Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bjork's Volta
We all know that Bjork is no mainstream artist, we are also aware that her singles are not Top 40, however, we are also well aware that Bjork is the greatest artist from an import "little" island called Iceland and that her new record "Volta' is over the top.

The opener of the record "Earth Intruders" literally marches into your head-- (We Are The Earth...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Andres Escobar

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Punky Mixture
This is a punky collection of tracks, like a crowd of people all shouting out their own ideas, wanting to be heard as individuals, rather than a choir of voices focused together in harmony.

The highlight for me is Pneumonia, about a person who is so full of pain that they hide away from the world to avoid more hurt, 'get over that sorrow, girl, get over it'...
Published on 25 Dec. 2008 by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Filled with electronic beats and sounds, 28 Aug. 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Volta: Extra Tracks (Audio CD)
Bjork has been very busy this decade, releasing 3 solo albums including this one and writing music for two soundtracks. Her previous release "Medulla" was her most experimental to date with only vocal arrangements to accompany her own vocals. However, this sixth studio album takes a step backwards, being less creative and ground breaking. It can be compared to her 1997 release "Homogenic" as she uses a lot of heavy beats and electronic sounds. Although less accomplished than some of her previous work, this release is still very strong.

"Earth Intruders" is quite an addictive and fun pop track and was co-written with Timbaland. "Wanderlust" is a powerful dance influenced tune with a very heavy bass. "The Dull Flame Of Desire" is an eerie ballad with vocals from Bjork and Anthony Hegarty. Timbaland's influence is also apparent on the following track "Innocence" which is full of powerful beats and sounds. "I See Who You Are", also remixed at the end of the album, is a sweet sounding ballad and "Hope" is a very interestingly arranged track with African influences and a soft catchy rhythm. "Vertebrae By Vertebrae" and "Pneumonia" are much darker tracks in typical Bjork style with imposing horn sections. But the darkest track is the punk rock and techno influenced "Declare Independence" reminiscent of "Pluto" from "Homogenic". "My Juvenile", the second ballad featuring Anthony Hegarty and final track is very intriguing.

Although "Volta" does not have any outstanding tracks, it is a very solid Bjork album and contains some very exciting and adventurous music. As usual, there is not one bad track and this release therefore deserves 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it grows on you slowly but soon encases you in musical vines, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Volta: Extra Tracks (Audio CD)
it took me a long time to love this album
i clicked instantly with the full poppy tracks such as "earth intruders" "wanderlust" "innocents" "dull flame of desire" and "declare independance"

but i found the other songs two dissconected and i didnt really understand the odd and seemingly rythmeless tunes and melodies of the other tracks but the more i listen to them the more i love them i really enjoy the way they vocal detach them selves from the music it creats a reall emotional emptyness that ive been looking for for a long time.

the album is a real emotional rollercoaster starting with the neo trible pop track "earth intruders"

the oh so bjork beat led "wanderlust"

then to the epic cinematic tear jerkier that is "the dull flame of desire"

the album then jump to the hip hoppy/avent garde poppy "innocence" with the deep feeling of elation.

then switching again to the slowest track and most beautiful when you are used to its cold extirior "i see who you are"

then aggression with "vertabrea by vertabea" (my favorite track on the album)

then when your pumped and rerady for battle you are lulled back down with "pneumonia" and then cheered up with the moral conflict that is "hope"

"declare independance" give you the drive to complete everything and go oput and make your own paths

then of coarse the beatiful ending track that is "my juevenile about here son and there relationship which is simply stunning"

and STILL some how FLOWS as one seemless album!

there is alot of hope inthis recording and i really think you should perchace it give it time lots of time
and it will bloom into a beautiful flower of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars metabjorkphosis for vintage time!, 20 May 2007
This review is from: Volta: Extra Tracks (Audio CD)
What I have always loved about Bjork since I played it on all of their bizarre tracks from their beginning of her career (with all of her groups and featurings)until her Volta release as a solo artist,here in Peru and throughout all my radio shows such as: 2001,2001_ONETHOUSANDYEARSAFTER! and EQUINOXE,during the last nineteen years is:their freshness and orbitated metamorphosis for making music.I understand her because she is an indigo born girl just like me.What I mean is that she can't do the same things always and that's why she's continuing improving her art and manufacturing sonic stuff one different from the other,each time.Volta contains all the maturity that she has adquired during all of these laser years and with a cosmic conviction properly of herself.As I read in an interview she gave for Les Inrockuptibles, a french A1 level especialized mag in music ,she said that don't wait a danceable album for her at this time after she was taking care of her daughter and doing domestic things at home.Volta is perfect for this era and because of its lyrics,too!All music has been made for dancing and you only have to find your inner mood for doing it!So don't hesitate in buying this sonic sphere and only because BJORK always has so many important things and messages to communicate to all generations.
HELENE RAMOS GALAGARZA
peruvian journalist,radio producer&host
promoter,editor,dj,designer,innovator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant return to form!, 12 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
Having been distinctly unimpressed with Bjorks last 3 offerings (I don't think I've even managed to listen to Medulla and Drawing Restraint all the way through,) I was dubious about this release. I decided to give Bjork one last go and if I didnt like this album then give up for good. However I was so glad I bought this!! This really is Bjork back to the days of old. Its kind of a mixture of all the albums pre Verspertine. From the thumping opener 'Eart Intruders' I knew that this was going to be a heavy, beat laden album, rather than the airy stuff she has been offering up of late. However the album does still have its softer moments, Dull Flame of Desire is simply beautiful and reminds me of the Duet from 'Dancer in THe Dark'. There's not a single track on this album that I don't like. When I first got it I played it straight through twice cos it was that good! Another favourite being the absolutely storming Declare Independence towards the end of the album which builds and builds into a crazy thumping vent of aggressive. The only reason I have given it 4 instead of 5 is because of the DVD and packaging. Don't be fooled like me. I paid an extra fiver to get this edition and really wished I hadn't bothered. The DVD has no bonus material, just the album songs in a surround sound format (I was expecting maybe an interview or making of, what's the point of just having the songs again?), and the 'deluxe' packaging is just silly and pointless and you practiocally have to rip it open to access the CD or fiddle around with it carefully each time you want to listen to it. Anyway, for all Bjork fans who like me were unsure of this album because of her last few don't fear. You wont be dissappointed by this new album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good return to Bjorktronica, 22 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Christophe P. Williams "dat_podsol" (somewhere over the rainbow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
Goodbye mad, alien, musicals, don't let the door hit you! Hello familiar Bjork-tronica.

A welcome return to Electronica themed music with Bjork vocals throughout. Somehow similar sounding to Homogenic harsh techno and Post dance/electronica, this seems to lack some of the beauty and warmth that seeped throughout Vespertine and parts of the intimate Medulla. Vocally, she seems to be almost talking with the speed she delivers her lyrics. I reckon this is the slowest and most deliberate she's been as a whole across an album. This is not to say she doesn't sing or do it beautifully, and she speeds up in some songs.

Her albums' sound as a whole really doesn't surprise any well heeled Bjork-aholic. As i said, it sounds familiar, but a little more electronic with infused percussive instruments from afar. The lack of warmth and beauty of it compared to say Vespertine or Medulla is a little dissapointing, but it is still very beautiful. I'm just a bit annoyed that Bjork has gone no-where different with this album, Mark Bell is back and the Konono no1 inclusion was pointless by their almost total relegation. After the amazing change of Medulla, this is a return to (relative) mediocrity in Bjork terms.

To end on technicalities, the DVD offered a better listening experience by far, but the images were totally pointless. The packaging was interesting but REALLY impractical for storage and opening it. Having to cut through the artwork on the front is NOT a nice experience for a Bjork fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Virile, Vital & Volatile ..., 9 July 2007
By 
G. Bowden "genejezkova" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Volta: Extra Tracks (Audio CD)
The announcement of the kind of work going into Björk's sixth English solo album, Volta, was at first cause for celebration amongst fans of her earlier work. Specifically from those enamoured by Debut and Post, many felt that her last two projects, the acapella-inspired fifth album Medúlla and questionable soundtrack assignment Drawing Restraint 9, were a little too off-kilter and pretentious, so the news that she was now working with Timbaland on her new album, fresh from his success with Justin Timberlake and Nelly Furtado, was met with rapturous anticipation. However, this alleged foreshadowing of commerciality in Björk's new noises would prove to be misinformed, as whilst Timbaland's rhythmic quirks are noticeably present, Björk's Volta is still unmistakably hers, and what's more, it's primal energy and at times frightening urgency couldn't distance it further from the affable earlier years of her career.

However, this isn't a slight on Volta by a long shot. The beats and rhythm sections have never sounded so assured and danceworthy since Homogenic and Björk's embracing of diverse instrumentation matches Post's globetrotting fearlessly, from the nu-African march of "Earth Intruders" to the nimble oriental quietude "I See Who You Are" to the critic-baiting Middle Eastern vibe of "Hope". It's almost as if Björk is searching for an international algorhythm to which no one is safe and it all makes for some marvelous stuff. Yet there is still more than enough reason to be warned, as some of the more violent passages from Homogenic and Drawing Restaint 9 (which is actually sampled in "Vertebrae By Vertebrae") can also be accounted for, accentuated by a heightened political awareness of the world around her. She is still fighting back with love and goodwill, but there is more of an idea of the sinister forces at work against her this time.

Of course, there's still some stirringly lovely stuff amidst the gloom, notable examples being the exciteable roving of "Wanderlust" (another worthy lyric from trusted friend Sjón) and the charming blunder-beats of "Innocence", both of which have Björk sing in childlike rapture for connection to other beings of the world, a theme communicated in the best work from her career ("Human Behaviour", "Big Time Sensuality", "Alarm Call", "Unison" ... to name a few). However, the loveliest surprises are her duets with Antony Hegarty, though it must be said that "The Dull Flame Of Desire" is the clincher, seven minutes of sublime vocal editing, harmonies, operatic horns and a slow burn beat rustling underneath that doesn't outstay its welcome. "Pneumonia" reps a close second for the album's premier ballad though, its pensive horn arrangement (also taken from Drawing Restraint 9) and subtle effects enhancing an especially moving performance from Björk.

As for the contributions from her gang of players, Björk is keen to let them make their stamp, but there's no doubt that her musical authority is what they are all acting under. Especially regarding her work with Timbaland, Björk is probably the first artist since Missy Elliott to actually use Timbaland's exemplary production to her advantage rather than let it overpower her own composition, which is no mean feat. If anyone deserves special mention alongside Ms Gudmundsdottir, they would have to be the lovely Antony (who has never sounded so beautiful as on "Dull Flame") and old hand Mark Bell, whose co-production and writing on "Declare Independence" helps to quash both "Pluto" and "Storm" as Björk's most sonically extreme album track yet (in short: it's the bollocks!).

There are a few tonal misjudgements ("Hope" may be the album's lightning rod for criticism lyrically and musically) and unlike Post, which utilised different genres in a lighter, sprightlier fashion, Volta does make for a bumpy, jarring ride at the worst of times. However, this is what pop music of the future ought to sound like, and if genuine artists like Björk are allowed to continue pushing the envelope as she is keen to do with electronic music, then maybe this truncated fad of unadventurous, cheesy acoustic dirge will soon peter out. Altogether now ... "Raise Your Flag! (Higher, Higher!!)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onwards and, occasionaly, Upwards :-), 22 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
The CD is lovely - been listening to it for a couple of days now in the car.

But the DVD - in 5.1 Dolby or DTS - is pretty stunning. It's Bjork using the studio as an instrument. It's Bjork at her experimental and (occasionally) tuneful best.

From 'musique concrete' - ships' fog horns calling to each other, sad, funny, lonely and evocative - to soulful duets with Antony from the Jonstons (I Am a Bird Now), it covers a huge range. Sounds of Japanese, West African influence, rock drums and a lot of horns that I've never heard on a Bjork album before - for some reason reminding me of Kevin Ayres (Whatever She Brings We Sing) or early-ish Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother perhaps.

Not just soft and fine, but angry too, abrasive sampling, syncopation, almost punk. One track, heavy with horns, reminds me of the soundtrack to Taxi Driver - jazz influence, big city sound. To be honest, some of the backing is so wonderful, I wish she'd maybe mixed her voice back a bit so's I could hear more of it. There's an idea - a Bjork instrumental album. Hummm.

I mean, it couldn't be anybody but Bjork - you can hear a progression from previous albums, but she's still moving on. And, if you've got your TV switched on while you're listening to it, you can look at some pretty (well, pretty weird - hope she managed to get all that paint off her face) pictures while you're immersed in it.

Onwards and occasionally Upwards Bjork!

But well, yeah, the packaging's a pain. Quite funny, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something rather beautiful, 7 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
If you are in any doubt as to whether you should buy this album or not, then I suggest that you get your copy now!

I waited with interest to see what Bjork's latest offering would bring. No two albums are ever the same and I think that's a great positive in this world of manufactured pop. Originality like this is very hard to come by these days.

That being said, this album is not divorced from her previous efforts. "I see who you are now" could have easily sat on "Vespertine" although as Bjork would tell you herself, the instruments on this album are more earthy and less celestial than those used on Versperine. Still you can see the progression in her work over time. "Innocence" is a wonderful piece of electro-pop which is more "Post" era Bjork. On the first listen I thought it was a bit odd, but it really grows on you with each hearing. I now think it's one of my favourites on the whole CD.

If you have never listened to Bjork before, then I suggest you begin with "Homogenic" or "Greatest Hits". If you already know that she is your cup of tea then I highly recommend this latest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barkingly beautiful !, 22 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
This is totally beautiful, totally barking, and totally Bjork !!!! - AltaRichard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another special (& unusual) Björk, 10 May 2014
By 
Irie (Prague, CZ, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volta (Audio CD)
The album has its magic. It's slightly different from the previous ones - which is nothing surprising when comes to Björk. I'd say that it consists of half classical and half electronic music. Whereas before she dealt with electronic big time. I had to get used to it as I had not liked it from beginning to end when hearing for the first time. But it's a gem; not as dreamy as Vespertine, not as cosmic as Biophilia, not as playful as Post, not as ambivalent as Homogenic. Volta is not straightforward, though; it mixes moods even within one song. If you are a fan of Björk - give it time for the better understanding, if you're not yet - try another album of hers and come to listen to it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volta: Extra Tracks
Volta: Extra Tracks by Björk (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews