Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr softy
I liked Ron when I've seen him on tv,always coming across with a good sense of humour.I always got the feeling he knew exactly where he sat in the business and was comfortable in this.His humour comes through out the book which was filled with laugh out loud moments.however the need to be seen as mainstream was a surprise and a theme though out his career.I've never seen...
Published 9 months ago by martin lane

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but also frustrating and a touch sad!
Ron J is a porn star. Famous for being hairy and (of course) well-built in the tackle dept. And not a pretty geezer, although arguably, he was when he was a young 'un. Jeremy is, by his own account, extremly talented - he says he's a classical musician (and provides scant evidence) registered childcarer (for which there is) and intellect (judge for yourself). This book...
Published on 28 Sept. 2008 by Mark Slattery


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but also frustrating and a touch sad!, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Mark Slattery (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ron J is a porn star. Famous for being hairy and (of course) well-built in the tackle dept. And not a pretty geezer, although arguably, he was when he was a young 'un. Jeremy is, by his own account, extremly talented - he says he's a classical musician (and provides scant evidence) registered childcarer (for which there is) and intellect (judge for yourself). This book is a mixture of very interesting stories about the adult entertainment industry, nice anecdotes about his interesting life, and yet it ultimately dissolves into a series of namechecks of the famous and becomes a litany of minor mishaps and pratfalls for somebody wanting to break into the mainstream of acting who never succeeds.

Jeremy knows everybody but this seems due entirely to his curiosity status as a porn legend rather than his acting ability, and in the end, you both envy him for his wonderful freedom and liberty in his sex and social life and for his utter lack of fulfilment on any other level: it is apparent that having made it in porn early, he has absolutely no idea about conventional relationships at all. He is painfully and honourably honest about this which adds a twinge of pathos to the book.

Jeremy seems to think he has (third? Forth?) career as a stand-up comedian but never makes us laugh seriously (laugh seriously? I'm on good form today), although we do smile with and at him frequently. And through it all, you really do like and pity him in equal measure. He's trying to punch above the odds. He's had a good life. He's self-depreciating. He's not arrogant. He's a porn star who wanted more and grazed the surface. Basically he popularised porn as an icon. That is probably all he should have aimed for for happiness. At that level, Mr J is the best thing the industry ever produced. Not bad going, and it's a fun read. A tiny bit sad for his foiled ambitions - but he did not have to tell us about those - so in a way, we get the truth about who he is and what he wanted.

The sex alone probably makes him a happier man than many have ever been - and the book is worth a read if you are open minded and curious. Possibly one of the most accessible works on the industry you'll ever be able to read. All told, however, I'd not swap his cock for my brains - even if many women I've met would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr softy, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ron Jeremy: The Hardest (Working) Man in Showbiz: The Life and Times of a Porn Star (Kindle Edition)
I liked Ron when I've seen him on tv,always coming across with a good sense of humour.I always got the feeling he knew exactly where he sat in the business and was comfortable in this.His humour comes through out the book which was filled with laugh out loud moments.however the need to be seen as mainstream was a surprise and a theme though out his career.I've never seen a R J porno but he's the only porn star I know the name of so maybe Ron has reached that mainstream he searched for.A great read,highly enjoyable and Ron comes across as a good guy in a bad business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda strange, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Ron Jeremy: The Hardest (Working) Man in Showbiz: The Life and Times of a Porn Star (Kindle Edition)
Interesting but rather stange book, especially of you are not working in the Porn industry.
At times it seems rather unbelievable, so not sure if this is all true or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seems like a nice guy., 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ron Jeremy: The Hardest (Working) Man in Showbiz: The Life and Times of a Porn Star (Kindle Edition)
Ron appears to have made a nice life for himself and comes across as a nice popular bloke. It is a shame that he seems a little desperate to be accepted into main stream acting, he should just stick to what he is good at, I know I would! This book does not provide enough detailed insight into the World in which Ron inhabits, the world of porn, too much name dropping of non porn people and boring anecdotes spoil the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff. If you know who Ron Jeremy is, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good stuff. If you know who Ron Jeremy is, you will almost certainly enjoy this book.

If you don't know who Ron Jeremy is or are not a fan of the industry that he works in, my advice is don't buy this book.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read!, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ron Jeremy: The Hardest (Working) Man in Showbiz: The Life and Times of a Porn Star (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved it. A really interesting look at a legend's life. Quite humourous and revealing at times. Guaranteed to make you smile and laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The hardest working man in show business, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ron Jeremy: The Hardest (Working) Man in Showbiz: The Life and Times of a Porn Star (Kindle Edition)
Really funny insight in to the Hedgehog. Four stars is well deserved. Ron Jeremy really knows how to penetrate the mundane with funny anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book. Well written., 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not much interest in this kind of business in general. But this book is well and funny written, so I would call it good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews