Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2008
i could write a big long speil (so won't) this film is amazing on so many levels - just watch it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2008
A good movie well worth watching. All the same I am not sure that the Indian connection, with its beautiful and convincing footage, is actually particularly central to the plot. But a subtle movie about good and less good uses of power and its limitations that you will remember for some time. Jacob leaves an Indian environment where he is far wealthier than the orphans he is helping apparently just to meet an extremely wealthy Danish businessman (probably about as much wealthier than most Danes as Jacob is compared to most Indians) to secure a large donation. He then gets swept into a family wedding, apparently on impulse...

The plot is very (very) improbable - but then most movies are. Prepare not to ask how likely it is that such-and-such would happen!

It is hard to say more without spoiling (a pity - should movies be dependent on a key 'twist'?) but the lead character is not who you think it is!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
I caught up with this film recently as I've been getting into Danish cinema plus the cast appealed - Sidse Babett Knudsen - sparkling in Borgen, Mads Mikkelsen from Casino Royale and Flame and Citron plus the wonderful Rolf Lassgard - who I had seen in The Hunters and False Trail. After the Wedding is a stunning piece of work all-round - the acting is impeccable and the story is intriguing and well paced. Where it seems to drift into unlikely coincidence the plot wrong foots you and you begin to realise the bigger picture - constantly suprised by the turn of events and it is ultimately a hugely moving experience that leaves you awe-struck by the beauty and complexity of it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
It's not often you see a film that leaves you speechless but this is one of two Susanne Bier films I've seen recently that has done just that.

Intelligent, beautifully acted and shot, this movie is a thought-provoking and often emotional breath of fresh air.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
Well acted; subtle clues of what will happen appears throughout; emotional but not over the top. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Reading the cover of the DVD it is easy to dismiss this film. However it is very good with the main part being played by a well known actor (Mads Mikklelesen who played Le Chiffre from the Bond film Casino Royale) and not at all like I expected. It is in fact a film about lost love, a good father planning the protection of his family (due to his imminant death)and a person finding a daughter he did not know he had. Very well acted and filmed with a good display of human emotion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
This is the first DVD I've rented from Amazon and enjoyed this story very much indeed. It is thought provoking for me. The acting is excellent with typical Scandinavian camera's lingering on the actors faces for long shots. An excellent story plot as well.
Well done, Amazon!
Irene Barkman
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Much better than Haevnen and that is saying something. A fantastic story and so well acted. While everyone has told me to watch Haevnen I now have to tell them to watch this masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
I'm not one for writing reviews, but I must say the story, the acting and the atmosphere of this fantastic.

For people who enjoy Foreign Language films - this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Love and who needs who in life and what do we need in life. We all get distracted by what we persue, two mem perusing opposite dreams. Loving the same woman. And more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.