Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything in life has it's challenges and it's reasons...any crime can be explained logically
Currently working as an Account Manager for one of the World's largest telecommunications companies, having five contracted lines to my name (in addition to a "Pay As You Go" SIM card), rarely receiving bills for anything less than 100 (in a good month - and that is with discounts!) and having used three separate networks since my first flirtation with my now...
Published on 9 Nov 2007 by Deanne Dixon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old number
Latest on the list of J-horror films to get a US makeover, One Missed Call is Takeshi Miike's Ringu/Phone ripoff, and a surprisingly low-key and tasteful (by Miike's standards) one it is too. It's also too long and suffers from an ending that's a little ambiguous in the "What's that all about, then?" way, and it seems a little awkward to have a major plot point revolve...
Published on 15 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old number, 15 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Latest on the list of J-horror films to get a US makeover, One Missed Call is Takeshi Miike's Ringu/Phone ripoff, and a surprisingly low-key and tasteful (by Miike's standards) one it is too. It's also too long and suffers from an ending that's a little ambiguous in the "What's that all about, then?" way, and it seems a little awkward to have a major plot point revolve around Munchausen's Syndrome by Proxy now that the condition has been widely repudiated as the invention of a vindictive misogynist who gets his jollies from giving false evidence in cot death cases. The plot involves a vengeful spirit that finds its next victims from the memory of the latest victims mobile phones, sending them a message from the future offering their last words, and the plot developments are pretty much as you'd expect. There are minor frissons in the death scenes, and there's a neat setpiece where a live Geraldo Rivera style show centered on the next victim's last few minutes goes spectacularly pear shaped, but it's also overlong and the execution is often a little too clinical for the material. Minor Miike, but once it builds up a head of steam it's an okay potboiler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything in life has it's challenges and it's reasons...any crime can be explained logically, 9 Nov 2007
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Currently working as an Account Manager for one of the World's largest telecommunications companies, having five contracted lines to my name (in addition to a "Pay As You Go" SIM card), rarely receiving bills for anything less than 100 (in a good month - and that is with discounts!) and having used three separate networks since my first flirtation with my now frighteningly-frequent text messaging, it would be safe to say that I am in a better position than most when it comes to talking about the dreaded mobile 'phone. What has to be the most frustrating time of my day is that moment when I pick my 'phone out of my bag on one of my far-too-infrequent breaks, only to find a call from a "withheld" number. Natural curiosity makes you wonder who has been calling you - and why, if it's so important to call you during your working day, would you withhold the number: I mean, how are you meant to ring that person back if you don't know who they are? Having watched "One Missed Call", however, I can now envisage one scenario more intimidating than the dreaded missed call from the withheld number ("intimidating" because you always get the feeling that the nature of the phone call would have inevitably been serious had you picked it up) - and that is the missed call from your own number, the "death-messaging call", with your voicemail merely reflecting your fear from the future - forewarning your own demise.

Briefly, "One day, Yumi's friend finds a weird voice on her cell phone. The voice sounds like hers but it ends in a bone-chilling scream. The call apparently came from her own cell phone. It's dated three days into the future. It's be easy enough to dismiss this as a prank call were it not for the fact that three days later, at the exact same time and with the exact same scream, the friend dies. The coincidences begin to pile up as the circle of cell phone death warnings widens. Until, one day, Yumi realises that she has also got one missed call!"

How you rate this film will largely depend upon how "bored" you already are with mainstream J-Horror itself. Essentially a commerical film, created to appeal to a wide audience, "One Missed Call" will give those of you who are already familiar with "popular" (by "popular", I mean "well-known", not "widely-acepted") Asian Horror (and it's subsequent Western remakes), an overwhelming sense of de-ja-vu. No doubt you will recognise the cyclical revenge story, focussing upon a long-haired female ghost with a "grudge" (excuse the pun), who systematically murders as many people as possible via the most mundane, domestic medium she can (if you replace the mobile 'phone for the TV, you can see where I am going with this), until the "truth is uncovered, and the wrongs are righted" (as another reviewer pointed out). It is this lack of originality that has led other reviewers to describe the film as "bland", "generic" and "ineffective" - with one reviewer even suggesting that the financial motivation behind the film largely accounted for an under-developed script containing "flat...wasted...one dimensional characters, who are trapped with one facial expression, one tone of voice and one purpose - to aid the plot, (hence)... back-stories which are clumsily brought out by an awkward expositional dialogue". Some may find this analysis hyper-critical (I know I did) - particularly those of you who are either satisfied to see "more of the same", and especially those of you who are new to the genre altogether: for you, I am certain that you will see this as a dark, apprehensive and melancholic film, filled with atmospheric suspense.

Personally, I found the film a little "hit-and-miss". On the one-hand, there are some genuinely creepy parts to the film, aided by the viewer's knowledge of the inevitability that haunts each call - the unavoidable fate attached to the monophonically-simplistic, sinister and disturbing ring-tone - sounding even when the handset is turned off. Credit must also be given for the effective use of (literal) reflection (in the TV camera and mirrors)- here, representing clarity - which allows us to see the spirit, even when the characters can't. I also like the fact that, in many of the scenes, the characters do not bow to the predictable: they do not do what you would expect - for an example of this, see the scene towards the end of the film, where the undertaker is standing with an axe in the hosptial, poised to smash the door when the ghost eventually reaches it. This scene is all the more effective for NOT having this occur - instead, a phone rings elsewhere, disorienting and confusing the viewer in the process.

On the other hand, there are aspects of the film which are subject to justifiable criticism. The inconsistencies in the film are so obvious as not to be over-looked - without wanting to give the true identity of the spirit away, once you have watched the film, ask yourself "how" this person managed to obtain all of the telephone numbers of those people who she sought out for death. There are also parts in the film that are designed to make you jump, but don't even raise a single hair on the back of your neck (for an example of this, see the "abnormally" thin hand that appears on Yumi's shoulder at the dinner-party - this was hinted at in a story related to us by another guest at the party, but the lack of tension means the "climax" to the scene never emerges). The other problem with the film is that it may require a second viewing due to it's subtle nature - a second viewing which will inevitably frustrate those who are already bored with the genre. I have watched it three times now, and have only just picked up on the significance of the quote right at the end of the film - "There are various skies to everyone". Take this as an indiciation of misinterpretation and it will clarify the illogically-twisted climax to the film...if only slightly.

For those of you who are expecting a DVD laden with extras, you will be disappointed - there are none. For those of you who have surround-sound, you won't be disappointed - just don't forget that if you turn the volume up to hear the quiet conversations, don't forget to turn it down for the horror scenes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films., 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This has been for a long time one of my favourite films of all time other than Bruce Lee films, finally I have it on DVD, excellent price, condition and speedy delivery what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lifeless Photocopy, 21 Aug 2009
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Tacky cash-in on "The Ring", replacing the videotape with a mobile phone. Utterly shameless, this cheap-knock-off has none of the novelty of "The Ring", just cynical exploitation. I've enjoyed Ichi the Killer to the stunningly daft MPD Psycho and The Happiness of the Katakuris. This has no redemptive qualities, even the ending is cheap. Miike did this one just to pay the rent. A lifeless photocopy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spooooooky, 30 Mar 2008
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I love ringu so I am not going to try and compare this movie 'cos it would be unfair. Many people are trying to lump Japanese ghost movies into a 'hair' catagory, but think about it. In Japan it is popular for girls to have long hair and as a culture it tends to mostly be black in colour. It stands to reason that the female ghost may well have long black hair, well DUH!! Ok that's my little rant out of the way.
One missed call is a genuinely scary movie. Japan as well as most places is riddled with mobile phone technology and as such everyone can be reached constantly by everyone else and everything else. That left me with a feeling of 'no escape', a feeling that doesn't leave you throughout this movie. Basically, it's another decent ghost movie and definately gave me a feeling of dread. If you only love Ringu or Ju on and think that they have a monopoly on ghosts with long black hair GET REAL!!! Chinese ghosts have hair too you know (sarcasm). Just stop it and prepare yourself for another great asian ghost movie.
I'm off to buy the sequels!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reverse Charges, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
At first sight this looks like another willfully weird Japanese horror with inevitable Hollywood twin, however in this case Chakushin ari (One Missed Call) is actually ponced from Hollywood's "Final Destination", concerning - as it does - a group of teens unescapable deaths. Although quite unsettling at points it does suffer from being a little too derivative, slow, pretentious...and silly. You've pretty much seen it all before but there are worse ways to spend a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish., 4 April 2008
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Its kinda like one of those US teen horror films, not scary at all. Crap compared to Ringu, Ju On and Dark Water. The story line's really confusing and the ending is just plain stupid. Don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very generic horror., 2 May 2008
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One missed call opens with a creepy premise that people hear their dying words as a message on their phones a couple of days before its going to happen. It soon becomes apparent that the calls are linked by the telephones internal phone book and when the victim dies a message is sent to someone else randomly from the list.

There are a few good scares and at times it is genuinely creepy. Most of the performances are OK but don't expect to see anyone break out to become a huge star.

The problem with the film is that if feels like what it is, and that's a paint by numbers remake of a Japanese film. When The Ring and The Grudge came out they felt fresh and were both terrifying. Then we had sequels to both these and Dark Water, amongst others came along which just ended up diluting the power of the originals and they all became carbon copies of each other. The problem with one missed call is that whilst it is entertaining, it just feels very generic and is another on the production line of remakes.

Overall, One missed call is enjoyable enough, but instantly forgettable once it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008]
One Missed Call [2007] [DVD] [2008] by Takashi Miike (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 2.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews