Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super competent dictionary
Contrary to the previous review, I have had no problems with battery life - I do find it a tad annoying that the dictionary reverts to the menu screen when switched off.

Other than this slight quibble I find this item superb. The sheer breadth of media is astounding with a good dictionary, thesaurus and various puzzle solvers plus all the Collins Gem miniature...
Published on 15 May 2008 by C. J. Lansdown

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely poor battery life, very poor customer service
This is the most disappointing product I have ever bought; The screen and the keys doesn't lit up that means you only can be abled to use in bright light. The Battery life is So poor that it went blank in less than two weeks apparently used just less than two hours altogether. The Customer service in Cartridge Point is further disappointingly poor. Different members give...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Mr. T. Karki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super competent dictionary, 15 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
Contrary to the previous review, I have had no problems with battery life - I do find it a tad annoying that the dictionary reverts to the menu screen when switched off.

Other than this slight quibble I find this item superb. The sheer breadth of media is astounding with a good dictionary, thesaurus and various puzzle solvers plus all the Collins Gem miniature dictionaries covering such subjects as space, geography, music, art and religion to name but a few. It is unusual in having a definition search allowing reverse searches and supports full missing letter/letters wild cards. A wide selection of games and study aids rounds off a terrific package. At less than half the price of most serious dictionaries and only outshone by the Sharp E300/500 this is great value for money.

Chris Lansdown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Potential, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
This was purchased on the understanding that it had 500,000 definitions, which exceeds the 350,000 definitions of the Sharp PWE300/PWE500 dictionaries which I have also.

Pros: Has a lot of information via its multiple dictionaries and thesaurus.

Cons: Keys have to be pressed fairly hard to register. LCD looks cheapish/gaudy. LCD and/or processor slow to update screen. Anagram solving feature need more definitions. Dictionary still needs more definitions.

I found this dictionary to be a bit awkward to use (because of the above cons), and to be no better (actually slightly worse) than the PWE300/PWE500 dictionaries for use in solving crosswords.

I returned the Collins dictionary for a refund as the cons far outweighd the pros.

Still the best overall dictionary, thesaurus and crossword solver units are the Sharp PWE300 and PWE500.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its time to bin that old dictionary!, 24 Oct 2009
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
this product is everything I hoped it would be. excellent dictionary, very clear screen, and easy to use. as well as the dictionary, you also have a crossword solver, games, quotations and the ability to build up you're very own word reference section. very good value for money, and a must for anyone who needs to find out the meaning of a word, at the touch of a finger. would recommend this product to anyone wanting to buy an electronic dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely poor battery life, very poor customer service, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
This is the most disappointing product I have ever bought; The screen and the keys doesn't lit up that means you only can be abled to use in bright light. The Battery life is So poor that it went blank in less than two weeks apparently used just less than two hours altogether. The Customer service in Cartridge Point is further disappointingly poor. Different members give completely different answers.One customer service adviser even replied me saying "we do not accept the return, if the item is opened"! When asked, "what magic method would someone use to check the item without even opening it"? The next reply was in better manner. Following it stopped working in less than a month, when contacted the customer service for further advice; one offered me either "refund or replaced". when requested for refund, immediately another email came from another member bluntly refusing for refund and contradicting her own members idea. I am extremely extremely disappointed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars jim, 14 Mar 2008
By 
J. Hinchliffe "jimbo" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
VERY short battery life; the ones that came with it did not give 20hrs and when they go all your stored information is wiped off! Second lot of batteries have not lasted 10 hrs, @ least I think it is the batteries as it has just "packed up" and I can get nowhere with it and I do not feel inclined to buy any more [@ 6 for two !] so I think I will throw it and buy a cheaper one which will be better value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins English Dictionary, 14 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
I am really pleased with this. The actual functions on it are great. It has loads of stuff, games etc and the dictionary is really big. 500,000 words so you can't go wrong. My only complaints that stopped me giving it a 5 are that the lid is a bit annoying to open; it has no lip. That's only minor though. My other one is a biggie; NO BACKLIGHT!! It would really benefit from one. I like to use it when I am reading in bed and without a backlight it's impossible to use when it's late. Light that is fine for books is much too dark for this, so in bed it is useless. Apart from that it is a fantastic buy. I am made up with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electronic dictionary,Collins DMQ1490, 14 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
I bought this DMQ1490 to replace my previous Seiko which had lasted for about 6 years.I use it mainly for crossword solving.I haven't had my new purchase for very long but it is proving to be far better than my last one and I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIVETING IF YOU CAN READ AND SPELL................, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
Cool! Singing all-night dancing, everyone should have 1!!! Definitely improves your VOCABULARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ps Quicker than a dictionery...........ups Dictionary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins Dictionary Suite as a crossword solver, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. H. S. Hunter (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
In general, it does what it claims.

The screen is readable - good contrast and brightness, with adjustable letter sizes.
The dictionary contains a good list of words, including proper names, and in crossword solver mode, anagram mode, etc. produces results quickly.
It is comfortable to handle and a good size.

Minor niggles - the machine always resets to the home screen if switched off.
To solve crosswords it requires you to press the 'solve' button, scroll down and press 'enter' to get to the screen for entering your known and unknown letters.
The 'enter' button is too small and in an unusual place for a standard query keyboard.
The plastic case is easily scratched and I have some doubts about the longevity of the buttons.
The battery cover is screwed on and requires a small crosshead screwdriver to open.

Over all, I can recommend this machine. However, there are crossword solvers that are just as good but much cheaper, and better encyclopaedias but at almost twice the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Machine, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. F. White (Stockton on Tees) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite (Office Product)
If you struggle with spelling and grammar you need this .Its brilliant.Doing a course then this is what you want.Very pleased with it.
Shop around as prices vary.
Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins DMQ 1490 Advanced Dictionary Suite
Used & New from: 40.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews