Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Maelstrom of Emotions.
William Styron's epic novel "Sophie's Choice," is a magnificent tour de force from one of America's great writers. Through Styron's own very public battle with depression, which he courageously wrote about in his book "Darkness Visible", he had a deeper understanding of the dark places that the human mind can travel too. It was a book that he was well qualified to write,...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
slow but some great scenes
Published 1 month ago by sheilaa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
good movie enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking for this film for a long time. Very good purchase. Matched perfectly my expectations. Arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound, 5 Jan 2013
By 
J (Ripponden, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This is of course a fascinating film and this dvd is let down only by rather poor sound quality I am afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stars in a film that fails to shine, 9 July 2007
This review is from: Sophie's Choice [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
This film had all the elements to be a great film of our time. A great story with a narrative full of emotion. First rate performances esp from Streep but also Kline and McNichols. For some reason however this film did not gel well together despite the fine and wonderful performance there is an element of humanity lacking from the film. Streep's performance is superb and totally deserved her Oscar but by the end of the film I felt I had been cheated. Given the acting talent this film had going for it the whole package just seemed like a damp squid.
It is a good film but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The rest of the story, 5 April 2014
By 
Thomas Dunskus (Faleyras, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sophie's Choice [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The story told in this movie and in the novel upon which it is based may well have a true historical background, also related to the Auschwitz camp. As they used to say in the introduction to the old radio series "Dragnet", "the names have been changed to protect the innocent". The incident in question concerns the search for a man by the name of Rudolf Hoess, one-time commandant of the camps at Auschwitz and Birkenau. An article on the internet describes the methods used in the search and the results as follows:

[...]

"The British team went to Hoess’s wife and threatened her with handing over her oldest son to the Russians unless she revealed her husband’s whereabouts. Under pressure Hedwig Hoess gave the location where her husband was working as a farmer under the assumed name of Franz Lang. He was living in a barn. After he had been severely beaten and confessed to his true identity, Hanns Alexander arrested him and handed him over to the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, …"

In due course, Hoess was handed over to the Poles who hanged him in the former camp in April 1947.

It would be interesting to find out whether William Styron was aware of the circumstances of Hoess' arrest when he wrote his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I thought I had remembered this movie, but there was so much I had forgotten. Meryl Streep was fantastic; just great how she can imitate different accents. Very touching and yes, I cried again. A disturbing, beautiful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the DVD to get!, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Allan Foo Chuan How (Singapore.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who looking for Sophie Choice, this 25th Anniversary is THE ONE to get! Sound is in STEREO, no 5.1. Most important, it is in ANAMORPHIC WIDESCREEN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the boys, 6 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sophie's Choice [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
but an excellent film. Great acting - Meryl Streep is superb and deserved the Oscar. Sad story though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sophie's choice, 28 Nov 2009
This review is from: Sophie's Choice [1982] [DVD] (DVD)
Very long winded and not enough time dwelling on what had been Sophie's 'Choice'. Well acted and Meryl Streep is superb, as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT THAT GOOD, 6 April 2008
This review is from: Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this film for the second time and still have some reservations about it. Somewhat overrated regarding the acting of Meryl Streep I feel she didn`t always convince me. Very strong subject matter but failed to make me feel that involved with her and her sorrow. Loved the acting of the actor playing Stingo(having a senior moment can`t remember his name)
Felt for him a lot involved with two such troubled charaters as a young man finding his way in life. Gave the film 4 stars on the strength of his performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD]
Sophie's Choice (Special Edition) [DVD] by Alan J. Pakula (DVD - 2007)
3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews