Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and surprisingly moving look at the story of Jesus' birth
When you're talking about film adaptations of the story of Christ's birth, the old rubric "if you've seen one, you've seen them all" just does not apply. That is especially the case with The Nativity Story, a truly wonderful film that conveys great spiritual power, even as it brings home the humanity of Mary and Joseph to a degree few of its predecessors ever even...
Published on 6 July 2007 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars feed back
What can one say not a block buster but it tells the story ideal for the grandchildren not a bad dvd.
Published 2 months ago by raymond lucas


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The loveliest film. Very moving. Highly recommended., 24 Nov 2011
By 
S. Morrison "SUZAN" (HIGHLANDS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I saw this on channel 4 the Christmas before last and have thought about it often. Was thus delighted to notice it for sale on amazon and have passed it round a number of christian friends who have also loved it. Great cast, sensitively written and beautifully acted. Just lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Nativity Story, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
With an epic music score throughout and a powerful almost poetic script, The Nativity Story is a beautiful moving image accurately and emotively re-telling the greatest story known to man.

The casting was fantastic; each character was exactly as you'd assume them to look. The cast worked closely with each other and the emotions they put across to the audience were very believeable.

Keisha Castle-Hughes performance was particularly stunning.

I thoroughly reccomend to those with and without faith alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Family, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
An excellent representation of the Nativity, with evocative atmosphere and true to the Gospels. St Joseph especially is brought to life by the actor's beautiful performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nativity story, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This is a good story of our lords birth but misses out on the majisty and special gravity of this ocation.
Still worth seeing but you cant beat the original story in the Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really well done adaption of the Nativity story, beautifully shot and faithful to the gospel accounts, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I loved this film. I watched it on Boxing day and it will be a Christmas favourite from now on. It managed to hold my attention, and the cinematography was beautiful. The actors and scenery looked authentically 0BC Jewish and the story kept to the gospel accounts very well. Where it added to it I thought it was really thoughtful and helped me to think of the consequences of what happened, particularly Mary's family's reaction to her pregnancy, and the difficulties of living at that time.

The only slight negative was that sometimes the scenes were shot with 20th Century cultural values, e.g. Mary's reaction to an arranged marriage. However this was rare and at least it made me think.

The chemistry between Mary and Joseph was lovely and the birth scene was very moving. I was really surprised how good this film is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "the humble state of his servant", 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
The Nativity Story captures the "humble state of his servant" Mary and her husband Joseph in the clothes they wear, in the manual labor both are employed in, and by the furnishings in the interior of Mary's parent's home. The unsettling frustration of "arranged marriages," comes through well, as does the insecurity and servitude created by the Roman government. Some critics say that Keisha Castle-Hughes is too unimotional. She relects the Biblical description given by Saint Luke of an introverted Mary, saying, "Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart."
Catherine Hardwicke stoops to the error of tradition when dealing with the wise men. She has one point in NOT calling them Kings, as one well-known Christmas carol falsely propagates. However, it is naive, even ridiculous to think that wise men would travel across hostile territory over a period of months with 5 camels and 3 camel boys. In Saint Matthew's gospel chapter 2, verse 3 it says that Herod "was disturbed, and all Jerusalem with him." These men made a stir in a political, economic, and religious city that was used to visits from foreigners since the days of king Solomon. There were more likely 50 camels and men than 5!
Saint Matthew tells us too, "After Jesus was born in Bethlehem . . . Magi from the East came to Jerusalem and asked, 'Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews,'" It was AFTER the Magi came that Herod started worrying about a King that would replace him. He "called the Magi secreatly and found out from them the exact time the star appeared." Why? So that he could kill all the baby boys born after that date. Herod's soldiers were not pediatricians and couldn't be counted on to determine the exact age of each boy, so he no doubt gave himself a large margin of error. Considering that Jesus was from 6 months to a year old (the time it took the Magi to travel to Bethlehem), Herod had all the boys up to 2 years old killed. The Magi didn't find a baby Jesus in a stable, (sorry for the traditional error) but a child in a house. It was in a dream that the wise men were warned not to return to Herod. It was at this time that the angel told Joseph to flee to Egypt, not the same night the soldiers came to kill the babies.
Aside from these persistant, traditional, incongruant errors, The Nativity Story is still the best I've seen on the subject, and worth seeing. I found it worth purchasing the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nativity story, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Well worth buying. An interesting view of the impact that expecting Jesus had on Mary's life and her relationship with friends, family and God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus' Birth, 1 May 2010
By 
Socrates (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
This movie is a presentation of Jesus' birth from a deeply moving human perspective in a society that had very strict rules on morality and the institution of marriage. A young bride to be, already betrothed to a husband, becomes pregnant by another . . . . . . a sin that demands a death sentence . . . . . What an amazing story! Whether you are Christian or not -- see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE START OF SOMETHING NEW, 5 Mar 2010
By 
lovelovesme (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
THIS MOVIE IS GREAT FOR ALL THE FAMILY!IF YOU WANT TO RESTORE THE TRUE VALUE OF CHRISTMAS BACK TO YOUR FAMILY THIS IS DEFFINATLY THE PLACE TO START! THIS HIGH QUALITY MOVIE WILL DEFFINATLY CAUSE YOU TO EAITHER START A JOURNEY OR SPUR YOU ON IN THE JOURNEY OF TRUTH/MEANINGFULLNESS.MY THREE CHILDREN AND I ADORE THIS TESTIMONY OF LOVE TO THE WORLD.WE HIGHLY RECCOMEND IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best nativity film., 22 Jan 2010
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
I think this is the best nativity film I've seen. It realistically portrays the emotions that often get glossed over in other dramatizations. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006)
The Nativity Story [DVD] (2006) by Catherine Hardwicke (DVD - 2007)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews