Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you either love this movie or you hate it
This movie is a great little movie...... and judging from the opinions there is no middle of the road, When it comes to this movie. You either love it or you hate it - you either get it or you you don't.

I got it and I loved it... this blokes act back in the eighties I did not get (shout-y bloke in the police academy films ) But he has a real talent for subtle...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by melbopp

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
If you buy this film on the strength of the synopsis alone, you will be bitterly dissapointed. It is not the light hearted afair that many romantic comedies in recent years have been, but it isn't as gloriousy dark as you may expect with the bestiality-led plot. Whist it IS very tightly writen, and very well acted, and it's emotional spectrum not only includes some light...
Published on 14 Jun 2008 by D. R. Farmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you either love this movie or you hate it, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a great little movie...... and judging from the opinions there is no middle of the road, When it comes to this movie. You either love it or you hate it - you either get it or you you don't.

I got it and I loved it... this blokes act back in the eighties I did not get (shout-y bloke in the police academy films ) But he has a real talent for subtle dark humor and I love it. He is going to be big like John Waters one day! Love his movies or hate his movies. There is no way you can accuse his movies of being dull. That the subject matter is bland or uninteresting every character has a point and I really wanted to know what happens in the end.
Next movie he brings out i am seeing it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 14 Jun 2008
By 
D. R. Farmer (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
If you buy this film on the strength of the synopsis alone, you will be bitterly dissapointed. It is not the light hearted afair that many romantic comedies in recent years have been, but it isn't as gloriousy dark as you may expect with the bestiality-led plot. Whist it IS very tightly writen, and very well acted, and it's emotional spectrum not only includes some light hearted moments, and some very tender and upsetting one's, the film is a wasted investment of your time for one simple reason

Nothing Happens

There is no lesson to be learnt by the leading role that wasn't already well established at the beginning of the film, and her refusal to grow as a human being makes the film extremely frustrating to sit through. Try Chasing Amy instead- less controvesial, but a lot funnier, and there is at least some growth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts the comedy back into romantic comedy, 10 April 2007
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is essentially a romantic comedy - and is just as sweet as any fan of the genre would want it to be, however, it's not the dull, worthless fare which any non-fan (more like myself) would expect. This film is not only a little twisted in it's adult comedy but very realistically played and yes, actually funny - something i didnt expect to find. It's written and directed by Bobcat Goldthwait - most familiar for his role as Zed in the Police Academy series but actually a respected stand-up who was highly regarded by still modern-cultural favourties Nirvana, who he was even brought in to open shows for! There are some great turns from actors/actresses you may not be familiar with due to them being from mainly US TV, however the main character you may recall from Desperate Housewives as Sister Mary Bernard. The plot is based around this main character, Amy, revealing a secret from her past, against her better initial judgement, to her fiance, who reacts not as you'd hope but perhaps as you'd expect - and the plot leads on as Amy's life falls dramatically apart (remember it's a rom-com though - not too much doom and gloom!). This is a surprisingly good film and it proves that you dont need a big budget and big names to make a good film - even if its a genre such as the rom-com which seems to rely on at least the latter factor for its continued success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lot better than it sounds, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
really engaging film about relationships and secrets. easily misunderstood, probably not helped by the mental director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you know what your missus has been up to?, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Jeez, how do you even start to talk about this one? Hysterical Basically, Melinda Page Hamilton listens to her mother who tells her not to keep things secret from her prospective husband. So she tells her boyfriend that one time, when she was at college, she gave a dog, ahem, fellatio. Darkly funny, I really enjoyed this movie from Bobcat Goldthwaite. It is funny in all the right moments and is a worthy pick-up for all fans of dark, off-the-wall comedies. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 30 July 2007
By 
L. Alexander "trixiewillis" (Arundel, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I'd agree with the other reviewer about this film. I would usually avoid romantic comedies, especially American ones, at all costs. But this film had a great story line, not too predictable and very amusing. I'd recommend checking it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To die for, 6 Dec 2008
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Well guys, it's really funny and also really meaningful. There is a lot to learn from.I remember this film because I cannot remember any other film laughing so much, a part from super bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle and clever comedy, 15 Jan 2008
By 
J0n G (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't a lightweight comedy - it's really quite subtle and meaningful in exploring the extent to which we need to lie in order to make successful relationships with people, and the way absolute truthfulness is overrated.

If anything the packaging is what lets it down. I was impressed, and I'd watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Minus 10..., 21 Dec 2007
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly distasteful, not funny in the least. Almost worth watching to see if there was a positive side which there most definitely wasn't. Utterly cringeworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unamused, 17 Sep 2007
By 
J. Lunt (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Hate to disagree but didnt enjoy the film one bit! There are a few funny moments, especially with the brothers part, but the overall feeling of the film wasnt a "romantic comedy". The secret once you find out, is totally distasteful, the lead characters are very hard to like, and on the whole just "unfunny".

Bleh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8f865d0)

This product

Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD]
Sleeping Dogs [2006] [DVD] by Bobcat Goldthwait (DVD - 2007)
9.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews