Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2010
....all star in this nifty little box set.Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid must be one of the coolest westerns ever great chemistry between Newman and Redford and excellent cinematography an adventure well told The other two movies Newman plays rather darker characters the self obsessed pool shark Eddie Felson a role he would later win an oscar for in the sequel Color of Money.The hustler is Eddies' first foray into movies and while not a bad character lovable he sure aint.The third movie sees Newman play an ambulance chasing alcoholic lawyer given a chance at redemption by winning an unwinable malpractice case another unlikeable character given empathy by Newmans' abundant charisma. Each movie has extras all have commentaries not a bad package for the price
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
This is indubitably Newman's finest hour. His considered and perfectly drawn portrayal of the consummately unsympathetic character of Frank Galvin - troubled,alcoholic,damaged though initially brilliant lawyer, reduced to ambulance-chasing - now facing the most difficult case of his life, should certainly have gained the 'Oscar' for which he was nominated.This case is metaphorically his downfall or salvation.
Lumet has used his favourite themes of the flawed and somtimes blind aspect of the law in opposition to it's 'justice'.
James Mason is at his oleaginous best as Galvin's nemesis and opponent in court and Charlotte Rampling and Milo O'Shea put in beautiful supporting performances....fantastic !
0Comment26 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2010
Frank Galvin (Paul Newman) has all the odds stacked against him. His career is heading nowhere fast, a wrecked personal life, his legal partner has had enough, and a whisky habit that could kickstart an economy. Stanley Ellin in The New York Times Book Review wrote that "the story, digging deep into the mysteries of medical, legal and clerical practice, has everything going for it, and makes dramatically potent use of each element."
With near zero preparation, Frank takes on the might of St Catherine's hospital, two eminent doctors, the trial judge, and a slick city legal team headed by Ed `prince of darkness' Concannon (James Mason). The case: A woman is in a coma after a routine delivery went wrong, and the outcome depends on a key witness who won't testify, and Frank doesn't know why.
This courtroom drama involves you on every level. You feel you need Frank to win, yet the despair of the patient's family is your despair. In a sense, justice itself is on trial. Does everyone and every principle have a price? Can a jury be trusted to see the issues in a complex case?
It is gut-wrenching when we finally realise Laura (Charlotte Rampling) isn't all she seems, the implication is she motivated him to win ( `I don't do failure!') but even so, we want things to work out for her and Frank. He may be reprieved as a lawyer, but his personal life will have to wait a little longer!
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Pretty much everyone has a good role in this movie which allows them to demonstrate their acting skills. Newman shows what he can do with an entirely believeable role as a washed up ambulance chaser who finally tries to redeem himself and do the right thing. Rampling is a bit two dimensional in this portrayal, but the others do a great job supporting a movie which is all about self respect and honour, but without being sentimental or self-righteous. James Mason is convincingly wicked and scheming and O'Shea cynical and hard hearted. In the end, the outcome is a bit predictable, but that seems to be inevitable for such a story.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
A strong drama and accusation toward church istitution by a master of both drama and political films like Sydney Lumet, a guy who never stopped making cinema and standing up for good causes, but always remembering he is a director and a guy who pushed the boundaries of cinema (12 angry men, Network, anderson's tapes, Dog day afternoon, etc...). Here he looks more classic, proving he can keep you on the screen even slowing down and giving time to actors and story to reveal themselves. And here the resal story is that of a guy who need to catch up with himself and find again a sense and a pkace in the world. And Paul New,an gives one of his top performances and work perfectly with Lumet: just see the long shot with the camera travelling through the courtroom while he is giving his last speech before the verdict. The two guys look perfectly in tune with each lpother. Sydney realizes he has just to move the camera following the pace of Paul speech, and Paul readapt his soeech to the camera movement, in order to create a suspended and totally focusing viewers on what is going on and being said st that special moment. A cinema lesson
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Ben Kingsley won the Oscar that year for Gandhi.Many people including myself thought it was Newman`s year,he would of course win eventually for a lesser film,The Color of Money(1986).I think this film is great,great acting,darkly lit/moody photography(which suits the film) and although the outcome itself is predictable,one thing which really wins me over everytime i watch it is the ending(by ending i mean after the outcome of the trial).I watch so many good films that lose whats gone before in the last few minutes but i don`t think they could of ended this one in any better way.Please note this has been a review of The Verdict only.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I think this has to rank amonst Paul Newman's greatest films. The ambulance chasing lawyer barely capable of running a business takes on a hopeless case. The big money lawyers buy off key witnesses, but he perseveres and the finale is pure class
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Paul Newman is great in this - playing an unlikeable ambulance chasing lawyer given one last chance at redemption when a large medical malpractice case lands in his lap.

A young lady has been left in a life ending coma thanks to an apparent mistake by her doctors whilst she was giving birth. The doctors, the hospital and their lawyers are happy to settle the case with the women's family, they don't seem to care much. It's left to our boy to stand up for justice for someone who simply can't anymore.

It's stirring stuff, Newman finds good support from Jack Warden, Charlotte Rampling and a deliciously amoral James Mason as an opposing attorney. Sidney Lumets direction is as assured as ever but the film belongs to Newman in one of his best performances. It works well as a character study, courtroom drama and whodunit as the case takes various twists and turns along the way. Top stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I already had this film, i bought this copy for my barrister who i employed so that i could retain custody of my youngest daughter, who has issues with her mother. Its a fantastic film, probably in Newmans top three.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
Lovely because we get a glimpse of Newman as a young actor in The Hustler, As an accomplished big name alongside Redford in Butch Cassidy and a latter day pro in the Verdict.

All three are classics undoubtedly. His performances in the verdict and the hustler are surely Oscar worthy. I am captivated by the pool room drama of the Hustler and the court room drama where newman plays an alcoholic to perfection.

This collection is worth your buck as it delivers with three great films, unlike other actor boxsets which have included fillers alongside the actor's best work.
11 comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.