Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boulders - Rock Masterpiece
Three stars, my a*** !! A definite five star album with Roy Wood at his peak of creativity. The album boast an array of styles and it changes by the track as indeed does Wood's voice. Nevertless it works as an album, as the theme running throughout is Wood's love of unusual instrumentation. Cello solos replace guitar solos, water drips replace percussion and double-speed...
Published on 5 Jun 2007 by Achilles

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roy plays every instrument - very impressive indeed!!
but i'm sorry, i just don't like the songs. There's not one that stands out for me...I have tried and listened to the album several times but it hasn't worked..I've just sent my copy of Boulders to a friend in Australia who loves Roy but has not heard the album, so will see what she thinks..

Would like to add that i love the Move - the albums 'Move' and...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by yerblues


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boulders - Rock Masterpiece, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
Three stars, my a*** !! A definite five star album with Roy Wood at his peak of creativity. The album boast an array of styles and it changes by the track as indeed does Wood's voice. Nevertless it works as an album, as the theme running throughout is Wood's love of unusual instrumentation. Cello solos replace guitar solos, water drips replace percussion and double-speed voices become a fanfare of trumpets.

Boulders is a classic studio album, and although it is about one man pushing himself to the limits of his ability and creativity, it still has warmth and a heart. Amidst the orchestra of instruments, well crafted songs shine through. . and in many instances the arrangements are simple and elegant. But when Wood goes over-the-top he really goes OTT, with the barogue 'Dear Elaine' one of the hit singles from the album, that boast a choir of Roy Woods!.

Roy Wood plays everything except a bit of harmonium on 'Songs of Praise'. I have never been able to work out why! Maybe if the album hadn't worked so well, Wood could have blamed the harmonium player!

It's said to have taken about four years to complete and coupled with the changing quality of each song, it has a timeless feel. It is quite simply one of those albums that everyone should have in their music collection.

Roy Wood also did the self-portrait for the cover. It's perfect! A classic album cover.

And to the other review. . it's Eddy and the FALCONS (Eddie the Eagle is the Skier!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 29 July 2007
By 
B. H. Brown "BHB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
Please remember that although this came out in 1972 it's a 60's album! It was recorded in the late 60's and put on hold for a few years due to The Move, ELO and Wizzard commitments. Think of the recording technology (or lack of it) available in those days. Who else was singing about computers (Miss Clarke and The Computer)way back then? It's a beautiful album, full of different styles. Can't wait to hear the re-mastered release next month!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 27 Aug 2007
By 
J. Preece (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
This album is bursting with melody, inventiveness and, like Roy Wood himself, fits into no known category. Pop? Rock? Folk? Charming, wistful, engaging, and, inevitably, catchy. Released in 1973, though recorded a few years earlier, it just shows how rich an age that was and how talented its stars were.
The CD brings out the voices well, although the percussion is probably too forward. It lacks the warmth of the vinyl, but that could just be my CD player. Only one bonus track - a mix of Dear Elaine without the weird trumpets on the finished version. At the end, Roy Wood says to the engineer, 'Was that okay?'
Genius was ever modest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Alan Houghton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
Roy Wood is pure genius. I had forgotten how good he really was especially in the context of what he was producing pre 1973. A one man masterpiece - singing, instruments, production, design - unbelievable all round talent. Boulders is a collectors must - a piece of pop history - and relatively cheap as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy rocks in 2007, 14 Nov 2007
By 
S. J. Hall "onesh" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
It's a long while since I listened to the whole Boulders album track by track. I have tracks across Roy's various hits CDs, but here together in Boulders I sense the CD of the year; 2007. The new remix is absolutley superb in every aspect. The variation of songs, the instruments and the new mix make this my best of the year so far. Even what I consider 'filler' tracks originally, they now all fit perfectly. This same year he had both Grandma Plays The Banjo and Jolly Cup of Tea. What great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite brilliant,better than I remembered!, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
To hear this again after 30 plus years was an absolute pleasure I had forgotten how good it was.This was an album which was unique in its time with a host of instruments to be heard,all self played,and a mixture of different music.Dear Elaine remains one of my all time favorites together with Forever which appears on the "Roy Wood Singles" album, also worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered!, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Boulders (MP3 Download)
I bought this 'LP' back when it was released in the early 70s, and realised that 40 years later some of the tunes were still stuck in my head! This is a brilliant collection of songs by a truly talented musician, in my opinion there isn't a bad one amongst them. I'm delighted that the remastered version is available, certainly one of the best downloads I've made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CREATIVE BURDEN UNLEASHED, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
A creative masterpiece and great fun.Clever arrangements,masterly musicianship, just try and predict how each song will play out.Wood's answer to SMILE but superior and more consistent in quality than Wilson's album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost gem, 8 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
Didn't buy this when first released. What a tragedy.
A fantastic album highlighting the genius of Roy Wood before he disappeared from view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Wood - wizard!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boulders (Audio CD)
Item delivered before estimated date, packaging secure. Great to revisit one of Roy Wood's best works, a sometimes sublime example of one of pop's most under-rated masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boulders
Boulders by Roy Wood (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews