Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect
Costello's country excursion works well because of the quality material he chose. His voice is suited to the genre and the Attractions give it all they've got, supported by some expert Nashville musicians like John McFee on lead and pedal steel guitars, and Tommy Miller on violin.

The fast paced Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used To Do) sounds more like early...
Published on 10 Jan 2008 by Pieter Uys

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Elvis Costello can do no wrong!
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Andrew Lavelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 10 Jan 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
Costello's country excursion works well because of the quality material he chose. His voice is suited to the genre and the Attractions give it all they've got, supported by some expert Nashville musicians like John McFee on lead and pedal steel guitars, and Tommy Miller on violin.

The fast paced Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used To Do) sounds more like early rock 'n roll than country to me, whilst Sweet Dreams is done with feeling and lots of soul. Success is a gently lilting ballad with lovely piano.

My favourites are the buoyant Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down, the moving Colour Of The Blues, this slow version of Too Far Gone, and especially the poignant Good Year For The Roses, a brilliant interpretation.

Costello's country excursion reminds me of another highly successful country album by a UK artist, Marianne Faithfull's very authentic Faithless (also available as Dreamin' My Dreams). Almost Blue obviously won't appeal to all Elvis Costello fans, but I find it a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original idea at least, 11 Feb 2008
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
The fact is there's nothing to stop any non country artist recording an album with Nashville musicians.Or any country star recording music from another field.There's enough bluegrass interpretations of the Beatles.And if Ringo Starr and Vera Lynn can record country its not exactly a closed shop.
Elvis Costello for intance was a fan of the music and that's reason enough .
At the time he was seen as a punk because that's the time he was launched.
The arguments from the snobs go on forever and in the case of this particular album the fact is the producer Billy Sherill had nothing good to say about it.
Its like the way these same snobs argue against black people cutting country music-it just doesn't go anywhere as criticism.
But really Costello-the man most unlikely in 1976 when an LP of silence sold more copies than his debut album for Stiff-has worn many hats and is currently on tour with no less than New Orleans legend Allen Toussaint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Brilliant, 23 Jan 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
Costello's country excursion works well because of the quality material he chose. His voice is suited to the genre and the Attractions give it all they've got, supported by some expert Nashville musicians like John McFee on lead and pedal steel guitars, and Tommy Miller on violin. The fast paced Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used To Do) sounds more like early rock 'n roll than country to me, whilst Sweet Dreams is done with feeling and lots of soul. Success is a gently lilting ballad with lovely piano. My favourites are the buoyant Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down, the moving Colour Of The Blues, this slow version of Too Far Gone, and especially the poignant Good Year For The Roses, a brilliant interpretation. Costello's country excursion reminds me of another highly successful country album by a UK artist, Marianne Faithfull's very authentic Faithless (also available as Dreamin' My Dreams). Almost Blue obviously won't appeal to all Elvis Costello fans, but I find it a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Country, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
A thrash punk version of a Hank Williams song opens this intriguing collection, a real treat. As you'd expect, Costello's versions of country classics are more tortured than the original - compare him with Gram Parsons on How Much I've Lied. Slick production (Billy Sherril, who also wrote Too Far Gone) and packaging, and a focus both on well-known (Parsons, Haggard, Mathis) and less well-known writers, make a good personal introduction to the genre and to Costello's influences. Reminder if it were needed that he has broad musical tastes. No less than you'd expect from the son of a bandleader, singer and jazz trumpeter, who went from pub rock to punk rock to power ballads, and isn't done yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Costello goes country, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
Costello's country excursion works well because of the excellent songs he chose. His voice is suited to the genre and the Attractions give it all they've got, supported by some brilliant Nashville musicians like John McFee on lead and pedal steel guitars, and Tommy Miller on violin.
The fast paced Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used To Do) sounds more like early rock 'n roll than country to me, whilst Sweet Dreams is done with feeling and lots of soul. Success is a gently lilting ballad with lovely piano.
My favourites are the buoyant Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down, the moving Colour Of The Blues, this slow version of Too Far Gone, and especially the bittersweet Good Year For The Roses, a brilliant interpretation.
Costello's country excursion reminds me of another highly successful country album by a UK artist, Marianne Faithfull's very authentic Faithless (also available as Dreamin' My Dreams). Almost Blue obviously won't appeal to all Elvis Costello fans, but I find it a pleasure to listen to and a worthy contribution to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
I used to have an old tape of this album , so it was nice to have it on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost blue, 3 Feb 2014
By 
julie maiden (billericay, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
I purchased this for my husband who is a huge Elvis Costello fan - he loved it. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
I like Elvis Costello's songwriting, but this album features Elvis's interpretation of some Country classics. I have never heard some of the original versions of the songs on the record, but I'll be darned if they're as good as the soulful and heartfelt sounding covers on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Elvis Costello country classic, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (MP3 Download)
I originally bought this album many years ago on tape but have been unable to play it for some time (no tape drive). So when I heard one of the tracks played recently on the radio, I decided to track it down. Though not usually a country music fan, I feel that this collection adds something fresh to the genre, resulting in a very listenable rendition of a number of country classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Almost Blue (Audio CD)
Great CD, so glad i found it, had it on a LP and was unable to play it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Almost Blue
Almost Blue by Elvis Costello (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews