Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House of Cyn!
It's quickly apparent that Julie Walters was the perfect choice for the part of Cynthia Payne, the girl-next-door prostitute who might actually be the girl next door. Having been immortalised as the hunchback dithering tea lady in `Acorn Antiques', it's easy to forget how naturally attractive she was in the `80s when she seemed to make a career from playing women who rise...
Published on 13 Oct. 2008 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
It arrived quickly and was in perfect condition just as described and sealed in.
Didn't find the film as good as wish you were here though.
Published 20 months ago by sarah


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars House of Cyn!, 13 Oct. 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
It's quickly apparent that Julie Walters was the perfect choice for the part of Cynthia Payne, the girl-next-door prostitute who might actually be the girl next door. Having been immortalised as the hunchback dithering tea lady in `Acorn Antiques', it's easy to forget how naturally attractive she was in the `80s when she seemed to make a career from playing women who rise from nothing using nothing but grit and perseverance.

The film shows the grotty side of the seedy houses and exploited women - but only briefly. The film becomes a dark comedy before turning into an all out `Carry On...' style farce. But once this goes, the story around her relationship with her son and dad helps to add depth once more.

Just as it seems that Terry Jones abandoned the more poignant aspect of prostitution in favour of a cheeky romp, we get a very symbolic ending which wraps the film up nicely.

In a nutshell: A film which shows Cynthia Payne as a victim, a hero, and at times the bully. This has an 18 certificate but today this would no doubt get a 15 rating, apart from the odd pair of boobs and some mentions of sexual acts - there's nothing to particularly offend. I can't help but think that this film presents the underbelly of British life better than many other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely hilariously kinky and excellent film., 10 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this film years ago, and wanted to buy my own copy of it, and I forgot just how hilarious it is, Julie Walters was perfect for this role; based on the life of the fabulous Cynthia Payne (who is in an interview in the Special Features section on the disc). From start to finish, the film will keep you on the edge of your seat - that is if you don't slide off it first... ;-) It was nice to see 'Blakey' (off the On the Buses TV programme) in it the film too, lmao! I nearly spat my drink all over the cat when I saw him!

The final scene in the courtroom is soooo entertaining!

A great film and one to definately buy - and to watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film years ago so decided to order it so I could watch it again. It's very naughty but not in a nasty way. Julie Walters,as usual,is fabulous and hilariously funny as is the whole cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty and very funny, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
S. C. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Can't recommend buying this enough. The humour is hilarious and the acting very good too, especially by Julie Walters - hence the 5 star rating given by me. It's about a brothel owner (Julie Walters) who attracts some high profile customers. It is inspired by real life events witnessed by Cynthia Payne, who herself ran such an establishment. It is for adults only as the age restriction depicts as very sexual in content. Don't expect loads of naked bodies though as its more about the humour focussed around sexual preferences. There is some very recognisable actors and actresses too in this, which adds to the good acting in this comedy. To be honest I can't think of any negative comments to make about this film. A classic example of great british humour, and our attitudes towards sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Services DVD, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this film! What more can I say, we laughed, we laughed our rudy heads off. This film is a classic of it's genre and I do heartily recommend viewing it. Top draw!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and Interesting Viewing, 14 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting take shaped round Madam Cyn.

Still am curious to find a video autobiography on the woman. But this is an amusing distraction. Captured the British spirit perfectly! Watched it over and over again x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this films many moons ago and I was discussing films with some colleagues at work and Personal Services came up in the conversation. We had each other in fits of laughter over the scenes we could remember. I decided to buy a copy and was delighted I did as it is just as funny as I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nudge Nudge Wink Wink Grows Up, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The English tradition of 'nudge nudge wink wink' comes of age in this film based on the career of a British socialite who provided discreet services mostly to males in the privileged classes.

Julie Walters brings humour and a touch of pathos to this role and is supported by a skilled cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the life story of Cynthia Payne!, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
C. J. Lowrey "chrislowrey452" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This film is good adult entertainment that clearly states it is not the life story of Cynthia Payne!

It is a film of a purely adult nature. It is humorous throughout with good characterisation.

Is it a true story? Well that's up to you!

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Julie Walters at her best, this film has kept me amused for years. I remember when the fuss over Cynthia Payne first erupted and have watched this film periodically over the years and never get bored with it. My VHS tape was beginning to show signs of wear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD]
Personal Services (Special Edition) [DVD] by Terry Jones (DVD - 2007)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews