Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2007
There are times when one cannot help but wonder what the hell goes on between the ears of the people who decide which tv shows should be axed and which spared? As a lover of the old western I admit I approached this show with great trepidation but I have to tell you - unreservedly - I love it to bits!
The characters are terriffic & there's just enough throwaway lines scattered through the pilot episode to bring a tear to the eye of any sad person (like me!) wha can practically quote the Yul Brynner vehicle by heart.
The scrips are so well written it's criminal they were never given a chance to grow and the characters were just beginning to find their various niches when the axe fell. Michael Biehn does a great Clint homage with his serape & cheroot & when I first saw Eric Close as Vin a shiver went up my spine. He doesn't exactly look like Steve McQueen but there's something there....Dale Midkiff & Andy Kavovit make a great double act, Rick Worthy makes an admirable anchor man & Ron Perlman is....well, Ron Perlman, nuff said. But it is without doubt the character of Ezra played by Anthony Starke who steals the show. He's fantasic, I don't understand why he isn't a bigger star.
Buy it, watch it, you'll grow to love it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I only recently discovered this show, ten years after it went off the air, and I'm here wondering where it's been all my life! I was hooked from the very first episode. I've always loved westerns, and the original Magnificent Seven is a hell of a thing to live up to, but this TV series succeeds magnificently. Only two characters from the movie are retained, Vin (played by Eric Close) and Chris (Michael Biehn), whilst the others are reworked and renamed - the kid is no longer Mexican and is now named JD (Andrew Kavovit), the knife-fighter is an ex-slave turned healer named Nathan (Rick Worthy), the gambler is now a character called Ezra (Anthony Starke), instead of being Vin, and Vin is the one on the run from the law. Add to that a lothario named Buck (Dale Midkiff) and an ex-priest named Josiah (Ron Perlman), and you have the new Magnificent Seven. And magnificent they are.

Personally I'm particularly fond of the character of Vin Tanner, played by Eric Close. An ex-bounty hunter, ex-buffalo hunter, ex-tracker, who has lived with Comanche and Kiowa and adopted many of their ways, on the run from the law from a murder he didn't commit - he's laid-back, laconic, self-possessed, respectful, with a snarky sense of humour and a sawn-off shotgun always in his hand, and an absolute joy to watch.

The sights and sounds and smells of the frontier are brought wonderfully to life here, and every one of the characters is a joy to watch. It's a fantastic ensemble cast, rounded out by guest appearances from Robert Vaughn himself as a frontier judge. The show deals with many traditional issues from the Old West - the conflict between homesteaders and cowboys, the discovery of gold, the treatment of women and prostitutes, the casual brutality and violence. I'm only sorry this series is so short.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This is a very, very enjoyable dvd and I prefer this one to the earlier one with Yul Brinner because I like Dale Midkiff. He makes it even more worth watching.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
I enjoyed very much watching the first series of the Magnificient Seven. All the actors played their parts superbly, but my preference goes to A. Starke (Ezra) who gave an outstanding performance. I am watching the second series and loving it very much.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
An excellent mix of characters (equally excellent actors) in a set of stories
where the good conquers the bad.
Colorful personalities make this fine entertainment, with a moral message:
The thugs do not prevail, decency does.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2009
Sorry to go against the grain of full marks by onloy giving 4 stars, but, for me though the show was a very good series the quality was very poor. It was like watching an old VHS. Weather this was done intentionally to make it look a bit old and rough I dont know, but it took a bit of getting used to whaen there is so much polish on shows these days and higher production values.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 June 2009
This series is based on the great 1960 The Magnificent Seven (Special Edition) [DVD] [1960] film, and is the first of two seasons that were produced. It was a series which was twice cancelled, the first time after just 9 episodes, the second after a further 13 episodes.

The seven are Chris Larabee (iconically played by Yul Brynner in the movie under the name Chris Adams) is played by Michael Biehn of Aliens (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1986] and The Terminator (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1985] fame. The Steve McQueen character Vin is now played by Eric Close (Without A Trace - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2002] [2004]). The other characters are greenhorn JD is played by Andrew Kavovit, Buck (played by Dale Midkiff), Josiah (Ron Perlman), Ezra (Anthony Starke) and Nathan (Rick Worthy). Each of these characters are distinct from each other, as well as complimenting each other.

Interestingly Robert Vaughn who plays the Judge in the series also played (coward-turned-hero) Lee in the film - character which is now called Ezra.

This box set contains 3 episodes per disc - a total of 9 episodes.

Ghosts of the Confederacy - a small Native American Indian village needs some help and hires Chris Larabee and the boys to help them defend the village from the outlaw group of confederate soldiers.

One Day Out West - the local town judge needs help to ensure that a killer stands trial.

Working Girls - Buck, JD and Chris rescue a woman from her pimp, they take her back to the town with them. The other women follow looking for protection and a new start, but certain people in the town are less than welcoming, and the pimp wants his property back.

Safecracker - a woman and her daughter come to town looking for a new start, unfortunately her past catches up to her, which means trouble for the town too.

Witness - Ezra's mother (who is a grifter) comes to town on the same stagecoach as the Judges grandson. The little boy starts to have flashbacks about the murder of his father and the men responsible, putting him and his mother in danger.

Nemesis - Chris gets a lead on the men who murdered his wife and daughter.

Collector - a cattle baron is forcing people off their land, so an elderly woman rancher asks for help.

Manhunt - a missionary's daughter is kidnapped by an Indian brave who has escaped from jail after previously kidnapping the girl. Vin has a connection to the tribe and goes looking for them.

Inmate 78 - Chris is travelling on business and is arrested on trumped up charges. The rest of the gang must move fast to rescue him from the prison before it's too late.

Much has been made of the Hollywood executives' mindset that family westerns are a lower form of entertainment - and that is unfortunate. It is nice to be able to sit down with the family and watch something that you don't have to be worried about the verbal or visual content - good family entertainment. It appears that the executives were not happy about commissioning a western series at that time, saying that it was bound to fail as no-one is interested in westerns any more (perhaps they should remember that one of the most successful films of the late 1980s was Young Guns, or the cult status of the more adult show Deadwood which started in 2004).

The show was cancelled after only 9 episodes; it was only after the viewing figures picked up (via word of mouth as the companies would not put money into advertising) that the second season was commissioned. The second season sadly lasted only a further 13 episodes.

It is unfortunately that Hollywood still sees westerns as "B" movies rather than good entertainment like other genres of film and TV.

There are no extras, but there are English subtitles.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
This has got to be the best western series for a long time, and it was criminal the way it was cancelled. The guys are great to look at, the writing superb, and the overall feel of the show is fantastic. How on earth did the networks let a show and cast of this calibur get away? Buy this series, trust me, you won't be sorry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
i am so thrilled that they brought this series to DVD i have waited a long time for it!
the characters and stories are fantastic. its a shame that they never gave them all a chance to grow and give us a greater understanding of them all.
fantastic series, watch it u'll love it!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Westerns as I loved them as a kid. Great cast and good storylines all through. Anthony Starke as Ezra Standish and Ron Perlman as Josiah Sanchez were my favourites. You find yourself hooked as Michael Biehn as Chris Larabee tries to find who killed his wife and son.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)