Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regency murder mystery
Young nobleman Sebastian St Cyr finds himself framed for the violent murder of a young actress. Urged by his family to flee to continent, instead he goes into hiding in the more disreputable areas of London whilst pursuing his own investigation into the murder, ably aided by a surgeon from his army days, an ex-lover actress and a pick-pocket lad.

Very...
Published on 17 Feb. 2008 by aunti diluvian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of time
The positive: The author has an excellent style and draws the atmosphere of the period well, The plot itself is enmeshed in the Regency politics and has the reader guessing till the end. However the negative is the central character. It is not that he rather aloof and perhaps has the air of a tormented Mr. Darcy - it is that he comes from the wrong century. The author has...
Published 7 months ago by Patrick Mullane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regency murder mystery, 17 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Young nobleman Sebastian St Cyr finds himself framed for the violent murder of a young actress. Urged by his family to flee to continent, instead he goes into hiding in the more disreputable areas of London whilst pursuing his own investigation into the murder, ably aided by a surgeon from his army days, an ex-lover actress and a pick-pocket lad.

Very entertaining, with a good twisty plot and plenty of action. The complex politics of the era make an interesting backdrop and Sebastian St Cyr himself makes a very dashing lead,(if slightly too egalitarian to be a fully convincing Regency nobleman). The murder scene has a certain amount of gore, but nothing you can't skip over if squeamish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new favourite, 22 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In coming to the end of a series of historical crime novels which I had really enjoyed, I was on the outlook for a replacement. I have found it in the St. Cyr books. I like the period and became genuinely fond of the characters very quickly. Each book in the series has had me enthralled. I could have done with a little less gore - but the other aspects kept me involved and working out the threads which move from book to book.

Because of the latter point, do try to read the books in order.

Well done - a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Regency with a twist, 16 Jan. 2009
I have been immersed in the Regency period since the 1970's. If Georgette Heyer created a Regency world all of her own then C S Harris has done the same. Both remained true to the basic mores of the society they portray but each have imprinted them with their own individual stamp.

I love both worlds. C S Harris is a gifted writer who creates believable characters. Sebastian St Cyr is a troubled human being with a tormented past who nevertheless tries his best to do the right thing, frequently endangering his life to bring about justice.

Each new book is eagerly awaited, cleverly crafted and thoroughly enjoyed. I recommend the whole series to you. If you want a Regency with a little twist then these are the books for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of time, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Patrick Mullane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The positive: The author has an excellent style and draws the atmosphere of the period well, The plot itself is enmeshed in the Regency politics and has the reader guessing till the end. However the negative is the central character. It is not that he rather aloof and perhaps has the air of a tormented Mr. Darcy - it is that he comes from the wrong century. The author has imbued him, perhaps hoping to appease selective portions of the readership, with a societal and political outlook which would not be out of place in a Guardian subscriber, but this continuous anachronistic streak is out of place of Regency England. I'd probably read the next in the series due the the author's skill, but would not read a third if the same issues persist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, intelligent and spirited love interest, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Angels Fear: A Sebastian St. Cyr Mystery (Kindle Edition)
A handsome, cynical yet honourable hero? Check. A beautiful, intelligent and spirited love interest? Check. A winsome street urchin? Check. A dastardly villain who is really dastardly and a powerful 'eminence grise' lurking in the shadows? Check and check. Ms Harris ticks all the right boxes with her Sebastian St. Cyr books. Light fiction? Yes, but a jolly good read, enough to keep my attention to the end. A minor quibble is that in the course of the book Sebastian makes so many 'daring' escapes from his pursuers that in the end I couldn't help wishing that he would be a little less of a superman and just get captured and have done with it. However, a minor beef. I liked this enough to want to read further books in the series where I'm sure further character development awaits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the Curate's Egg - Good in Parts, 11 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes of this novel, based on the other reviews I have read of it, and the blurb on the jacket. Was I disappointed, well yes and no. The author has clearly done a lot of historical research and much of it shows - the atmosphere is evocative of London in the Regency period. But there do seem to be some glaring anachronisms. Would a Regency Lord have sworn using the word "F--k"? I will stand corrected but find it very unlikely. Similarly I am not convinced he would have said "screwing around" either. Using modern dialogue would have worked if it had all been modern but it was also littered with contemporary Regency slang and the two forms sit uneasily next to each other. Tom, the Cockney pickpocket befriended by Lord Devlin, talks in a strangulated cockney part of the time, and regular english the rest. When he decides to attach himself to Lord Devlin, he then makes a short speech explaining as his reason how he admires and values honour and honesty as taught him by his mother, deported as a criminal. oh Yeah. Similarly the heroine Kat Boelyn is supposed to be Irish with Irish sympathies. The only problem with this is that Boelyn is an English surname of French origins and not Irish at all.

The plot races along very fast and there are a lot of well written actions scenes, probably the best part of the book, as the hero flees from the Bow Street Runners and hides in London's underworld while trying to clear his name. This is all very readable, but to move the story along takes some clunky plotting by the author. There are several dialogues set pieces where various characters turn out to be in possession of essential facts for rather contrived reasons and then reveal these to the the hero for no very good reason. This makes the plot development rather contrived. The sex scenes are well written enough but frankly redundant. So a good background marred by the author's indecision on whether to use modern or contemporary dialogue and a good racy plot marred by some clunky plotting. One for the plane journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous new read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Angels Fear: A Sebastian St. Cyr Mystery (Kindle Edition)
From the very opening chapter my attention was held; as an introduction to the characters it has proved entrancing.
It is always a pity that the reader can consume books faster than they can be written! London is at the centre of the action the whole time; grimy, smelly and dangerous. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, couldn't put book down, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story grips you from the first page and by the end of the book you will be on of Sebastian's fans, can't wait to read his next adventure into the gripping world of murder and intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rarity:a good historical mystery and romance, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Paula M. Harris "bookworm65" (Western U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting characters, good plot, good history! What more could you ask? An absorbing read that is still light reading. Romantic without being cliched or silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So light to be weightless, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Historical crime novel set in London in the early 1800s. The hero, the villain(s), the harlot, the fog, the urchin, the Bow Street Runners, plenty of cheap gore, not too visual sex, history, politics, the chasings, the secrets all promise a great read for lovers of the genre. It is all there, written in a plain prose, characters lightly depicted, no inner torments analysed too in depth, always ready for action, the bad ones lose, the good ones win. London is rainy and grimy, the cobbles are wet and slippery and clothes reek of dampness and soot. The plot is easy to follow right from the beginning. A book to read while waiting in queues or on long journeys or to help you go to sleep since you can't stop yawning. Not a good historical novel in any sense - at all, more often than not verging on the ridiculous (as in the occurrence in chapter 7, or worse, in chapter 34 when the main character becomes a sort of Errol Flynn in one of his cloak and dagger films, or when the author makes him "... prop a hip on the edge of ...carved Jacobian - excellent spelling by the way - desk, one leg swinging back and forth as he levelled the Cassaignard flintock at ..." ). The prose is terribly banal and there are too many unnerving repetitions; there is no richness in descritption neither of the characters nor of the setting (another cringing feature was the name of an inn the hero at a certain point decides to frequent, so predictable). Basically the only likeable and honest character is the urchin Tom. Not to mention the disagreable name of the hero typical of bodice ripper books. It seemed written with no real feeling or understanding neither of the era nor of the place it is set in. Readers who enjoy good historical novels such as the Pike Mysteries or books by authors such as Lee Jackson might not like this one. I certainly didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews