Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Boys So Far!
This DVD is the best so far, all the funny challenges are here. The only thing is the editing, why have they split the challenges in half. You start watching one and then it cuts to another and then back to the first one!!! Why?????

Apart from that - brilliant!

Tracie
Ruislip
Published on 25 Nov 2007 by Mrs. T. Jeffery

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Top Gear is the most watched program on BBC2 then why couldn't they have got a decent editor???
I was so very looking forward to this is DVD as the challenges are my favourite part of the show and definately the funniest. I was so dissapointed at the quality of the editing in this, it is appalling!! They skimped by using cuts from shows to present each challenge rather than getting clarkson, hammond or may to do it for the DVD and split the challenges into parts so...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by A. L. Green


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Top Gear is the most watched program on BBC2 then why couldn't they have got a decent editor???, 20 Sep 2007
By 
A. L. Green "alexgreen16" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I was so very looking forward to this is DVD as the challenges are my favourite part of the show and definately the funniest. I was so dissapointed at the quality of the editing in this, it is appalling!! They skimped by using cuts from shows to present each challenge rather than getting clarkson, hammond or may to do it for the DVD and split the challenges into parts so you couldnt watch it in one go!! It was put together so badly it doesnt flow at all and is so frustrating to watch.

Come on guys you can do better than this!! I only hope they do better next time!

P.S. Please release a DVD of the Polar expedition but PLEASE PLEASE get a decent editor and don't cut any of it out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great content, pity about the presentation., 21 Jun 2007
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Content: excellent - five stars. Admittedly it is only as seen on the television - there are no extras of any kind, which is a shame, but the challenges are presented as seen on television in their insane glory.

Presentation: atrocious - can I actually give a negative rating to this? The challenges, rather than being presented in order, are intercut, with no immediately obvious pattern. The breaks between the sections also fail to line up with the chapter starts, which appear to have been selected largely at random. As such, locating the start of a particular segment almost invariably involves fast-forwarding or rewinding as required, which is somewhat irritating. There's also no facility to simply play an individual challenge - an obvious feature that would surely not have been difficult to implement.

In summary, if you wish to sit down and watch three hours of car-based lunacy, this is a great disc. If you only have half an hour and have the desire to watch an individual challenge, you'll find it really quite annoying. The quality of the content is offset quite seriously by some extremely bizarre choices with the presentation, which actually feels like it's been made intentionally awkward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustration, 23 Jun 2007
By 
M. Begley "Begley02" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Top Gear is one of the funniest programs on TV. The presenters are funny and the audacity of the stunts is hilarious. Turning a Robin into a "Space Shuttle"!! Classic. When I saw this DVD I knew instantly I had to have it (unfortunatly not bought on amazon but down the high street). I got home half an hour before I had to leave for work and thought "brilliant, I can watch a Challange before I have to leave" and this was where the trouble started.

On the back of the DVD case the 7 challanges featured are listed, when you press play this is not the order they are in at all. More infuriatingly they are split up, you will be merrily watching a stunt and it will switch to another. Moreover parts of the stunts are then left out (where was the Veyron scene where jeremy trys to get insurance?). And if your thinking "as annoying as that soudns ill just skip the interuptions" your in for a let down, pressing chapter skip will put you randomly halfway into the next challange. To top it all off the chapter select menu is the most frustrating waste of space there is, it consists of a number of screen shots of the challanges, you have to work out yourself what challange is what as they are not labelled and when you select one you do not then commence veiwing from the start of the challange but somewhere in the middle.

The DVD is a fantastic thing to watch if you have a spare 3 hours. Its a frustrating waste of time though if you just want to watch your favourite challange because you will probably spend most of your time just trying to find the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Boys So Far!, 25 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. T. Jeffery (Ruislip, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is the best so far, all the funny challenges are here. The only thing is the editing, why have they split the challenges in half. You start watching one and then it cuts to another and then back to the first one!!! Why?????

Apart from that - brilliant!

Tracie
Ruislip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great content - let down by the 'editing', 11 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Like Barnard Clam reviewing before me I believe this DVD is seriously let down by the DVD scene selection format.

I received the DVD today and settled down with my eldest son to watch the great Veyron vs Cesna challenge - a good 20 minnute diversion I thought. This excellent challenge was interrupted halfway through to start the 70s supercar challenge. I was then very dissappointed with the scene selection and couldn't find out where the Bugati race re-started.

Looks like I'm going to have to find 160mins somewhen at the weekend to watch the whole thing back to back.

Top Gear is fantastic. I've probably had my funniest televisual moments over the last year watching the boys restle caravans, stretch limos and of course space-rocket-reliants. However, I probably shall only watch this DVD once and then it'll get passed on through the family as opposed to being watched over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant content but appallingly put together, 29 Feb 2008
By 
C. Stewart "The Cat's Whiskers" (Yorkshire/Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm female and I love Top Gear, so I bought this DVD in the face of much elitist snobbery, PC-outrage and male chauvinism, but alas, I can't defend my purchase.
The content is wonderful - I've seen it before, I'll see it again, but cocky Clarkson overturning his Hilux in that reservoir and May and Hammond going wild as the plastic pig space shuttle (mostly) works remain still as hilarious. The only content quibble I had was that the intro/set-up to the stretch limo section was missed out so it didn't segue.
But I give it 2 stars only for the simple reason of appalling editing. Andy Wilman, Clarkson, May and Hammond should hunt down the idiot responsible for editing this DVD and have the Stig do a lap in a Ferrari Enzo with him tied underneath the chassis - yes him, no woman would have been as daft.
Instead of logically having each challenge start, implode and finish, the DVD bounces around from one to another like a rabid rabbit on steroids. It's impossible to watch "just the limo" bit etc without ploughing through the rest of it; the "chapter" breaks appear to have been inserted randomly by someone who was either drunk or high or both and thus are "logical" only to someone who lives in a room with lots of padding.
One of the good things about Top Gear is that they don't rip off their fans with lots of cheap-tat clearly designed only to bilk money out of people like me, who, let's face it, is never going be able to afford to buy a 'new' car of any sort, but I am disappointed that Andy Wilman and Jeremy Clarkson at least - who apparently have some editorial control - let this get out there in the knowledge that kids and elderly fans would part with a considerable amount of cash for it,and the appalling slop-job of the editing reduces its value instantly to all of about a fiver, if that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Paul M. James "DVDMAN" (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
For me, Top Gear is one of the best shows on TV and one of the things that makes it such a great show are the challenges. This DVD is made up of around 7 or 8 challenges. There are 2 major problems with it for me though, the first being that the challenges are split into two parts. It begins with the veryon vs plane and half way through cuts to the amphibious car challenge and once that is half way through cuts back to the veyron and so on, so its pretty annoying that you cant just watch a particular challenge through in one go. The 2nd problem is some great challenges are missing and some are cut down versions.

Its still genius television and I can only hope there are many more challenges to come in the years ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality TV, 1 Jun 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Since its revamp Top Gear has proved to be one of the best shows on television. Whilst it can no longer be considered a serious car program, what it loses in reviewing cars for the majority, it gains in being one of the most entertaining television shows full stop.

The challenges are frequently the best part of the show and the two I remember here the most are the amphibious cars and the Bugatti Veron. The amphibious cars is very very funny. There are moments in this which look seriously dangerous, for example when Hammond is trying to climb out of the water but the wheel he's grabbing continues to turn. They are all laughing and its funnier than any comedy I saw last year!

Part of the success of the show is the geniune spark and friendship that has developed between the three presenters and nowhere is this demonstrated better than in the race between the Bugatti and James May's light aircraft. May and Hammond are continually bickering with each other (purposely for the cameras I'm sure), whilst Clarkson is 'flying' in the car. Again this is great entertainment and in places there are some funny moments.

Some of these challenges I can't remember, but the various series have been of such a high standard that I will be ordering this immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get your money's worth, 9 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
OK let me be clear on something first: I recently moved away from the UK and have been unable to watch many episodes (they're on BBC World, but I keep forgetting about it, as it's not on any TV Guide here and I'm too lazy to keep a watchful eye). So, unlike many reviewers here, for me this DVD was the first time I was watching a lot of the stuff on it - and I LOVED it!

Yes, the editing is bad - actually, it's not really edited at all, they just took the footage from the show and stitched it together, which is why you sometimes get a re-introduction of a challenge half-way in. So yes, it's a really lazy way to do things, unlike, say, the Winter games DVD, where all three presenters are on hand to introduce both new and existing material.

Whoever did it though, has the best excuse of them all - the material is just awesome, and the back-and-forth jumping between challenges can't take that away. Having said that, if you want to show one particular challenge to a friend it can really get on your nerves...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV on Demand, 30 May 2007
By 
Matthew H "Matthew H" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Top Gear is TV at its best. Great presenters, great banter, great cars; what more could you need? I would imagine that somebody who doesn't have much interest in cars would need a lot more to be persuaded to watch.

With the challenges, which is the focus of this DVD, Top Gear has discovered a way to make the show suitable for everybody; It's simply good entertainment.

Amongst other things the boys, as I am fairly loathed to call them (but nevermind), make some rediculous streched limos, have races against each other (one in a car, another in a plane), and, most amazingly of all, build a space rocket (that looks like a NASA shuttle) out of a robin reliant. The latter challenge is worth the price of the DVD alone. Classic TV on Demand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD]
Top Gear: The Challenges (BBC) [DVD] by Brian Klein (DVD - 2007)
£5.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews