Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten classic of 1950's British Comedy
I am thrilled beyond words that this film is at last available on DVD. It is quite simply a classic of British working-class comedy of the 1950s.

Arthur Askey is not everyones cup of tea, that I know, but in this film he plays a train driver trying to manage his family, work, and get to see his football team play. Superb location work in Bolton (I think), great...
Published on 6 April 2007 by P. R. Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars arthur askey.
ok dvd.
Published 9 months ago by Dennis and Belinda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten classic of 1950's British Comedy, 6 April 2007
By 
P. R. Richardson (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
I am thrilled beyond words that this film is at last available on DVD. It is quite simply a classic of British working-class comedy of the 1950s.

Arthur Askey is not everyones cup of tea, that I know, but in this film he plays a train driver trying to manage his family, work, and get to see his football team play. Superb location work in Bolton (I think), great dialogue (AA opens door to daughters boyfriend "Who are you?", he says- "Alf Hall" comes the reply- "well don't worry" says AA "I'll catch you!"). Follwing this dialogue the boyfriend does the greatest pratfall ever committed to celluloid- you'll rewind that bit again and again, and still you will not be able to work out how he does it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine comedy, 29 Aug. 2009
By 
Paul Brown (South Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
A really good comedy about a football supporting train driver and his son who support City and United and the antics they get up to as Arthur tries to get to an important match. With some fascinating film taken on location in northwest England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his Big-Hearted best., 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Jack Z "Jack" (Bradford, Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
This film typifies the 1950's life of family and neighbourliness. Arthur Askey, being such an excellent comedian also shows his acting skills which puts to shame the current crop of so-called 'comics'. The story is good, the production superb and every word spoken is as clear as a bell. I rate this one higher than the Ghost Train which is also value for money. The quality of the DVD and the packaging and speedy delivery does credit to a company, Direct Films, of whom I had never heard before. Well done, Amazon. Thank you. More, more, more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant A Real Comedy Classic, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Simon Baines (derbys UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
This is British Comedy at its absolute best and definitely deserves the word Classic from the stage play by Glenn Melvin who also stars in it along with Arthur Askey and several other well know British stars of the day, the cast and the way it is acted make it an absolute joy to watch. I was first recommended to watch this film by my Grandparents in the 1970's because they had seen the original play in Blackpool in the Early 50's and now over thirty years later they are still right its a gem and even now when i put it on my two teenage kids always sit,watch and laugh along with me they don't even mind the fact its black and white. Don't think you can get better "street cred" for a film than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus for Charlton fans, 4 July 2008
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best comedy films that I remember from my youth. It has a very funny story line and some great characters, all well played. Some of the scenes could be classic comedy sketches on their own. Apart from one scene from Bolton's ground at the end, the football is (I understand) from a match between Charlton Athletic and Cardiff City and for fans of the Addicks provides the best footage of the dear old Valley that there is. It is worth getting just for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HELLO, PLAYMATES!, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Daft British comedy with Arthur Askey as an engine driver who loves football and supports Manchester City football club. The dialogue is often loud and raucous and I would guess that Arthur's style of comedy is not to everyone's taste, but this is still a likeable film and there is good support from Thora Hird as his wife and the adorable Shirley Eaton as his daughter.
This was made in the 1950s when steam trains were still running and dance halls were very popular -- both are featured here. Interesting to see Danny Ross as Shirley's love interest. He later played Alfie Hall in the radio series 'The Clitheroe Kid' and his character has the same name here.
The picture and sound quality on this dvd is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you pulled your socks up you'd blindfold yourself., 2 July 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
The Love Match is directed by David Paltenghi and based on a play by Glenn Melvyn who also co-stars with Arthur Askey. Also featuring are Thora Hird, Shirley Eaton, Danny Ross, William Franklyn and Edward Chapman. Arthur Grant is the photographer and Wilfred Burns scores the original music.

After a sequence of events sees him arrested for the assault of a football referee, train driver Bill Brown (Askey) has to use some of the railwayman's holiday fund to cover his fine. Desperate for the cash, Bill and his pal Wally (Melvyn) look to run a book on the upcoming United v City football match. But with his daughter Rose (Eaton) trying to win a dancing competition, and his son Arthur (Franklyn) about to make his debut for United, family strife is also taking a hold.

This was the first film that Arthur Askey made after a ten year absence from the big screen. It's typical boisterous fare, filled out with old time jokes and set piece frivolity. The story is a solid one, although it really helps if you are British and understand local football rivalry, while the cast around Askey perform to a high standard. There's some laugh out loud moments, such as one jitterbugging sequence, whilst the appearance of classic steam trains and rail yards carry with it a certain historical charm. All in all it's good harmless comedy fare for those who like Askey and similar British films of this ilk. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant look into days gone by, 14 July 2011
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
I like anything with 'Big Hearted Arthur' in and this is no exception. It has a reasonable story line - rare these days - and the number of 'faces' to be spotted is great as well, and nice to see the late Danny Ross on film - he played alongside Jimmy Clitheroe on the radio years ago and oddy, the name he played in those programmes was 'Alfie Hall, the same name as in this film, which is totally (seemingly..) unrelated as such. The film itself is a good copy in the transfer to DVD and quite pleasing and yes, you do laugh assuming you have a sense of humour of course, oh umm - one of the best bits is Robb Wilton as a Judge and the actual scene is also on You Tube. To see the peroid cars and roads without traffic parked is from a bygone age!. All in all, very entertaining and I have made a point to sit and watch this again should the 'wet afternoon with nowt on telly' crop up as its quite entertaining, no swearing or moments you would feel you ought to leave the room with other people present so just go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old sty;le comedy, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. P. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
I found this comedy quite refreshing. Some of the laughs are unintentional, the sudden change of shirts in the football match at the begining for instance, but it is a good old fashioned comedy with a simple plot although it does end rather abruptly. Some of the jokes are `old hat' but, of course, when the film was made they were quite new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MEMORIES, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film in my youth so viewing it again gave me great pleasure. The humour may not be the same as todays but for someone of my era it still made me laugh. The quality of the DVD was surprising good considering the age of the original print. I will certainly being looking for similar types of DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD]
Comedy Classics - The Love Match [1955] [DVD] by David Paltenghi (DVD - 2007)
£8.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews