Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Boys So Far!
This DVD is the best so far, all the funny challenges are here. The only thing is the editing, why have they split the challenges in half. You start watching one and then it cuts to another and then back to the first one!!! Why?????

Apart from that - brilliant!

Tracie
Ruislip
Published on 25 Nov 2007 by Mrs. T. Jeffery

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great content, pity about the presentation.
Content: excellent - five stars. Admittedly it is only as seen on the television - there are no extras of any kind, which is a shame, but the challenges are presented as seen on television in their insane glory.

Presentation: atrocious - can I actually give a negative rating to this? The challenges, rather than being presented in order, are intercut, with no...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by Ian Bassett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great, relaxing, fun viewing., 7 Jun 2009
By 
K. Kontos (Piraeus, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
This has truly got to be one of the most enjoyed DVDs in my collection. I can safely say that even people that could not care less about motoring are going to have a blast watching this collection.

Script, presentation, music, photography all are top notch. The challenges themselves are fun and inventive events, and are handled with boyish enthusiasm by the cast.

Top Gear is not only a great show about cars but this DVD proves it's just a great show overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD let down by bad organising, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Jeevaka K. Weerasena (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching this DVD seeing three lovable idiots (Clarkson, Hammond & May) doing what they do best. The only problem is that the clips haven't been organised properly.

So it's not a great Top Gear DVD, but it's not bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Top Gear!, 2 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Jeremy, Hamster, Captain Slow and The Stig taking part in some of the best challenges they have set on Top Gear, including a rocket launched "Robin", the first attempt at amphibious cars, and the race from Italy to London with a truffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarity, 1 Dec 2008
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable antics as usual and top marks for the entertainment value but as with the other reviewers I found the setup a bit disconcerting and frustrating .Why BBC why ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great content, pitiful DVD compilation, 15 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Yep, same problem here - the challenges are 'interleaved' such that one challenge is interrupted halfway through by the start of the next challenge, which is in turn interrupted halfway through by the resumption of the first challenge, after which the second challenge resumes..... you get the picture. But if this wasn't bad enough, the beginning of each chapter isn't even aligned with the start of a challenge, or even the start of one 'section' of a challenge.... aaaaaargh!

Just as well then that the content is so utterly hilarious.

BBC please take note and make a better job of presenting "Challenges 2"!

It's two-and-a-half stars really - five for content and zero for presentation - but I wouldn't want to put anyone off unduly, as it's still worth fighting the DVD to get the very enjoyable programme out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing............, 12 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD footage is EXACTLY the same as what was shown on TV.

Why couldn't they add some extra footage just for the DVD??? They must have had miles of footage from when they recorded the challenges, would an extra five minutes worth per challenge hurt that much?

Another irritation is the stupid DVD menu that makes no sense.

You would expect the Bugatti Veyron pt 1 to be followed by the Bugatti Veyron pt 2 but no, there is something completely different between the two. It's very odd and extremely annoying.

If I had known I wouldn't have bothered and just watched the challenges on my Sky+ box.

They could have made this a really good DVD but instead it's just the recordings from BBC2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best bits but very bitty, 14 Feb 2008
By 
KH (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I received this DVD as a free gift with a Top Gear magazine subscription. I wasn't really expecting it so it was a nice surprise, and these are the bits of Top Gear I like the most.

"Hurrah", I thought, "surely they will have put the challenges back together so I can watch them straight through" (normally these challenges are shown in two parts in the episodes). Wrong! As everyone else has said they are split up. However, the solution is simple, grab some willing friends or family members, set aside 3 hours, pile up some drinks and nibbles, and do the DVD the justice of watching it right through.

I should clarify that the editing and cinematography of the films themselves is first-rate, there are few TV programmes this well put together, and this is a real showcase of the TG team's efforts (and there is plenty more in the TG archives). But the main point of breaking the films up on the TV is to keep the viewer watching through the bits in the middle - this is hardly necessary when I own the DVD!

One thing to note on the content - the limo challenge doesn't include the first half where they build them (including Clarkson driving half a Panda), but there is an eighth challenge in the shape of Hammond driving a Porsche Cayenne against a Red Devil parachutist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars itty, bitty, ****ty, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Some Clarkson fan boys seem to think you should only be allowed to review top gear if you are fanatic yourself and give it no less than five stars.

Well I've seen enough top gear to know it's dross, how much more do I need to watch before I'm allowed an opinion?

For unthinking petrolheads only :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This looks brilliant, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Top Gear has become one of my favourite Tv shows in the last few years. the challenges are simply awesome.

Does anyone have any info whether there are any extra on the DVD? Is it the same footage as screened on TV or is there extra footage. Since its almost 3hours long it seems like there should be a lot of extras, since the stunts are normally approx 15 mins max on the show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not out yet but..., 8 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I expect this DVD to be fantastic. I can't help but think the challenges are the funniest part of Top Gear - and that is saying something! One question, and I don't know if anyone can answer this yet - will it have the amphibious vehicles challenge on this DVD? That topped the list for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD]
Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] by Brian Klein (DVD - 2007)
2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews