Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE soundtrack!
I saw the film yesterday, and from the minute the credits start and the Maytals start wailing, I was hooked! Not only is the movie fantastic, the soundtrack is also truly great. As someone who grew up in the 80s era, the music and culture from the movie really strikes a chord and the song choices are a spot on mix of reggae, ska, punk and pop. The composed instrumental...
Published on 17 May 2007 by Dr. K. S. Chana

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the movie clips?????
The music's fine - the Ludovico Einaudi instrumental tracks particularly - but why, oh why, are there five dialogue tracks on this CD? You don't want to listen to them time after time!!! Also the listing as on this site when I bought the CD is wrong - there are only 24 tracks not 26 as shown - these two are missing: 17. Elgar: Pomp And Circumstance March No.1 In D Major +...
Published on 5 Jun 2007 by David Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE soundtrack!, 17 May 2007
By 
Dr. K. S. Chana "The Doctor" (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I saw the film yesterday, and from the minute the credits start and the Maytals start wailing, I was hooked! Not only is the movie fantastic, the soundtrack is also truly great. As someone who grew up in the 80s era, the music and culture from the movie really strikes a chord and the song choices are a spot on mix of reggae, ska, punk and pop. The composed instrumental music is just like the movie's counter-part scenes - powerful, haunting and emotive. See the film, then buy the soundtrack. The only downside (and a pet hate of mine) is the inclusion of movie dialogue - am I the only person that always skips past it!? Only Ezekiel 25:17 was worthy of putting onto plastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the movie clips?????, 5 Jun 2007
By 
David Jones (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The music's fine - the Ludovico Einaudi instrumental tracks particularly - but why, oh why, are there five dialogue tracks on this CD? You don't want to listen to them time after time!!! Also the listing as on this site when I bought the CD is wrong - there are only 24 tracks not 26 as shown - these two are missing: 17. Elgar: Pomp And Circumstance March No.1 In D Major + 19. Maggie Gave A Thistle - and the order of the others differs somewhat...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Great, 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I watched this great film the other day and picked up on so many good tracks in the film I decided to find the soundtrack. This is a really good price and arrived next day with first class. You can't get this album on itunes or listen to it on Spotify so I was really happy with the price. As said by other reviewers the dialogue doesn't add much but once imported into itunes you can always untick them. There is still more than enough for the money. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the memories, 11 Nov 2009
By 
R. P. Thompson (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
In all honesty I bought this CD purely for the Ludovico Einaudi tracks. I fell in love with the harsh grit of the film and the music certainly contributed to that.

I'm partial to some of the other tracks but really can only comment on the Einaudi tracks as I've listened to them about 50 times more than the others, passion, gusto and dark undertones fill those songs to the brim and overflow into the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Ride from the Past, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Loved everything about this CD - the songs, the dialogue, the memories. This CD evokes all sorts of emotions & a great listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The soundtrack you need, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
If you really lked the movie, it is likely that the soundtrack played its part in this! I can only recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD add it to your collection now, 4 April 2013
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
If you bought this CD its probably as a result of watching the genius body of works This is England from the hands of Shane Meadows, a brilliant portraits of the English working class in the 1980's. This is a fantastic sound track and if you've watched the truly beautiful series of works, you will identify the 'snippits' of actual dialogue which nestles between the music which we think helps to add depth & emotion. The tracks are a brilliant reminder of the great 80's sounds and If you have not been introduced to the works of Ludovico Einaudi then you really are in for a treat. Absolutely Brilliant CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is England soundtrack, 4 April 2013
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Love this soundtrack it's everything from the movie, & like stepping back in time! I would recommend this product if you like this genre of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Very happy to have finally brought this album. Its as fantastic as the films!I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of jazz, reggae, punk - or just good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When England was England., 8 Mar 2009
This review is from: This Is England Soundtrack (Audio CD)
If like me you grew up during the nineteen eighties.then you wll love this album. The film This is England brought back memories good and bad but when i watched it i was there agian,12 hole Dr Martins the lot.So if you loved the movie, you will love the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is England Soundtrack
This Is England Soundtrack by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews