Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars132
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 September 2008
Catherine Tate is a comedienne who enjoys having multi persona in her show, which is to the style of Harry Enfield and Chums, no real order, but funny all the same. For 30mins a week, we got laughs from many of her usual sketches and a few one off's - like the dog trainer who's rather crazy.

Some of the best characters in this are the guy who cannot stand being called gay ("who dear me dear no dear"), the grandma who can't keep a lid on her nasty side; the silly woman who's gullible on the internet and marries a death row inmate and of course that funny sketch about the woman working in the wig salon, some of the funniest moments come from this.

There's some really good observations by Catherine though; like the restaurant waitress who does those stupid things you often find in themed places ("Table 3 wants Boogie Dogs *silly music*") and of course Lauren who's supposed to be based on a real teenager - she seems to have got the annoyance they can often give others, and the slang is just funny. There's also the office worker annoying that poor woman next to her with those guessing games, how many of us have people like that in our lives?

Some really annoying things - that Irish woman who keeps saying "he's a gay man now", it's one of her worst sketches; the one where a red headed woman is taken to a special refuge, thought that was really stupid and some moments in series 3 show that Catherine was really ready to stop making the show, as she was showing signs of running out of material.

This is a good show though, really funny, the gran has me in stitches, so yes, repetitive comedy can be good, like the likes of Enfield, Whitehouse, Bishop, Novak, Taylor and many others who've made very repetitive jokes lately. I can see why some people have not enjoyed it though, if you don't like the characters it can be rather annoying, and Lauren got sillier by the series - but I still think this will appeal to most people who like the above comedians.

The DVDs are pretty good, with few extras, but still worthwhile owning - but sadly this doesn't have the Christmas specials.

Worth a look at if you like CT, otherwise get this if you're a big fan.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2007
Catherine Tate's special sketches for Comic Relief are excellent, the standouts being: Lauren meeting Tony Blair (who gives a good performance!); Nan's chaotic appearance on Deal or No Deal; and Lauren locking horns with new teacher David Tennant. While the novelty appeal of Lauren is wearing off, the character shines in the two sketches she appears in, as there is a great twist on the 'Am I bovvered?' catchphrase. The Daniel Craig sketch could have been better, but Lenny Henry meeting the charitable office worker is hilarious. This is a great buy, and Catherine Tate has created sketches which reflect the two key aims of Comic Relief: raising money for charity while having a laugh!
0Comment|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
All three series of the Catherine Tate Show (minus a few more recent specials).

The good: characters like Lauren the teenager, Derek the "not at all gay" man, the vicious-tongued Nan and the ginger refuge are hilarious and make this set well worth the purchase. Also, people such as the randy nurse, the flatulent snob and the "I can do that" woman will raise the odd smile.

The bad: the first series is very spotty and contains too many badly-conceived characters like the valley girl and the woman who marries a murderer on Death row (these sketches have no real point or pay-off at all). Too many episodes in series two and three are dragged down by characters such as the "make a drama out of anything" woman and her kids, the "laugh about anything" couple and another couple whose whole reason for existing seems to be purely to moan about various food they've been forced to eat. These sketches are not only unfunny, they grate on the nerves and in many cases are ridiculously over-length. If even dragging in Paul Whitehouse can't save a sketch you know something's going wrong.

In summary, the better sketches make this box set worth a purchase but now and again patience (or a fast-forward button) will be required.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
Catherine Tate's contributions to Comic Relief 2007 were the highlights of the entire evening; rivalling Peter Kay's "Amarillo" video from 2005. The Lauren meets Tony Blair sketch is pure brilliance, and hats-off to Tony Blair for pulling off what could have been a "car-crash" moment with such aplomb! The sketch with Daniel Craig maybe over-ran a little bit, but that may be because Craig himself looked as if he wished he were anywhere else. The Deal Or No Deal sketch with Noel Edmonds has a much more adult content than the rest, with strong language.

Highly recommended
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 April 2007
Very very Funny. Catherine Tate at her very best.

My favourite character is Nan, and I simply laughed my head off as she competed with Noel Edmonds in Deal or no Deal. Absolutely brilliant, worth the fiver alone.

Buy it, for a great cause and will have you in stitches.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2007
Catherine Tate is a comedy genious and her Comic Relief sketches - all of which are available in the DVD (plus more!!!) - absolutely brilliant. Among the sketches are Elaine Figgis marrying Daniel Craig, Lenny Henry guest guest starring with the charity worker from Newcastle. Also, Nan makes an appearance with Noel Edmunds in a unique and unmissable game of Deal Or No Deal and there are two sketches of Lauren. In one sketch, she meets Tony Blair which (I wont give away any spoilers in case you havn't seen it) has a fantastic twist on the usual and in the second sketch David Tennant is Lauren's English teacher which is the best of the scenes on the DVD and one of the best Lauren scenes to date.

Catherine Tate has generously made all of these sketches for comic relief and £3 of the £5 DVD will be going to the charity.

I would highly recommend this DVD to any fan of Catherine Tate.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 April 2007
This is a great DVD. I recommend it. There are 5 sketches and 2 comic relief films, one about poverty in the UK, the other poverty in Africa, and how Comic Relief help.

I would also like to say that some of the earlier reviews were put on BEFORE the DVD was released, and the sketches seen on Comic Relief are slightly shorter than the DVD. It really shows the power of the editor. Only small scenes were removed, but they add to the overall effect.

So I say, if you buy the DVD, basde it on the newer reviews, rather than the ones which were posted before it was even released.

I hope this helped!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
Comic Relief certainly have gotten it right this year. They couldn't have picked a better person to do one of their charity DVDs and Catherine Tate certainly delivered with a stonking selection of sketches! At only a £5 you get great value for money, a fantasitc laugh-a-minute that will have a grin plastered all over your face PLUS you get to treat yourself to an even bigger smile because you are also donating to charity at the same time.

Plenty of people have bovvered to buy this - if you haven't already then can I, as Lauren would say, 'aks you a question' - WHY NOT?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I love Catherine Tate soooo much!!!! This show takes everything that i love about comedy and roles it into one!! I bought this ages ago for myself and have recently bought it for a friend!! You buy this and you will not be disappointed, every time i watch this it doesn't fail to make me laugh!! I can't express how good this is!! Those who say it is rubbish, obviously have no sense of humor!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
Take the best game show in Deal or No Deal, the best TV drama series by a mile in Doctor Who, the serving Prime Minister and Catherine Tate's best characters and what have you got? This Comic Relief special! Tate has put together some of her best sketches to date for this charity special, which will have you howling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)