Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very London Romance and a Great Night In
This film is in the best spirit of Richard Curtis' London rom-coms and features a stellar cast including Colin Firth and Stephen Fry. Mike Binder achieves a good mix of cute and complex, the story is well paced and doesn't deliver the predictable. Stephen Fry's depiction of the uncomfortable psycho analyst turned couples therapist unable to discuss sex openly, opposite...
Published on 26 Nov 2007 by Richard Thompson

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars and then narcolepsy set in...
I watched in horror last night as a collection of unfortunate actors were dragged through a pitiable script with some of the worst directing I have seen from a film on general release.
The choice of music was hard to endure and had nothing whatever to do with the film and was lifted wholesale from old 1950s Pathe News background soundtracks (that's probably being...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by Ian Farrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars and then narcolepsy set in..., 19 Mar 2008
By 
Ian Farrell "Ian" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
I watched in horror last night as a collection of unfortunate actors were dragged through a pitiable script with some of the worst directing I have seen from a film on general release.
The choice of music was hard to endure and had nothing whatever to do with the film and was lifted wholesale from old 1950s Pathe News background soundtracks (that's probably being unfair to Pathe).
I have most of Colin Firth's work on DVD and he has never failed to impress (I bought the film to add to my CF collection). I have to believe this film was a contractual commitment that he couldn't escape from, he must be so embarrassed. Do not buy this film, it is truly appalling.
Mr Mike Binder, hang your head in shame. Never heard of you before, never will again, please leave the film industry immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like 4 Weddings or Notting Hill!, 26 Sep 2006
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
This was an extremely disappointing movie. It is nothing like 4 Weddings or Notting Hill. These were both well written comedies, and this was not well written or remotely funny. Only resemblence is they were set in London! I like Colin Firth, but even he was not on top form.

Don't want to say too much about the plot in case you do watch it though.....

Perhaps I should read other reviews in future and not go with what the film producer has said about his film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing only for die hard fans, 10 Sep 2006
By 
pmax.music (Lille, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
This film was disappointing... on both the technical and artistic sides

technically, this is a 4:3 TV movie convertion with pretty poor image quality. absolutely no subtitles, not even hearing impaired or close captionning. for foreigners, this might be a no-no.

artistically, I won't judge the film, but I have strong objections to the "catch phrase" on the DVD cover: this film has no relation to the films mentionned, apart from the action being set in London.

Colin firth fans will appreciate this, but comedy buyers should stick to bigger productions.

One last thing: Stephen Fry makes a very funny, but very short cameo (couple minutes onscreen tops), he is not really among the cast ofg the film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Weddings and One and a Half Hours of Boredom, 18 Jan 2007
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the other reviews of this movie. It wasn't very funny, I laughed maybe once. The plot and storyline was disjointed at best. I never heard of this film before I found it for a very discounted price at a local retailer, and now I know why, I'm surprised Colin Firth even agreed to be in it, and he was the best part by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good film for sleeping through, 18 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in full agreement with the previous reviewers. This was a boring film with no plot, weak humour and characters that you really couldn't believe in or care about. However on a more positive note I did catch up on some sleep and despite missing the end of the film I didn't bother to rewind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of Colin Firth's abilities; only worth 0 stars, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: Fourplay [2001] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Do not touch with a barge pole, save your moeny, it's a waste of Colin Firth's abilities. Stephen Fry & Jack Dee have tiny cameo parts, not leads like the packaging would have you think. Dates back to 1999, not the 2007 on the outer sleeve.

If you are wondering why there is a Colin Firth film out on DVD that you've never heard of there is a reason. It stinks. Poor script, sub-sub-sub Woody Allen never-quite-meets Richard Curtis plot (so it's a right mess of styles), poor camera work, nasty soundtrack, awful techicals (shoddy titles, poor DVD package, the list goes on).

Some form of ego trip for the previously unheard-of Mike Binder as he stars & directs. If I ever see his name near a film again I'll steer well clear.

I'd give it no stars at all if the option was available. It wasted 90 mins of my life, and probably several weeks of Colin Firth's. I can only hope he was well paid for his pains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This sucks; truly, deeply awful (worth 0 stars), 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
Do not touch with a barge pole, save your moeny, it's a waste of Colin Firth's abilities. Stephen Fry & Jack Dee have tiny cameo parts, not leads like the packaging would have you think.

If you are wondering why there is a Colin Firth film out on DVD that you've never heard of there is a reason. It stinks. Poor script, sub-sub-sub Woody Allen meets Richard Curtis plot (so it's a right mess of styles), poor camera work, nasty soundtrack, awful techicals (shoddy titles, poor DVD package, the list goes on).

Some form of ego trip for the previously unheard of Mike Binder as he stars & directs. If I ever see his name near a film again I'll steer well clear.

I'd give it no stars at all if the option was available. It wasted 90 mins of my life, and probably several weeks of Colin Firth's. I can only hope he was well paid for his pains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very London Romance and a Great Night In, 26 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
This film is in the best spirit of Richard Curtis' London rom-coms and features a stellar cast including Colin Firth and Stephen Fry. Mike Binder achieves a good mix of cute and complex, the story is well paced and doesn't deliver the predictable. Stephen Fry's depiction of the uncomfortable psycho analyst turned couples therapist unable to discuss sex openly, opposite an equally stiff Colin Firth and his very direct American partner, is one of the best ever comic treatments of transatlantic mis-communications. A very worthy film that deserves your attention, with a tub of Ben & Jerry's and a cup of Chai...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull., 2 Jun 2008
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
It was dull. It dragged. You thought it was nearly over then a whole lot more appeared. One star can be fully awarded for the miraculous appearance of Jack Dee, who (occasionally) showed up to drag me out of complete inertia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite hopeless, 27 Jun 2008
By 
Alan P. Chadwick "chopper44" (Cirencester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fourplay [DVD] (DVD)
Given the cast, this should have been watchable. It wasn't and I'm sure none of the big names put this on their cv. I actually put the DVD in the bin rather than give it to a charity shop as I don't want anyone else having to endure this torture.
It was neither funny nor was there a story line - what was the writer / director thinking of?
Apparently the film has had several titles to put people off the scent! That speaks volumes for this turkey. If I could have given no stars I would have.
KEEP WELL CLEAR & SAVE YOUR MONEY FOR SOMETHING (ANYTHING) BETTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fourplay [2001] [DVD] [2007]
Fourplay [2001] [DVD] [2007] by Mike Binder (DVD - 2007)
£1.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews