Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
152
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2008
There are several parts to this game. There is a "test" covering 5 areas of mental agility: identification, memory, analytical ability, computational ability and visualisation. Each area has three games such as identifying a fragmented picture, recognising faces, choosing the correct rotating shape, deciding whether more red or blue balls have gone into a basket, choosing the odd picture out. Each game has 4 levels of difficulty from easy through to expert, giving you a reasonable variety of play. To sit the test you go through all the games and get an overall score in "brain weight" and a grade at the end. There is also a practice section which allows you to choose to play games individually at your desired level and earn medals (bronze, silver, gold and platinum).

In addition to this part of the game there are 3 "group" games. Some you can play on your own, other games allow you to play in turn with someone else, or in a head-to-head simultaneous sprint. The fun thing about some of these sections is that new games pop up to save you from the repetition of the main 15 games.

As a near 40 year old I quite enjoy this. My 4 year old son can play and enjoy some of the games that don't involve reading words. So, like other reviewers, I find that this can bridge the age-gap in electronic gaming.

My only concern with this game is the implication that in "training" your brain it is somehow going to make you more clever. I am a neuropsychologist and loathe the cod-science that suggests that the brain is like a muscle - the more you use it the stronger it will become. This is not founded in scientific fact. You can get a practice effect on whatever task you are doing - with these games the more often you play them, the more familiar they are, the faster you can complete them so your score increases. It's a distracting bit of fun, it's not going to make you more clever than you already are!

I can recommend this game as good family entertainment.
44 comments| 181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2007
Bought for £20 new and sealed. Easy to play but also fun and challenging. Not as hard as I expected as I find high scores are effected by the speed you answer with as opposed to the question itself being tricky. But, I guess that keeps the game quick and exciting. Very nice presentation, quirky and bright/clear. Good with a friend playing together or against one another. Good use of Mii characters resulting in extra laughs and overall charm. Defiantely one of the best 'mini game games' on the Wii. Nice variety in question types and a cool reulsts board that displays your strongest/weakest category. Fun to try and get better results and improve your mental weak points. Well worth buying, these sort of games should be released for less then standard retail price so it's good that this one was.
0Comment| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree takes the same basic structure as the first Big Brain game, which appeared on the DS just over a year ago. It's essentially a sequel to the original game because it doesn't duplicate the games found on the DS, but instead replaces them with a collection of new brain-teasing minigames. Now whilst the Wii doesn't need another mini-game collection, Big Brain Academy is different enough from the average WarioWare or Mario Party-style collection to find its own niche on the platform that players of the first game should find enjoyable.

The whole game takes place under the guise of making your brain bigger and heavier, which is, of course, complete nonsense. Unlike its counterpart, Brain Training, Big Brain makes no legitimate claim about actually improving your mind; Big Brain just lets you play minigames in random sequences and gives you a score at the end based on your performance. You can compare these scores with other players locally, and you can also send them over to your online friends so they can compare their scores with your scores.

The different games are broken up into groups named after the sort of brain training they're having you do, such as compute or identify. Each game is very simple to understand, as they intuitively use the pointing and clicking features of the Wii Remote. The Wii speaker is used both for encouragement and, in one neat minigame, as a phone. In that minigame, you must listen to customers ordering food and then duplicate their order on the screen. However, most of the minigames are more basic than that, such as one where a series of number-bearing balloons appear, and you have to pop them in order from lowest to highest. Another shows you four pictures and asks you to choose the pictures that fit different criteria. For example, if the game merely says "wings," you might find yourself clicking on a photo of a duck and an airplane, but not a gorilla or a swimmer. Right off the bat, the practice modes in the game let you go to town on 15 different games, but the other modes mix in games that don't appear in the practice menu, giving you a reason to skip around and try everything out.

Visually, Big Brain Academy has a basic but functional look to it. It's never flashy, but it also has a very clean and direct look, which fits with the school-like tone of the game. The Mii system is integrated into the game, so things like your student record book will have your Mii face on it. The audio is good as well. A fair amount of speech comes out of the Wii speaker, but most of it is just encouragement from a female voice that eggs you on as you play. The music and sound effects are also catchy and pleasant.

While fans of the Wii's other minigame compilations might find Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree a little more basic than the rest, the game stands apart by simply offering different types of slightly more thought-intensive minigames. It's not rocket science, but if you're after something slightly headier than the Mario Party-style of waving the Wii Remote around like a lunatic while mashing the A button as hard as you possibly can, you'll probably enjoy your time here, and the bargain price makes it all the more attractive.
0Comment| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2007
One of the best games I've bought for the wii so far. Me and my husband are constantly wanting to put it on to see who can win the most games this time, we've found the sprint when you race against each other the best. The games appear to be easy when first looking at them but once that clock starts ticking your mind goes to mush and they become harder than you think. Plus the fact that so many people can all play at once (up to nine depending on which game you select) means it can be a family affair. Well worth the money in my oppinion (especially if you get it at a reduced price)
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
Big Brain academy is a very fun brain-quiz. I bought it for my brother's birthday.My brother is the one down below. My favourite game is face-case. big brain academy is my second best game! Martha - age 7.

Big brain academy is a very helpful disc because it can help you with school (if you're a child obviously). I especially like the headmaster, he is very funny sometimes.My favourite game is match blast, it is quite easy for me when it's on hard but overall i'm an expert when it's on easy. You learn lots on this disc it is very fun. It also looks like a school! Harvey - 9 years old.
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2007
Definitely worth it for £20- otherwise not really.
It's great fun, alone or with a group!
There are some really fun tests which look great and it makes good use of the speaker on the Wiimote.

Only downers is that after a few hours playing, you get a bit fed up with the same tests. Also, the teacher on the game talks for ages, even using A to skip.

Still, for the cheap price which is absolutely right, its a great buy and great fun!
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2007
This is one of the better brain trainers and worth buying at this discount. The frustration arises from the amount of text that you have to click through to get anything much done. Once you're through the text, though, the activities themselves are ingenious and highly entertaining.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For under 20 quid, this is a real steal if you're the competitive type. I was sceptical upon first playing it - I didn't think it would have the longtivity of my other Wii games. However, I wasn't thinking through an open mind. This shouldn't be a game you'll play every day for hours. It should be a game you'll play 'once in a while', and i've found over the past month or two that I now love it for this!

With some simple, but bright-as-ever Nintendo graphics, fun tasks, and nice music/sounds, this is a real bargain that anyone can play.

(P.S I agree with those that fall asleep when the Jelly Baby Man talks! You can skip his speeches however by holding 'B' whilst pressing 'A' to skip a line of text.)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2007
At the current price you can't go wrong with this. It's an enjoyable game if not a little scarce on options. The graphics serve their purpose (it's always good to see the Miis being used) and are quite charming. The best feature is being able to compare your records with friends over WiiConnect24. It gives the game the extra dimension it needs to stop it becoming a little boring and dust gathering, and can turn a simple game into an extremely competitive and addictive experience.
If you're looking for a fun family game to kill a few hours on an evening I'd suggest purchasing this. But if you're someone who expects depth, substance and endless hours of challenge I'd certainly think twice about buying it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2008
I bought this for my Mum after she'd become addicted to Brain Training on my DS. We both love it - she's 50 and I'm 19. The different difficulty levels means that it's also great for younger players - from the age of about 10.

It's more friendly and cute than Brain Training and it also has a bit more variety which is great. It's good to play on your own but really fun to challenge someone else in a mind sprint.

My only criticism might be that there's a bit too much talking but it doesn't bother me that much.

It's definitly well worth the money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)