Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another adaptation - and this time it's even better.
The series opens with a fantastic dystopian opening, an apocalypse introduces a back-story and emphasises that the burdon of future peace lies with The Guyver. This isn't particularly relevant to the first four episodes, but it sets the scope of what is to come.

For those familiar with the original animated series there are many similarities, not just...
Published on 10 Jun 2008 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
Those of you who have seen the original series may be disappointed with this new one.
The new one looks as if its geared more towards younger viewers due to the look of the animation and the reduced violence.
The music in the original had more atmosphere and sounded a lot better.
The animation in the new series seems less sharp and many of the characters...
Published on 24 Aug 2007 by Jeremy Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another adaptation - and this time it's even better., 10 Jun 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The series opens with a fantastic dystopian opening, an apocalypse introduces a back-story and emphasises that the burdon of future peace lies with The Guyver. This isn't particularly relevant to the first four episodes, but it sets the scope of what is to come.

For those familiar with the original animated series there are many similarities, not just plot-wise, but the characters are faithful to previous incarnations. I suppose this should be no surprise considering that both are based on the initial graphic-novel, but this new series spans twice the number of episodes to delve further into the Guyver legend and develop the story fully.

The artwork is fantastic, with lush forests, sunsets, and suburbia all well represented. The animation is smooth, and the still images are detailed enough to convey exactly what is needed. The animation really communicates across the sheer power of the Guyver unit, especially when the Mega Smasher weapon is used. It doesn't look as though excessive compression has been used, so action scenes and highly detailed imagery maintain a high quality finish.

This isn't just about violence and scenes of destruction. There's a touching story of loyal friendship to underpin the series, and family relations to worry about. These first four episodes introduce the main characters: The teenage friends; Sho (who has the Guyver unit), his friend Tetsuro, and Tetsuro's sister Mizuki (whom Sho rather fancies). These episodes centre around Sho and Tetsuro, it's good to see that the episodes don't centre too much on the Guyver unit, but instead focuses on the impact it has on the relationships it touches.

By the end of these four episodes we learn what the Guyver is (an organic, all robot-like protective shell which gives the user great powers), how many exist, and what powers it gives the barer. It's a good introduction to a story and leaves you wanting more.

In a nutshell: Probably the best introduction someone could have to the Guyver franchise, and a good start for anyone wanted to get in Anime. As always I'd recommend watching this in Japanese with English subtitles, but there's a dub for those who'd prefer that. The special features do justice to the series and there's even a fan commentary and a booklet. All in all a very impressive package for four fantastic episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guyver gets an update, 10 Sep 2007
By 
L. Fontenoy "Fonzy" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I first came across the guyver in the mid-late 90's. When i saw it i thought it was the coolest thing i had ever seen.

When i heard that ADV where remaking this classic i thought, how can they update this to even compare to the original? But i have to say they pulled it off, and very well.

The new animations are slick and smooth, and the fight scenes are seamless. The old 80's clothes and hairdoos have gone, replaced with more slick, up to date styles. Basically this new version rules.

The reason i only gave it a four star is because (as many of you have stated below) the fight scenes and gore aren't as detailed as the old version. It has been downgraded from an 18 to a 15, but im my opinion it's still one of the best Anime's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it! buy it now!, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
After hearing they were remaking the series I got very excited. I've seen the origanals many years ago and thought they were brilliant. How does the new series compare? Much better, with some minor alterations to storyline and script at the behest of it's original creator, fuels this to be better than it's predecessor. Storyline is well written and comes along at just the right pace. Charecters are compeling. Action sequences are done well by the director and well animated. This was a good anime, now it's a great anime. This is one of all time favourites and would reccomend it to anyone. Exceptional stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars guyver the next stage, 8 Jun 2007
By 
M. P. Hancock "ronso rage" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
first of all let me say i was a huge fan of the ova guyver series so this has had a lot to live up 2 the animation is great i have only watched the first volume of this new series and it seemed sum wot rushed the violence has been watered down as has the bad languge. but the start has blown me away the characters have more of a background and guyver 2 lisker has 2 fights with sho and new characters have been introduced final note this is a brilliant new series cant wait for the next installment would highly recormend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New face of Ultra Violence... Not Quite!, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Well the story has teenager Sho get infected by a bioweapon turning him into a "Guyver" the Bioboosted Armour, then the story takes off from there with an evil Corporation called Cronos looking for the Guyver. This first volume serves as a great introduction to an awesome show and ADV have really done themselves proud with it's release and an excellent English Dub.

The animation and video quality is excellent with detailed imagery that really brings out all the details in the enviroments. Though there calling it "the new face of Ultra Violence" and from what I've seen it still has to live up to it, hopefully the rest of the anime will live up to the name.

Extras:
Guyver Monster File Booklet 1
Anime to Manga Comparisons
Commentary for episode 1
Clean Opening and Ending
Production Art
ADV Previews
Volume 2 Preview
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 24 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Those of you who have seen the original series may be disappointed with this new one.
The new one looks as if its geared more towards younger viewers due to the look of the animation and the reduced violence.
The music in the original had more atmosphere and sounded a lot better.
The animation in the new series seems less sharp and many of the characters have oversized noses. Both dubbed and subbed versions are available on this dvd. The dubbed version is probably the inferior one and some characters appear to have scottish accents...
I only saw the original series in its dubbed version on VHS, but that was a whole lot better than this version (subbed and dubbed). I would highly recommend renting this before making a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great DVD a must get and should get more, 2 Jun 2008
By 
R. Lovejoy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I got my copy and i love it nothing was missing and the episodes are great if you are a guyver fan this is for you and get the rest of the series you cant go wrong with guyver the bioboosted armour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY GOD!!!!!, 22 Jun 2007
By 
C. D. Mitchell "freaky_boy102" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
When i first watched the original OVA years ago I loved it. The story was extremely original and the animation was extremely professional and ground breaking for its time. The voice acting was a little bit hammy in the english dub but it was still an excllent tail. When I first heard there was going to be a new version of the series I thought it was going to be terrible so i wasnt too excited about it. but then saw a review of it on the net and found that actually it was just as good good if not a little bit better than the original. the animation quality is much better, the voice acting is much more professional and the story has been vastly expanded and revised with more characters from the orginal book. i loveed it from the first time i watched it. This is an erxcellent example of japanesse animation at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New updated version. Guyver is better than ever!, 17 May 2007
By 
S. James "Thought Thief" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I first came across Guyver years ago when you had to buy the original OVA on video Cassette in 1989. I had never seen a cartoon of it's like and back then it was cutting edge stuff, with the amount of blood and the adult themes covered in the Anime. I always loved it and last year decided I would get it on DVD, after years of waiting to get my hands on it. Like a lot of Anime that I used to watch back then, I had to buy it from the US on Region 1. (UK needs to get their act together). In my search for the OVA I found the new series, which at the time was only available in Japanese. I got the Japanese version, but the English subtitles were awful and made no sense what so ever. But the Anime looked good, and went a whole lot further than just the 12 episodes of the OVA.

Anyway, I'm now onto volume 4. (I've been buying the volumes as they have been released in the US) Common sense tells me I should wait for the box set to come out where it will be more cost effective, but I can't wait. If you're a fan of the Original, get this now! You won't be disappointed. Maybe it's not as gory as the OVA, but it is better animated, and the voice actors for the English version are superb! It's 26 episodes long, and hopefully they will do a second series. I know I'd buy it.

For those of you that know nothing of The Guyver, get the Anime that really opened up Japanese animation to the West. The story is great, with seeds of corporate corruption by a company called Chronos and their plans to take over the world. Find out how Shô Fukamachi becomes the Guyver and must fight for his life and those that are close to him against Zoanoids sent by the evil Chronos Corporation. It's also the number 1 anime in the US right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goku vs Guyver, 23 Aug 2007
By 
M. P. Bloomfield "akuma" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the original was good but this is awsome!!! If you know what the original you know what this is about but if you dont ill explain briefly. its about a Boy named Sho Fukamachi and his friend stumble anlong down to the pond they come across a round alien like object. While looking at the object it jumps on Sho and then he becomes THE GUYVER!!! Thats all ill say about the story because from there on out it becomes amazing. Moving on. I bet your wondering why my review on this is called Goku vs Guyver. I called it that because they should do a Goku vs Guyver and because Some of guyvers moves are very similar to gokus moves youll see what i mean when you see his Mega Smasher its very similar to Gokus Kamehameha.If you dont know who Goku is hes the main character from The extreamly famous and good Dragonball z and surely you must know what that is

The best bits:
There are loads of fighting scenes.
You see the Mega Smasher 3 times and trust me you never get bored of it

The worst bits:
The first episode is quite boring

But all in all This is a great anime for you anime collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD]
Guyver - The Bioboosted Armour Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] by Katsutoshi Akiyama (DVD - 2007)
£13.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews