunningly crafted fantasy. The odd moment of hilarity does surface (car chase, a drunk Hearne), but these quickly get lost in the mix as director Guillermin (The Blue Max/Death on the Nile) fires a blunderbuss and hopes all the pellets land in the same place to form a cohesive circle. They don't.

Still, it's not a total wash out, the cast ensure it's at least watchable, and it's always fun to play spot the future star of British TV and cinema in these 50s Brit Coms. Look out for the likes of Reg Varney and Kenneth Connor here. While the music score is very pleasant and chipper, and Grant's photography is lean and at times purposely off kilter. Core essence of plot, too, is worthy of a hearty bravo shouted from the back of the theatre, but execution behind the camera and translation from the written page leaves it too messy for its own good. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product and timely delivery., 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
This is just what I wanted at the right price and a timely delivery. Great. although it is old style now it still caused me to smile a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of Southall Film Studios history, 11 Nov 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, I did buy this because it was made at Southall Film studios and it comes from a period of time when a company called Group 3, headed by John Grierson, were making these light hearted satirical features. Commentators at the time apparently said it was "too silly for words" but I suspect that was exactly how it should have seemed. Margaret Rutherford is on top form as is Richard Hearne. I laughed a lot and thought the whole film a tonic away from today's fayre. The picture and sound quality is excellent. Other films from the same studio and also on Slam Dunk DVD are "Time Gentlemen Please"; "You're Only Young Twice" and "Brandy for the Parson".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny!, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Delightful, nostalgic, genuinely funny - just a few words I'd use to describe this wonderful comedy.

I've watched lots of comedies from the 50s, and whilst they're funny in places, most have never really had me laughing out loud like this did! The picture and sound quality for a film of this age is superb too!

There are a number of films available from the `long lost comedy' series, and having watched half of them I have to say they're all flippin' brilliant! If you like this, be sure to check out Make Me an Offer, Time Gentleman Please, and Brandy for the Parson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Ruthford, 28 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. Parker "Zandor" (Dartford Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
This long lost comedy classic is a must to all those who love Margaret Rutherford and a large cast of well know's cast along of course with here bumbberling Husband Stringer Davis bring up the rear with a small part of his own. It's a film i remember from my youth but it's one of those films that never get's on tv any more which is a shame But know it's out there for all to see once more it bring's back my childhood every saturday afternoon in front of the tv with my bag of crisps and a fizzy drink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Very entertaining, typical 1950's film. Interesting to see 'Mr Pastry' (Richard Hearne) in a normal role. Good story of innocence, without the usual sex, violence and drugs so typical of todays films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Rutherford, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy all the films I've seen Margaret Rutherford in. She brings a quirky humour to whatever part she plays. Whoever she portrays she is always Margaret Rutherford a true character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BIT OF A DISAPPOINTMENT, 27 April 2009
By 
Olivier Comte (Neuilly FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I trust our English friends on their knowledge of the British film industry.
I first saw MARGARET RUTHERFORD, when I was a kid in France, in PASSPORT TO PIMLICO and I stayed a fan, except for the MISS MARPLE movies, a complete travesty of AGATHA CHRISTIE.
That's just the problem here: in the first half it's all about Miss Robin Hood and the story is pretty thin. Then things take shape and all characters are not just subversient to the RH character. I confess that I didn't know RICHARD HEARNE and he is excellent, very subtle in the representation of a man who is neither really shy, nor a worm, just a decent chap. The family relations are very nice. We have true British humour which doesn't depend on the character doing stupid things or being in trouble.
The photography and visual style are superb and the transfer is outstanding, far better than US films kept by major studios.
I am happy to see that JOHN GUILLERMIN was not born with a blockbuster spoon in his mouth (the earlier Guillermin film I had seen was TOWN ON TRIAL, pretty good).
I thank the Amazon movie buffs for their precious advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD]
Comedy Classics - Miss Robin Hood [1952] [DVD] by John Guillermin (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews