Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, Thrilling, Captivating...
Almost everyone has heard of Basic Instinct. However, its tag of 'erotic thriller' has put many people off watching it. To these people, I would say, get over it, and have a good look at this film, because it is superb. Yes, the sex scenes are very graphic, but the story is so captivating that you'll be able to get past them and anjoy this for what it is... a good...
Published on 4 July 2004 by MISS LAURA HANNAH

versus
41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best they could have done, but still a great movie.
First of all, my rating is basically 5 stars for the movie and 2 for the Blu-ray presentation.

The main reason? The picture. I just don't believe this has been remastered at 1080p. I have original projection reels of this movie in my collection and they still look cleaner and sharper, which they shouldn't. Basic Instinct has incredibly good cinematography, but...
Published on 4 April 2009 by Mr Ghostface


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, Thrilling, Captivating..., 4 July 2004
Almost everyone has heard of Basic Instinct. However, its tag of 'erotic thriller' has put many people off watching it. To these people, I would say, get over it, and have a good look at this film, because it is superb. Yes, the sex scenes are very graphic, but the story is so captivating that you'll be able to get past them and anjoy this for what it is... a good suspense thriller.
Sharon Stone stars as Catherine Tramell, a novelist, whose boyfriend is stabbed to death with an ice-pick. This killing was exactly the same as one described in Catherine's latest book. You are then left wondering. Did Catherine recreate the events of her book and kill her lover, or did someone else, someone who wanted to ruin Catherine, carry out the deed in question?
Michael Douglas is the cop invstigating the murder, however, it is only too soon before he is seduced by Catherine. It's suspense all the way until the end, where, even then, you aren't sure, who really is the murderer.
If thrillers are your thing, then go and watch this DVD. A word of warning though. This is not one for kids and teenagers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best they could have done, but still a great movie., 4 April 2009
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Instinct [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First of all, my rating is basically 5 stars for the movie and 2 for the Blu-ray presentation.

The main reason? The picture. I just don't believe this has been remastered at 1080p. I have original projection reels of this movie in my collection and they still look cleaner and sharper, which they shouldn't. Basic Instinct has incredibly good cinematography, but the Blu-ray image is SOFT. Meaning there must be anti-aliasing happening because the image is not sufficiently detailed to fulfil 1080p. It was really something of a disappointment. Yes, it looks okay, but not for a second is this the best is could look. What's more, it's from Optimum, who usually really are quite good with their material.

The audio is fine, and Goldsmith's beautiful score is not damaged by the poor treatment other aspects of the movie have suffered.

There are no extras. Not even the feature-length Making Of has been included. There is a picture option which allows you to follow their instructions on getting the best picture they believe possible out of this disc. Well, ignore it. You know yourself what looks sharpest and most vibrant, and for me it was NOTHING like what they were suggesting.

I find this release to be a big disappointment, given how popular the film was and, despite it's often sleazy reputation, it really is a finely crafted thriller with lush, warm cinematography, Goldsmith's last great score, great editing and Verhoeven's slick direction. It's too bad the Blu-ray doesn't give it the respect it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant erotic thriller, 19 Dec 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
With all the controversy over this film long past it is now possible to appraise it‘s great strengths, brilliant screenplay, great dedicated performances, direction and photography absolutely spot on.
Sharon Stone literally becomes Catherine Trammel the bi-sexual, brilliantly manipulative and devious woman who uses her sexuality to dominate men. Michael Douglas as Detective Nick Curran is a perfect foil, attempting to limit her dominance and making desperate efforts to remain impartial in solving the grisly murders.
Trammel’s lesbian lover Roxy (Leilani Sarelle) is perfectly cast, the commentary incorrectly states this is her only film, if fact she has a long filmography.
But especial mention must go to George Dzunda as Gus Moran playing one of the great buddy roles as Curran’s assistance, the scene where he is drunk at a western music bar is the best portrayal of a drunken man I have ever seen.
Finally there is Jeanne Tripplehorn as Dr Beth Garner the police psychiatrist and ex lover of Curran, hers is a difficult role in the middle of the action and is completely convincing. The sex scene with Douglas in which she only partially complies is a gripping example of the narrow line between rape within a relationship and consent.
The long sex scenes between Stone and Douglas seem over choreographed by today’s standards, with a tendency to providing artistic nude studies rather than erotic action.
If you can take this tough gritty subject matter the beautifully transferred DVD with it’s generous extras is for you. At the end nothing is completely certain except “Basic Instinct 2” is due for release in March 2006, and one wonders how Sharon Stone will reprise this role at the age of forty six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stone All the Way, 24 Jun 2007
Sixteen years have passed since Michael Douglas and Sharon Stone made the iconic erotic thriller that definitely defined the genre. There is was a lot of controversy when the movie came out regarding how explicit the sex scenes are and the way lesbians are depicted on screen. It is very sure to say that today that controversy isn't gone. What everyone seems to agree is that the great majority of films that become iconic are so either because of their thematic or for the fact that they are ground-breaking in a particular issue. Basic Instinct is definitely this case and rightfully so. It is one of my favourite movies not only because it is on of my favourite genres but also because the movie is stellar in many aspects. Paul Verhoven is a good director and this is a great example of that, the way he shoots the sex scenes is sexier, the way he shoots car chases is memorable and his camera moves only when it should. The screenplay plays games with your mind, the cinematography is top notch, and, of course the main theme is one of the most memorable there are. But over all these praises the reason why the movie is as good as it is, is because of Sharon Stone. She was born to play Catherine Tramell, her wit, her charm, her beauty, her sarcasm are perfect, and I assure no one else could do that, the interrogation scene with the famous leg crossing is a perfect example of that. I think I'm not exaggerating when I say that Catherine Tramell is one of the best and most memorable characters in movie history. Also, I think what makes the movie so good is the total openness of the ending. We are never told exactly who did it, and although many people have their secure theories, the movie is well written enough to accept both theories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Sexy....Still Superb, 16 July 2002
Whilst it seems to be the current trend for critics to constantly say how silly they now feel, 10 years on, for getting so worked up over THAT scene, Basic Instinct has in fact lost none of its magic. It is a timeless classic, yet highly underrated.
Yes, it was the leg crossing scene that made this film infamous, but it is such a sexy, tension filled thriller for the whole duration. There is something about the film that cannot be put into words, that no matter how many times you watch it, you feel the same amount of emotion that you did the first time.
Basic Instinct has unfortunately been lumbered with the 'erotic thriller' tag which has become a Friday night standard on Channel Five. However, the film is much, much more than titillation. There's a fantastic murder mystery plotline which would not be out of place in any of the Hitchcock classics which clearly influenced it, and all the actors are great (and I'm no Michael Douglas fan, so trust me :))
The DVD is a gorgeous package. A double disc set with postcards thrown in. Every making-of fact you would want to know is on this disc - and more!
Look past the infamous scene and see this film for what it really is - a true modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SENSATIONAL, 31 Mar 2006
By 
Robertshaw "Rob" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a brilliant and breathtaking film. The film is infamous for it's graphic erotic scenes, but if you can manage to get through the film without being (ahem) distracted by Sharon Stone, then you will find that the characters are highly developed and fascinating, the plot is complex and intelligent and the delivery is fast, entertaining and absorbing from start to finish.
It's a pity that this film is famous for the wrong reasons. Dare to admit that Basic Instinct is one of you're favourite films and your liable to be sniggered at. This film should not be dismissed as pure eroticism. Admittedly some scenes are graphic but the eroticism is not gratuitous. Overall, i found it to be an intelligent thriller with two superb leads and a great supporting cast. The film is sensational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good sound quality, general picture, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Wang Kaixiang - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Instinct [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
it's ok for this blu-ray prictures, but still can't totally fell this is a 1080p product, the problem is coloure, you can easily see this movie is from 1992, but the sound track is very inpresive, 5.1 DTS-HD master audio, eventhough this is not neccessary for this kind of movie. the reason why i gave 4 star is because compare with price, this blu-ray is very attractive.
audio:
5.1 DTS-HD master audio english
subtitle:
english
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You like playing games in 720p, don't you?", 29 Feb 2008
By 
Jason (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Basic Instinct [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I wasn't too impressed with the picture quality of this HD-DVD offering. By comparison, the HD-DVD of Total Recall was outstanding compared to this. The picture for Basic Instinct is great, but it didn't hit me with that 'WOW' feeling I'm gotten from watching other films in High-Def.

Still, the film itself is a classic and has so much more to offer you than those boring 'sexy thrillers' which get shown late nights on ITV 2/BBC 1.

No extras, and IMO, disappointing picture quality, knocks this down to 3 stars. One thing is for sure, you'll never look at an icepick in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Low Volume Audio Commentary, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the kind of film Hitchcock would love to have made with Grace Kelly. He approached it with Tippi Hedren in 'Marnie' where Sean Connery rapes her on their honeymoon, and he hints at it in 'Vertigo' when James Stewart kisses Kim Novak in the second coming of Madeleine. The closest he got with Grace Kelly is the attempted murder scene in 'Dial M For Murder' where Anthony Newland has her over the telephone table. It is a metaphor of a rape scene because he is on top of her on the table. In 'Basic Instinct' we get to dance with Sharon Stone, grope her, and have sex with her. This is what Hitchcock would have loved to have done with Grace Kelly, and it's no coincidence that Stone is a blonde dressed in classical costumes with classical beauty like Grace Kelly. The film is also set in San Francisco with overtones of 'Vertigo'. Catherine Trammell has echoes of Kim Novak who of course is a substitute for Grace Kelly.

Apart from the Hitchcock references, this is a landmark for Sharon Stone. You totally believe her in the role, and even in her screen tests she was there emotionally in the character. (The same can be said for Jeanne Tripplehorn, although I didn't agree with the rape scene between her and Michael Douglas.) Even when she's not speaking, her eyes tell the story. There is depth to her eyes which were absent from Kim Novak. In Novak's eyes, she looked lost and wandering. In Sharon Stone's eyes she is enchanting, hypnotic and seductive. She has the right voice, but so did Novak.It is husky and seductive with layers of sex in each sentence. Surely this is what Hitchcock wanted to achieve with Grace Kelly, but probably would have done better with Kim Novak. If Sharon Stone had a successful job as an actress before this film, she had a successful career as a film star after this film.

The Interrogation scene is a work of art in terms of performance, framing and direction. Sharon Stone is in control making the detectives sweat with sexual hunger. She has a profound effect on Michael Douglas who repeats her behaviour when he is interrogated later on. This shows how she is drawing him into her without him even realising it, almost like a black widow ready to swallow up her mate after sex,

Now because the film runs over two hours, there are going to be some scenes that drag its feet. However, they are cancelled out by the phenomenally strong scenes such as the opening scene, the interrogation scene, the nightclub scene, the sex scene that follows and the Michael Douglas interrogation scene.

Jeanne Tripplehorn is attractive and sexy in the scene that she is raped, but you kind of wonder where she goes from here because apart from 'Sliding Doors' she doesn't go on to do anything significant. Sharon Stone had a track record as a good actress in dull movies before making this film, and went on to do 'Sliver' and other movies after this film. Michael Douglas already had a track record with 'Fatal Attraction' for this sort of film, and would go on to do 'Disclosure' and 'A Perfect Murder'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a Gripper !, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Instinct [DVD] (DVD)
`Basic Instinct' is a great crime movie! On its release nearly twenty years ago - yes! that many already - it broke new ground for violence, explicit sexual scenes and graphic close-ups of all kinds of nastiness - criminal and otherwise! Michael Douglas, who served a long apprenticeship on `The Streets of San Francisco' found himself in a peach of a role, one in which he could play to the limits of his talent and experience. With the female lead, Sharon Stone, another Hollywood `A' lister, a good story and great direction, not to mention the sinewy, creepy music that weaves its way throughout, the film rightly turned out to be a big hit at the box office. It remains an icon of its genre to this day,
Stone plays a female crime writer, the plot of whose book curiously matches an actual murder event; and a pretty gruesome one at that! She immediately becomes a suspect. Cue Douglas who is assigned to investigate the case. His, shall we say, adventures, that follow are the gist of the film. This is a tense, gripping movie. Lots of twists and turns and scenes of extreme violence and brutality that are not for the squeamish. The scenes of sexual activity, though entirely necessary to the development of the film, leave little to the imagination. In one memorable scene where Stone is sitting facing her accusers during an interview, she crosses and uncrosses her legs, making it plain that she is wearing little under her skirt. Whether this particular, brief moment is gratuitous or not is arguable. I do not think the movie would have suffered by its absence. But it is this provocative, knickerless few seconds for which the movie has become renowned and from which it has garnered it's fame. In actuality the movie is a very good crime thriller, if not an excellent one, in it's own right. However, if ever a film deserved its `18' category, this one does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Instinct  [1992] [US Import] [Blu-ray] [Region A]
£7.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews