Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth continue their return to form.
Speaking about 'United Abominations', Megadeth's 11th studio recording, Dave Mustaine recently stated that the album's sound could place it before 'Rust In Peace' or after 'Countdown To Extinction' in the band's catalogue. This is a fair assessment as, musically, it mixes elements of the speed and heaviness of the former with the melody of the latter. Despite Mustaine's...
Published on 23 April 2007 by Matthew Clarke

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad At All
I am not sure what a lot of the negative reviewers are going on about here. Yes this album is not new or inventive, that's because unlike Metallica Dave Mustaine believes in giving his fans what they want, which of course means more of the same, and in that respect this album succeeds admirably with not a bad track on the album. Therefore any comments panning the albums...
Published on 13 Aug 2007 by Donny


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth continue their return to form., 23 April 2007
By 
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
Speaking about 'United Abominations', Megadeth's 11th studio recording, Dave Mustaine recently stated that the album's sound could place it before 'Rust In Peace' or after 'Countdown To Extinction' in the band's catalogue. This is a fair assessment as, musically, it mixes elements of the speed and heaviness of the former with the melody of the latter. Despite Mustaine's physical problems he remains perhaps the finest thrash guitarist today, and the entire album is performed with Megadeth's trademark precision. The addition of an all new supporting cast of Glen and Shawn Drover, on guitar and drums respectively, and bassist James LoMenzo has brought a new energy to the band, that has recently been notable by its absence.

Mustaine is a spokesperson for a generation of metal bands and fans alike, and now represents everything positive about the genre; using his position as a platform to promote sociopolitical concerns. It therefore comes as little surprise that, lyrically, the core of the album follows on from 2004's 'The System Has Failed' in dealing with the occupation of Iraq, the American government and the general state of the world today; all delivered in Mustaine's sneering vocal style. But, where that album showed flashes of potential, 'United Abominations' consistently delivers. Songs such as 'Amerikhastan', 'Washington Is Next!' and the title track would sit comfortably on any of their early albums; when the band breaks into the middle section of opener 'Sleepwalker', it rivals the likes of 'Tornado Of Souls' or 'Hangar 18'.

If there were to be any criticism it would centre on the re-recorded version of 'A Toute Le Monde'. Thirteen years after it appeared on Youthanasia, it sees Mustaine duet with Lacuna Coil front woman Cristina Sccabia, and, while the overall pacing and end harmony guitar parts are more satisfying than the original, it's hard to understand why a song with such personal subject matter should ever be sung by more than one person.

Although 'United Abominations' doesn't quite reach the heights of their late eighties/early nineties heyday, it doesn't contain a single filler track and is certainly their strongest release in more than a decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy, 28 May 2007
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
Iv got to say that this album is one of the most classic megadeth albums so far, it is filled with everything that makes megadeth such an amazing band; speed, loads of solos and dave mustaines intelligent and melodic vocal lines.

The album quite frankly is perfect from opener sleepwalker to the solo outro of burnt ice there is not a bad track. My favourite tracks are Washington is next and united abominiations and i an guarentee youll have them in your head for hours after hearing them

So I would say if your a long term megadeth fan or a metal fan in general, go out and get it you WILL NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best metal album, 28 May 2007
By 
Robert Hill "oz20022" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
A number of established bands have taken a more political stance than ever before the past couple years, and Megadeth is no different. Since Dave Mustaine re-formed the band (with a new lineup yet again), he's back on track and looking back to the glory days of 80's thrash metal that he helped pioneer. "United Abominations" is just that, as Megadeth makes their debut on Roadrunner Records with this raw sounding, politically laced treat that may very well be the album of the year. Opening track "Sleepwalker" slams forward with Mustaine's scratchy voice and ripping guitars, while "Washington is Next!", "Never Walk Alone...A Call to Arms", "Play for Blood", and the title track are all excellent metal blasts as well. What longtime fans of the band will notice right off the bat however is a remake of Megadeth's mid-90's hit single, "A Tout Le Monde". Here, we get "A Tout Le Monde (Set Me Free)" which is a faster, more driven version of the song, and it also features Lacuna Coil's Cristina Scabbia on vocals as well. This is Megadeth at their most raw and primitive sounding since "Peace Sells...", which in itself is really saying something. Undoubtedly the best metal album of the year so far, "United Abominations" is a metal masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abomination? I think not!, 27 May 2007
By 
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
Some people will argue megadeth can never match rust in peace, infact most bands will never be able to create something that compares to it. This album sees megadave and co give it a mighty fine go though!

This cd sees the band returning to their vintage thrash sound whilst maintaining the newer, more comercial sound of the last couple of records they produced. It includes a remake of the classic "A tout le monde" with Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil) sharing vocal duties with Mr Mustaine. It also features the combination of Mustaine and Drover on guitars resulting in the tapestry of the record being enriched with multiple solo's which again are a return since the departure of Marty Friedman.

The songs themselves all deal with political and social issues lyrically which is expected from the band. Daves vocals have improved alot since he started and it pays dividends to the bands overall sound. As said earlier, the guitar work on the cd is awesome and will keep shred fans happy.

My only complaints about the record are that it is a slower tempo than i would have liked and Dave seems to be borrowing a couple of his own riffs from other albums, not alot but to a fan it is noticeable a couple of times.

This album is definately worth getting if your a fan of Megadeth, but if you are new to the band i would reccomend starting with Rust In Peace.

Stand out tracks: Washington is Next, Gears of War, A Tout Le Monde and Burnt Ice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start, 5 Sep 2007
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
I'm really surprised at some of the reviews for this album. I hadn't listened to any metal since the 80's and it was my 15 year old son who introduced me to Megadeth with United Abominations. What can I say except it was the most refreshing thing I had heard in many years. I had never heard guitar playing like it. It just blew my mind. And yes, the politics may be a little angry but it only echoes what many people have been thinking...me included. Sleepwalker is a furious opening which grabbed me by the balls and led me right in.
This album was so impressive that I have bought a Megadeth cd each week for the last month and have not been disappointed yet. Great songwriting, UNBELIEVABLE musicianship. I wish I'd discovered them years earlier. Refreshing and brilliant if you haven't heard MEGADETH, you could do worse than start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEGA-GOOD, 28 May 2007
By 
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
Megadeth really suprized me on this album, i was expecting them to do what there so called "rivals" did and bring out an album thats not them, but WAAHAYY they have brought out an album that says MEGADETH all over it. The solos are great and the riff work is just like they used to.

A top album to buy if you like megadeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth Kicking Ass Yet Again, 28 May 2007
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
I must admit that when I first heard Megadeth were recording a new album I worried it wasn't going to be very good but upon hearing a few sample tracks I realised that they had turned back on the good old days and were producing the music we know and love. I decided to pre order the CD and when I received it I decided to give it a quick listen and it totally blew me away. Each song is as good, if not better than the previous one and it has a constant impact upon you. I didn't think that it was possible for the album to keep the pace, I was sure i'd be disappointed with the majority but yet again I was proven wrong. I absolutely love this album and up until now is one of my faves from this year. My fave tracks were 'You're Next', 'A Tout Le Monde', and 'Sleepwalker'.

This album is well worth the money you pay for it, I haven't taken mine out of my CD player since the day it arrived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth is back with vengeance !!!, 6 Jun 2007
By 
Recep Meric Egemen "Mericege" (Izmir-Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
I am an old fan of Megadeth,i started listening to Megadeth in their Peace Sells era.I bought Youthanasia in 1994 and after that i didn't buy anything they released.I got this album from my friend,because he said to me United is like Rust In Peace.So i gave Megadeth a chance.I am so shocked about this new album,because it is too good than i expected.It is full of good lyrics and good heavy melodic guitar riffs.So i recommend this new album to older fans and also the new ones.Don't miss it,because Megadeth is back and what a comeback it is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth Raise the Bar ....., 23 Aug 2007
By 
A. Toole (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
What an unbelievable record Dave Mustaine and Megadeth have released. United Abominations is the metal record of 2007. Superb songs, guitar playing, drums and bass. What Metallica would do for an album like this. Mustaine's vocals are now at a perfect place, seems the older he gets, the better his voice sounds. For standout tracks just read the whole album ...... superb from start to finsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beauty, 5 July 2007
This review is from: United Abominations (Audio CD)
While Megadeth have continued for the last 15 years making solid albums with some great tracks on them, it is fair to say that they haven't released anything in the same league as the old classics that finished with 1992's `Countdown to Extinction'. For years now the fan base has been crying out for something with the intensity of classic Megadeth, with the technical ability of the aforementioned `Countdown' and the heaviness of `Peace Sells....' And at long last the fans have been rewarded with the bands best work possibly even since 1990's `Rust in Peace'.

United Abominations is nothing short of a firm kick to the plumbs of every doubter of the flame haired one who thought he was washed up. Mr Mustaine and his new set of band mates play like demons throughout, from opening number `Sleepwalker' right through to the soloing frenzied `Burnt Ice' the album is packed with gems, and even the reworked `A tout le Monde' featuring metals present first lady Cristina Scabbia, is an improvement on it's original outing.

At first listen you may not quite appreciate the album as a whole, but this is one of those albums that slowly burrows it's way into you mind, hooks itself on and doesn't let go, and it doesn't deserve to be pushed aside either, as this is simply the best Megadeth album for bloody years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

United Abominations
United Abominations by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews