Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars42
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£34.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2008
I got this game for Christmas. I was really looking forward to it coming out in the UK as I am a huge Pokemon fan, but had never played on any of the Colosseum games, only the GB/GBA games.
When I played this game, it was definitely not a disappointment. I played this game non stop, unlike other reviews I think the graphic's are really good for the Wii. Another really good point to make about the game is the DS/DS Lite connectivity. This allows you to upload all your pokemon from Diamond and Pearl into the game and battle with them in the game, and buy (with the money earned from battling in the Closseums)and download items that can be used in Diamond and Pearl. Further more, you can battle with other players by using your DS/DS Lite which is very fun indeed! I also liked the fact that you could choose what your trainer looked like in the game, and buy items to customise their appearence using the money earned from battle. The online play is also really fun!
However there are some criticisms of this game. In my opinion it did not have much of a story line apart from the constant battling. The next criticism of the game is that it does not take that long to complete, and once you complete the game the only thing you can really do is do it again on different levels of difficulty unlocking new things from each Colosseum- personally I find that quite tedious.
Overall this game is a must have for any Pokemon fan. It is fun to play, and in my opinion has good graphics. Be warned, that to get the most out of the game you need Pokemon Diamond and Pearl on the DS/DS Lite.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2007
Let me say this first. This game is a massive hit in Japan. They ran out of copies in Tokyo faster than you can say Pikachu! I got a copy of the game and fell in love with it! Pokemon Battle revolution is the first Pokemon Wii game, a 3D battle simulator featuring all 493 Pokemon, using the wonderful graphics on the Wii.

Battle revolution is the first Wii game to link up with the Nintendo DS. Using your Diamond and Pearl game cartridges you are able to copy your caught Pokemon onto the Wii. Got a level 100 kyogre on Pearl? It could come in handy later on. There are also rental passes for use with those who don't have the DS games.
In the single player mode there are 10 coliseums:

* Gateway Coliseum
* Main Street Coliseum
* Waterfall Coliseum
* Neon Coliseum
* Crystal Coliseum
* Sunny Park Coliseum
* Magma Coliseum
* Sunset Coliseum
* Courtyard Coliseum
* Stargazer Coliseum

You can access these Coliseums as you progress through the game. Each leader of a Coliseum varies so as to test your skill as a player. There are 8 ranks of difficulty for each Coliseum. 3 unique Coliseums have extra modes!

Like Diamond and Pearl, Battle Revolution has a multiplayer mode. Friends with a DS can connect and battle in the Coliseums. Using a friend code you are capable of storing and battling with your friends via Wi-Fi connection. You can also have random online battle with anyone in the world. This is how to truly test your skill.

You can also make and completely customise your character that can look like you or nothing like you! These are then saved onto your battle pass and also used in online play.

You can also buy various items and after completion of the game, 3 unique and rare Pokemon become available to buy which can then be used in battle or copied onto your DS game.

Although there aren't any minis games or such, this is a fantastic game. Pokemon such as Mew, Celebi, Jirachi, Deoxys and even Arusceus the god Pokemon can be obtained and traded onto your DS. The graphics are great; the game play is great so when it comes out on December 7th many people will probably be off to their nearest game selling retailer to buy this great Wii game.
99 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
This game is not a platformer or an RPG of any type similar to the GBA or DS Pokemon titles. It is however a great game and does what the Pokemon titles are famous for (no! not collecting Pokemon) but battling, pure and simple. The game has all 493 Pokemon present in this game however to see most of them you will need to trade them from your DS copy of Pokemon Diamond or Pokemon Pearl. The only Pokemon you can use (outside of transfered ones)are Pokemon on rebtal passes which are usually a mixed bag and their strength and moves aren't always great. The sound is okay and there is also an announcer who announces the names of the Pokemon thrown onto the battlefield and amoungst other things.
The graphics are okay for a wii title, although not anything revolutionary but there are some minimum enhancements and upgrades compared to those of Pokemon Colosseum and XD. The 3D models of the Pokemon themselves i found, are better on the newer Pokemon than the old 386, they seem just like ports of the old models from the Gamecube games. That said they still look great with new move animations. You can customize your trainer with various accessories using points you've earned. The game has Wi-Fi and you also battle using your DS as a controler aswell as for trading Pokemon to your wii game.
In short, this game doesn't offer the story mode/battling elements both Colosseum and XD had but does focus on what any hardcore fan likes and that is to battle their Pokemon. Pokemon Diamond & Pearl i would say was 5 out of 5 the GBA games 4 out of 5 and because this is just battling and not much else just 3 out of 5. Only for hardcore fans i would say but otherwise an okay game.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Compared with most Wii games, the game graphics are good but the game itself was a bit boring and the attack graphics were rubbish, only a slight improvement of graphics for Wii than Pokemon games for the DS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2008
If you don't have a DS - DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!! If you have no DS data to copy over to your Wii you cannot make your own trainer, you cannot capture your own pokemon, you cannot evolve your own pokemon, you can't even level up pokemon! You just get to battle pointlessly and endlessly with the pokemon handed to you at the start (which you can't even choose). Really this is not a game in its own right. Its more of an expansion for the pokemon DS games.

The game does look like it could be fun if you had a DS but I don't see why they couldn't have made the first Wii pokemon title one which Wii owners could enjoy in it's own right? Daft. I took it back to the shop.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2008
I'm a massive fan of the pokemon games and am very happt to speak the truth on here. It is an accessory. I've played a few of the single player colosseums but that's it. There is no proper single player mode like in Colosseum and XD, there's no way to gain legendary pokemon like how you could get Ho-oh and Lugia in the Gamecube ones and it's nothing but battles. You're also limited to 2 trainer passes at the start (although that may change when you progress as I've only done 3 battles) and you'll need a DS to put more pokemon on.

The graphics are a joke. If you were expecting this to rival the best of the Wii - Super Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3 and Endless Ocean - then you're in for a shock. Like Mario and Sonic, the pokemon are clearly Gamecube models, but while Mario and Sonic has very nice environments going, this is all Gamecube. I wouldn't mind but this isn't even cutting edge Gamecube, e.g. Metroid Prime 1 and 2, Wind Waker, etc. The enhancement is much like the difference between an EA FIFA game on the same console or the 2 Gamecube pokemon titles. There's only a little obvious difference beyond Pokemon XD and while attacks like Flamethrower, Surf and Thunder look very nice, those animations seem to have been taken from other games while moves like Razor Leaf, Super Fang and Crunch have the same basic appearance as in the Gamecube games.

I haven't tried Internet battles yet so I don't know how it works but I imagine Diamond and Pearl are the better titles, even if they rely on bloody friend codes unlike Mario Kart DS which is still best for WiFi on DS.

So finally. Avoid this game unless you really live for the pokemon titles and want the 3D look. Sadly it doesn't feature the equivalent of the obvious graphical leap between Stadium 2 and Colosseum which is a great shame and the single player mode from previous games has been scrapped altogether resulting in only some pre-loaded colosseums but do not buy it new whatever you do. I bought my copy for £23 from Amazon.co.uk

I just hope that a sequel is on the way. The gap between the 2 Gamecube pokemon games was only a year so hopefully Nintendo are getting a sequel out this year that will offer us fans what we really want, and if their developer Genious Sonority aren't giving the 3D pokemon series the treatment it deserves, then hopefully Nintendo won't be loyal to them and get the team that should be there as I imagine there are many developers that would want to make the 3D pokemon game everyone wants.

I hope my review has helped.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Ok I'm going to talk in pokemon language. If you don't have a ds with Diamond or pearl this game will not be amazing. But if you are lucky enough to own a ds this game will be an amazing experiance. Without a ds you are limited to a 'rental pass' which consists on 6 LV50 pokemon usually the second stage of evolution (eg starravia and monferno). You can complete the game with these but the post game is rubish as pokemon suddenly become things like garchomp and legendaries. If you do have a ds and are sufficiently strong, you can blast through the story and have some fun with post story.
The Wifi is Great! Lots of people playing and you can even colect their 'custom pass' so you can battle with their pokemon in a free battle (very usful as alot of people have Lv 100 legendaries!)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Arrived in good time. Good condition, no issues and my 8 year old says it is a really fun game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
I saw a video of a battle on the game on the computer and wow! ! ! i love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
Avoid buying it if you don't have a pokemon game for the DS because you will get bored quick with only weak rental pokemon so unless you have a pokemon game approach with caution as you maybe disappointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)