Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black and White and Fun
Way back in the seventies, long before the "fun police" decided what we should not be watching, there were a variety of good, entertaining and very funny programmes on tv. Remember 'Mixed Blessings', 'Curry and Chips', 'The Black and White Minstrel Show' and of course 'Love Thy Neighbour'. Then along came the so-called "politically correct" brigade, a pathetic minority of...
Published on 18 Dec. 2010 by George Field

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
not had yet
Published 5 months ago by paul seaward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black and White and Fun, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Way back in the seventies, long before the "fun police" decided what we should not be watching, there were a variety of good, entertaining and very funny programmes on tv. Remember 'Mixed Blessings', 'Curry and Chips', 'The Black and White Minstrel Show' and of course 'Love Thy Neighbour'. Then along came the so-called "politically correct" brigade, a pathetic minority of narrow-minded people who seemed to be devoid of any sense of humour, who promptly had these shows banned to avoid upsetting the ethnic viewers.
Who in their right mind could find anything objectionable in L.T.N.? Look at it closely and you can clearly see the respect that Bill and Eddie have for each other. Sure, they hurl insults at each other continually, but there is always that underlying almost affection they hold for each other. The scripts maintain a high standard and it reflects real life, with the Tory vs Labour ; white vs black relationships. But, ALWAYS done without any malice. There is an equal balance of insults, indeed quite often Eddie comes off worse. (So should the white viewers be offended?) The whole show is a very funny snapshot of the great melting pot of life and if we all behaved like Bill and Eddie, the world would be a better place. OK it is maybe a bit dated, but it still stands out as one of the funniest UK sitcom series ever. If you can't laugh at it, you can't laugh at life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political correctness....Who cares, just have a good laugh, 7 Oct. 2007
By 
Fatboy (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I have previously bought all the other Love Thy Neighbour DVD's and pre ordered this one.

Sadly this program would most likely not be shown now due to this countries crazy political correctness. Watching it was like a breath of fresh air compared to the crap sterile stuff we have now, this was made when people did not have to watch every word that they said so as not to heaven forbid 'offend someone', this show is full of classic one liners, this is comedy at its best and like I have said it is like a breath of fresh air. A MUST BUY in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Actually Season 5!, 1 April 2015
By 
Wayne Fisher "Waydel Music" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The problem here is Freemantle released the 8 DVD collection and classed each as a Season/Series. The confusion arises with Series 4 which ran from 12.12.73 to 25.03.74, a run of 15 episodes including the final episode called 'April Fools' which has never appeared on DVD. For some reason Freemantle split this into two seperate Seasons/Series calling it Series 4 & 5. This means all future seasons are one season out, Season 6 is actually 5, Season 7 is actually 6 and Season 8 is actually 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
this has got to be a classic some thing that will never be shown on the tv ever again which is a shame as its so funny my 15 year old son loves it says he as never seen anything as funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joan's visitor, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD again is made in the seventees when things were a lot more lenient the cast are Nina Baden Semper and the popular actor now in another popular sitcom East Enders, Rudolph Walker. One of the story's is about when an old boyfriend of Jack's wife Joan comes to see her and tell's her that after a long time of being a bachelor he is getting married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit funny, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted this as it reminded me of years ago when I watched it,its funny and reminded why I liked it,it might not be to all tastes now as though it was harmless it can be OTT for some with the race issues..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Often we look back through rose tinted spec's , and when we watch again were disappointed , you won't be with this, just great :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
again for a friend in exchange for some gardening this is his favorite comedy of all times cant beat the old ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 12 Dec. 2009
By 
Luke J. Harwood "L J" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this on t.v when i was a small child. It's very funny but it is VERY VERY RACIST on both sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i laugh myself to death, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I have collected all the dvd's i think they are all very funny,so politically incorrect but truthful(in some areas) this was poking fun and twisting racism,sexuality and politics.Bill was just as bad as Eddie. At the time it was pure genius,however this will never be shown on T.V such a pity i think some people would learn from it and see the funny side of it instead of jumping upon the PC bandwagon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD]
Love Thy Neighbour - Series 6 - Complete [DVD] by Jack Smethurst (DVD - 2007)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews