Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar-based rock music 1977-86
For most of this period, Elvis Costello's music comprised himself on vocals and guitar, backed by keyboards, bass and drums, though there were variations especially towards the end. Driving rock songs dominated, mostly written by Elvis, although the music sometimes hides the nature of the lyrics. For those who care, the booklet contains full lyrics for all the featured 22...
Published 13 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 10 years of Elvis Costello
Was never a great fan of Elvis Costello but this album is quite enjoyable with no really bad tracks and is easy listening when in the car.
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Denwalt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar-based rock music 1977-86, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
For most of this period, Elvis Costello's music comprised himself on vocals and guitar, backed by keyboards, bass and drums, though there were variations especially towards the end. Driving rock songs dominated, mostly written by Elvis, although the music sometimes hides the nature of the lyrics. For those who care, the booklet contains full lyrics for all the featured 22 songs.

Elvis had three UK top ten hits during this period, these being Oliver's army at #2, I can't stand up for falling down at #4 and Good year for the roses at #6. He did not have an American top ten hit until 1989, when he made #10 with a song titled Veronica, but you'll have to look elsewhere for that.

In 1981, just when people thought they knew what to expect from Elvis, he demonstrated his love of country music by recording a whole album of country songs with Billy Sherrill as producer. From this album, Good year for the roses became a UK top ten hit as noted above. Originally recorded by George Jones and a country hit for hum, the Elvis Costello version was clearly popular with a lot of British people, most of whom had never heard the song before. Country fans familiar with the original didn't all like it, but I did and still do.

This collection contains the three UK top ten hits mentioned above along with a selection of lesser UK hits and album tracks. Among the lesser hits, Watching the detectives and ( don't wanna go to Chelsea both made the UK top 20 and established Elvis's credentials as a rock singer, and both are here. Alison (a song later covered by Linda Ronstadt) is also featured. Beyond those track, I don't think anything essential is missing from my perspective, but others may disagree. I say it's a great collection with everything that I expect of an Elvis Costello hits collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD pack details, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Just thought I mentionned that this edition comes in a gatesleeve digipak packaging: it's glossy cardboard on the outside (excellent thick quality) but there is a plastic tray for the disc (so the sleeve should not get damaged everytime one gets the CD out.
There is a pouch for the inlay (CD-size booklet with 22 pages including full lyrics, some credits, colour pictures of some singles).
Though I am quite shocked to find that there is no mention of Chet Baker who plays trumpet on Costello's version of 'shipbuilding'!
Some songs are credited to Elvis Costello and some to Declan MacManus (his real name); some others were not written by Costello.
It is stated that this album has been compiled by Elvis Costello himself.
I won't review the music, Amazon has added snippets or check on you tube. There are many Costello compilations available, it's hard to choose. "Girls Girls Girls" is the one I was very familiar with (though cassette and CD formats have different listings BTW).
This one came up at 3 brand new and factory-sealed (sold by Amazon) with free postage! So I added it to an order to bring it up to over 10 (otherwise I was being charged 3 post for a book)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 July 2012
By 
Mr. Neil Edwards "QAM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Sweet memories of my youth came flooding back when I played this CD, rough times of the late 70's with rough people, very character building. Elvis Costello was quite different from the music at the time, the origins were fast, succinct, great music with a fresh voice. Great compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
My brother had 2 or 3 Costello albums when they were first released. I have never bought anything by the man and this is an excellent compilation of early tracks. It brings it home to me what a superb songwriter he is - and what great musicians the Attractions are. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic british pop., 25 May 2009
By 
Ronald L. Pearce (Dunstable UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
If your of a certain age (like me) you'll have forgotten what a tour de force Elvis Costello was in the pop world.
This album will have you singing and dancing around in no time .
There are so many timeless classics on this compilation you will not be dissappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Although I always liked Elvis Costello, I think I only ever bought one album. So this collection is ideal for those like me who want to catch up on an impressive recording career. It has all the hits I remember and a few songs that I did not know (but were worth discovering). The music here stands the test of time exceptionally well and I enjoyed this even more then I thought I would. And at under five quid you can hardly go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Attraction, 17 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Yes I know what you are going to say - another collection. Well, yes you're right, but its the primer for a series of themed releases being put together by the man himself. And after 30 yrs of brilliant, barbed, insightful songwriting, by a true literary genius of the era, isn't he entitled to have his say. Nicely packaged digipack, accompanying lyric/picture booklet, some of the best songs of the last 30 yrs and all for six quid. Come on you can't really complain. Get the themed 'Rock And Roll Music' collection that's also just out and you won't be disappointed. I'm waiting on the next in the series, long may his pen be filled with ink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Just love his music, and this album is just the business. Also, I love the Autorip service, no need to bother copying to the computer and downloading onto the ipod. The Amazon app is so easy to use. Who in their right mind would pay 10.49 for the mp3 when you can get both for 3? Autorip/mp3 download has definitely changed the way I purchase music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ELvis Costello, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The First 10 Years (Audio CD)
Elivs Costello the anti hero, got a lot of the early stuff on vinal, this cd puts all the best stuff all in one place simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The First 10 Years
The Best Of The First 10 Years by Elvis Costello (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews