Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super competent dictionary
Contrary to the previous review, I have had no problems with battery life - I do find it a tad annoying that the dictionary reverts to the menu screen when switched off.

Other than this slight quibble I find this item superb. The sheer breadth of media is astounding with a good dictionary, thesaurus and various puzzle solvers plus all the Collins Gem miniature...
Published on 15 May 2008 by C. J. Lansdown

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely poor battery life, very poor customer service
This is the most disappointing product I have ever bought; The screen and the keys doesn't lit up that means you only can be abled to use in bright light. The Battery life is So poor that it went blank in less than two weeks apparently used just less than two hours altogether. The Customer service in Cartridge Point is further disappointingly poor. Different members give...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Mr. T. Karki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be useful, 9 Nov 2010
By 
John L. Edwards (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
It is an excellent piece of kit but there are severe problems.
1. Letters are very small for people of advanced age and with even slight sight problems. The 'larger' type face is still not too good.
2. Colouring not really acceptable for people mentioned above - check with RNIB.
3. Batteries last a VERY short time compared with other types of kit.

All in all it is useful but has, for older persons, some quite severe drawbacks, manufacturuers should acknowledge this and state it in literature.

Finally i will persevere but should it go wrong i would never buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
I purchased this product as a gift for someone. Unfortunately the initial delivery didn't turn up, however the supplier was extremely quick in sending a replacement. Excellent product...much more than just a dictionary; it has many more features than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Dictionary, 8 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
The Collins DMQ advanced dictionary suite is great for helping to solve crosswords when you are stuck, which I often am! I have learnt quite a number of new words by playing the various games. I believe it is better than a lot of other word games as the spellings are English, not American. It also does not add an s to words that should not be plural. It is an inexpensive, practical gift for anyone who loves the written word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Dictionary Suite, 4 Dec 2011
By 
PIP (East Riding) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
Very good performance for the price, and of course the cheapest anywhere, a present from my wife much appreciated and used extensively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CROSSWORD SOLVER, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Neville Robinson (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
This item was an xmas gift and as far as i know the recipient is entirely happy with it.Nocomplaints at all re purchase,payment arrangements or delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brightness, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
We are a bit dissapointed with product as it is very dark and difficult to see words.Item itself is easy to operate but screen could do with a bit more brightness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
it is a nice comprehensive product, some good options on it, I didnt use it much but bought it as a gift. it was really liked and cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite, 5 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
This is the third Dictionary I bought in Collins series - first was Express Dictionary, second was paperback edition. I find Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite has superseded my previous purchases that it meets my needs adequately and very easy and fast to access. Has 8 line display as an added advantage and you have the option to have larger fonts when needed. Good Value for money. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants a pocket size Electronic Dictionary with thesaurus. I had no problem with battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collins DMQ 1490 Dictionary, 22 Dec 2009
By 
B. Koster "Insulinman" (Essex (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
Works Ok But is full of Rubbish, Would be better "IF"
If it had a Back Light
Less Rubbish UP FRONT
And the SPELL CHECK WAS EASY TO FIND "AND" USE!
NOT AS Described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews