Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure at first but then came to love it.
This film is wild,crazy,gory and brilliant. For me the array of characters is very watchable, at first i disliked the 3 neo nazis but grew to like them, Ray Liotta and Ryan Reyonlds are great and so is alicia keys.
This is one to watch with your mates around for a bit of a laugh and gore.
loved it 5/5
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by George

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice gun, shame about the film
Buddy 'Aces' Israel is hiding from the mob in the penthouse suite of a Lake Tahoe casino. He's got a $1 million price tag on his head for grassing to the feds. Everyone wants him dead apart from two FBI agents, played by Ryan Reynolds and Ray Liotta, and their boss, Andy Garcia. The various would-be assassins include characters played by Ben Affleck, Alicia Keys & Taraji...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure at first but then came to love it., 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
This film is wild,crazy,gory and brilliant. For me the array of characters is very watchable, at first i disliked the 3 neo nazis but grew to like them, Ray Liotta and Ryan Reyonlds are great and so is alicia keys.
This is one to watch with your mates around for a bit of a laugh and gore.
loved it 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frantic and Violent Crime Caper, 28 Dec 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
When Las Vegas magician Buddy 'Aces' Israel agrees to testify against his mob boss pal, a bounty of $1,000,000 is placed upon his head, attracting every hitman (and woman) in the free world. Word soon gets out that Israel is holed up in the penthouse suite of a Lake Tahoe hotel and FBI agents Reynolds and Liotta frantically try to get to him before wave upon wave of bail bondsmen, bounty hunters and assassins get there first.

Smokin' Aces seems to get generally poor reviews which suprises me because it is actually a very entertaining film. I think people are getting tired of the Taratino-esque crime caper but this film has an original edge to it that makes it worth watching. The characters are great and grotesque at the same time, from Alicia Keys' solid performance as a stone cold assassin, to Reynolds and Liottas feds, to the Tremor brothers and other assorted murderers. The screenplay is pretty cool too ("Don't let my face be the last thing you see. Heaven may hold it aginst you"). The film is very frantic from beginning to end and incredibly violent. The major let down is the convoluted ending that tries to add a twist to proceedings that really wasn't necessary.

Like this? Try: Things to do in Denver when you're dead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..A BLAST OF A MOVIE..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
If you love gunplay, action and violence and massive shootouts and hot women then look no further because this film has them all. With an all-star cast who give good performances this is certainly one good movie worth checking out even if it's for the massive showdown at the end, great stuff at this price well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice gun, shame about the film, 19 Nov 2007
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Buddy 'Aces' Israel is hiding from the mob in the penthouse suite of a Lake Tahoe casino. He's got a $1 million price tag on his head for grassing to the feds. Everyone wants him dead apart from two FBI agents, played by Ryan Reynolds and Ray Liotta, and their boss, Andy Garcia. The various would-be assassins include characters played by Ben Affleck, Alicia Keys & Taraji Henson, as well as Common and Jason Bateman, among others. There are attempts to mimic Quentin Tarantino's style in the overall violence and action but it's nowhere near as clever or as memorable. The only worthwhile scene is the one in which two female snipers (Henson & Keys) use a near-unbelievable .50 calibre gun to kill someone from a mile away. So save 110 minutes of your life, and some cash, and just watch the trailers and extracts on YouTube (e.g. "Smokin' Aces - The Girls"). The film as a whole is messy, low-rent and utterly forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smokin' Aces, 24 April 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Even though there are some scathing reviews here I actually thought `Smokin' Aces' was not that bad. OK, it is pretty mindless stuff, but it doesn't try to be anything high brow or intellectual. It is marketed as a guns blazing, mob related film and that is exactly what it is. Buddy `Aces' Israel is under police protection and the Mob take out a million dollar bounty on his life. Numerous unscrupulous characters fight their way to be the one to take the bounty and much gun toting and violence ensues. There is a good cast here, with many well known names and all act decently; there is nothing worthy of an Oscar, but nothing truly cringe making either. There is a slight twist in the tale and although I guessed it half way through, it still made for an interesting way to end the film. If taken at face value this film has plenty to keep you watching and entertained and although it isn't ground breaking or exceptional film making, it isn't dire either. A solid and respectable 3 stars.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining and fabulous cast and storyline, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
I am surprised to see such a low rating from other customers, as I was totally blown away the first time I watched this film. I thought the intertwining storylines and calibre of actors really drive the storyline and pace of the film, and the action scenes are also superb. I loved this film, and I think most action fans will agree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good romping fun, 7 Jun 2008
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
entertaining shoot em up full of extreme violence and shoot outs, this will pass the time well enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD came on the date it was supposed to and it worked perfectly . very happy . Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There's a good film in there somewhere, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels was the first film I saw which involved multiple sets of characters going about their - murderous - business, independently of each other, only for their paths to eventually cross. There may be other movies before Lock Stock which have used a similar model, but I can't name them right now.

Since then, both America and Britain have produced more of the same sorts of gangster movies. Smoking Aces is one such film. Only this time we add the FBI into the mix as they try to save potential informant Buddy `Aces' Israel from being assassinated by several different contract killers.

I've watched Smoking Aces three times now and each time I find I've forgotten what it's all about (or the finer details and plot twists). I'm not sure whether it's a good thing or not that a - quite complex - film leaves my memory so quickly. Either way, I do enjoy it, even though it probably could be better.

With any film which utilises many characters, you can expect the story to never be able to do every last one of them justice. Many of the hitmen are simply one-dimensional tools, used to move the plot (or what little plot there is) forward.

Perhaps Smoking Aces is a victim of its own aspirations. It tries to be incredibly complex, but ends up being a bit confusing if you're trying to follow it too closely. Either way, it's a daft, fun film that shouldn't be taken too seriously. If you like your gangster films gritty and violent - and aren't bothered by a few plot inconsistencies - give it a go. It's not half as bad as some of the other reviewers are making out. It's no classic, but it's worth a watch nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU WANT OF PIECE OF THIS?, 8 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smokin' Aces [DVD] (DVD)
In this film a contract is but out on "Buddy" Israel (Jeremy Piven). All the big hitmen are involved. The movie introduces them all to us except for "The Swede" who remains a mystery. Ray Liotta and Ryan Reynolds play FBI men assigned to protect Buddy. Buddy is the "white whale of snitches." He is also an illusionist, so immediately you wonder how that will factor into the film. Going after Buddy is not going to be easy. It will be like going after "Fort Knox with a slingshot."

The humor is hidden and moves quickly. Ryan Reynolds talks about plastic surgery of a mobster to Ray Liotta and says "Every has-been in Hollywood hasn't had this much surgery." Liotta has been suspected of having a lot of work done, but denies it. I like the way the scenes blend into each other. For instance, two people will shake hands to seal a deal, this then moves into a scene with two people shaking hands greeting each other. The lawyer trying to act hip was funny. In order to get the million dollar bounty, the hitmen will also eliminate their competition. Buddy is held on a secret hotel floor and everyone knows where it is located.

Good action/comedy. Quirky characters. Plot that moves quickly. The sequel is better. Major plot twist at the end, but who cares?

F-bomb, nudity, no sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smokin' Aces [DVD]
Smokin' Aces [DVD] by Ben Affleck (DVD - 2010)
1.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews