Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 236 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Mystery at its best
By and large, the BBC does pretty well at dramatised versions of classic mysteries, both on radio and on TV - Lord Peter Wimsey, Miss Marple (the original series), etc. And the Inspector Alleyn series is right up there with the best.

Please note, however, that this particular set of DVDs is actually the complete Region 2 version of the already issued first and...
Published on 11 Sep 2007 by A. J. Bradbury

versus
111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon should provide a list of episodes
I really enjoy the Inspector alleyn series and have purchased sets 1 & 2. This new release does not state "set 3" and it is not possible to determine if this is just a re-release of all the episodes in sets 1 & 2 in one compilation set. I can only find sets 1 & 2 listed on the BBC web site. It would help if the Amazon reviewer listed the episodes so that one can compare...
Published on 12 July 2007 by Anglophile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A GEM, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. Beverley J. Matthews "BLODWYN" (E. SUSSEX UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries Series is excellent. I am sorry that no more were made. Watching the plot as it unfolds takes you to a different time & place. I could not wait to view the next one. There are none of todays abusive language & actions that are now the norm in todays murder/mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL SENSE OF TIME AND PLACE!, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
EXCELLENT! WELL ACTED, WITH A REAL SENSE OF BYEGONE DAYS. 10 OUT OF 10 TO THE ENTIRE CAST, ESPECIALLY PATRICK MALAHIDE, WHO IS PERFECT IN THE LEADING ROLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle's war., 19 Jan 2009
By 
Paul (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you enjoy Inspector Alleyn, then consider Foyle's War - The Complete Collection (Series 1-5) for a similar calm but relentless police series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth watching again, 17 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was terribly disappointed with these. I recall seeing the odd one when they were first broadcast but I didn't make much of an effort to watch them and I now know why.

I hadn't read the books then but I have now and I must admit to being very taken with the Roderick Alleyn, handsome, charming, determined policeman and suitor. Much though I admire Patrick Malahide as an actor, he was not right for this part and that was the downfall of the series for me. Belinda Lang was a better fit for Troy but there was no spark between Alleyn and Troy, although the relationship between Alleyn and Fox worked very well. The adaptations are fine but the whole thing lacked passion.

I bought the first series of Campion at the same time as this and that is in quite another league, something I can easily imagine watching again but I am afraid Alleyn will just be gathering dust on the shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, polished, beautifully filmed, 19 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The stories themselves are absorbing and keep you guessing to the end. Add to this the absolutely lovely scenery and filming, along with first class performances, and you have a set of DVD's that is well worth owning and watching again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Alleyn Mysteries, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. L. D. Stevens (Keynsham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I purchased this box set mainly because most of the mysteries have the georgeous Belinda Lang as Troy in them. The plots are great, well filmed and not too complicated for my easily baffled mind. Quite a good price too.
stevens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
8 episodes lasting 12 hours (so about one pound sterling per hour). Have watched the first 2. Reasonable settings. Malahide carries it off with tongue in cheek humour, but support actors seem to treat it as a drama school exercise. Overall production not up to Suchet's Poirots, but OK for light viewing and the rest will I'm sure make good alternative viewing from the usual TV offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the inspector alleyn mysteries (dvd)2007, 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
well worth the money, its better than going to the pictures, you get two stories on each disc, very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Inspector Alleyn and the Pilot, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
There seems to be a conspiracy to bury the pilot, (Artists in Crime), which was the best of this series.I suppose it is available on the American edition, but getting any such detailed information is beyond me. Simon Williams, who played Alleyn in Artists in Crime, was vastly superior to Robert Malahide who played in the ensuing series. There was some further serious miscasting which has relegated what could have been a very fine series into what can only be described as subfusc and dreary. (In mitigation it must be said that one or two of the episodes just manage to rise above the mediocre, and the incidental music is generally very imaginative).
Agatha Troy was certainly miscast as was Alleyn and why did he need to address his sidekick as Brer? That was not in any of the books and sounds absolutely stupid. In the originals he addressed him as Brer Fox on occasion, which made sense.
And why is he called Allen? I understand that this might be some genuine affectation, but I have always understood the name to be pronounced as it is spelt. Also the casting of Inspector Fox, played by William Simon, was just Ventriss from Heartbeat. Even so, in the pilot, which I have just watched on the Yesterday TV programme, this was not so noticeable, mainly because the direction and pace of the film and the general standard of acting was far superior to the ensuing episodes.
This lot were simply not good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A scandalous rewriting of the original books !, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was never so disappointed. I always loved the Ngaio Marsh novels, but this DVD was a sore caricature of the stories.

Why insert caricatural sinister Nazis and WWII memories in all stories, which were mostly written before WWII, not in the immediate post-war years as in the movies ? In the first novels, written starting in 1934, Ngaio had an obsession about Bolcheviks, not Nazis !

Apart from that, many intriguing incidents are missing, Agatha Troy is a permanent fixture of ALL films, Roderick Alleyn looks a bit like a nerd, not the affable sleuth he was supposed to be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4a1ad74)

This product

The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007]
The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries [DVD] [2007] by Patrick Malahide (DVD - 2007)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews