Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and uplifting film on potential
This movie is great for affirming the belief that anything is possable if you try hard enough.The casting is magical and if you like Will Smith ( who is great for this part )then wait till you see his hugely talented, even cuter son Jaden.Part of the believabilty and heart of this movie comes from the interaction between the father and son roles- echoing the charachter...
Published on 24 Jan 2008 by pepemia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars broken casing
When I got the dvds the casing was totally smashed on one side, the dvds themselves were a bit scratched but still worked but the case doesn't close and I've tried fixing it but it's totally smashed up. -.-
however the film itself is amazing so don't be put off with the crappy packaging
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by tht


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not easy to climb up the social ladder, 6 April 2007
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
It's nice to see Will Smith taking such a serious role, for a change, and execute it so well. I have heard my friends praising Jaden Smith's performance. Yet it's the story and Will Smith that grabbed my attention.

It's sometimes uneasy to see how Chris made ends meet in the movie and he did it all for his son. The good work of charity organizations, the people who responded to his phone calls and bought his scanners helped. (I begin to think of all those promotion phone calls I turned down.) Chris's sheer determination, perseverance and guts to survive his 6-month internship were again not an easy act to follow. It took every bit of his intelligence to pull it off. This is a feel good movie to make us reflect how much we already have; how a little help can make a big difference to others' lives. A thought provoking movie indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True life story - what more do you need., 20 May 2007
By 
D. Gore "geetar_jo" (North West Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
It's all very well sitting in the comfort of your own home, nice and warm with your central heating keeping you cosy and knowing you only have to open your refrigerator door to get a tasty snack and to go on-line via your PC or laptop to complain about how dissapointed your were with this film, because of X, Y or Z.

The fact is that critics are picking holes in this film just for the sake of it. Maybe it's because "it's the guy from Men In Black" or just to seem hip and with it to criticise this film. Well, ignore all that - This is a true life story, brought stunningly to life by Will Smith in his strongest performance yet. Stop for one moment, ignore all your creature comforts and actually realise that there ARE people out there struggling to survive.

The run of bad luck that Chris Gardner encountered is very indicative of life today, let alone in the 80's. His constant struggle to survive, fueled by his indefitagable determination to protect his Son grabs at your heart strings culmininating in you sharing his unbridled joy and utter relief when his mammoth effort to succeed finally pays off.

This film brought more than a tear to my eye and gave me hope that sometimes in this life you get what you deserve.

I applaud Will Smith for his role in, what is, an excellent film and a very humbling reminder that you should be thankful for what you've got.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-wrenching, 28 Dec 2007
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
I'll admit that I'm not a Will Smith fan at all and only picked this movie up as I'd see practically everything else in the video-store. I was more than a little surprised therefore to find that I actually enjoyed The Pursuit of Happyness.

The synopsis is clear-cut so there's no need for me to rehash it. What I will stay is that Will Smith came into his own in this movie. Up until now he's played the clichéd cocky, kick-ass good-guy (Bad Boys, Men in Black, Independence Day) but in The Pursuit of Happyness he took on a role a million miles away from what we're used to seeing him in. It's an emotional, roller-coaster of a movie that needed an amazing performance by somebody to make it believable......Will Smith gave that performance.....I'd even go so far as to say it was the performance of a lifetime for him. He is the central character in this movie so he pretty much had to carry the can alone....and carry the can he did. I should mention however that Will's son Jaden has a great career ahead of him if his performance is anything to go by.

This is a heart-breaking movie of one mans struggle to provide for his son which sees a proud man loose it all and have to depend on the charity of others to survive. Alone one man could survive....with a child in tow it's 100 times harder. The Pursuit of Happyness makes you thankful for what you've got by showing you how easy it is to loose it all. A fantastic movie with a fantastic cast and an amazing performance by Will Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
Any film with Will Smith performing in it, is usually a hit with me. Will iis a Great actor and this is an amazing film.... a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see! A Masterpiece!, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
This is a biographical drama film based on Christopher Gardner's struggle.

The story refers to Thomas Jefferson, The Declaration of Independence:
"We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness."

And here is another Christopher; what a nice coincidence:
Christopher McCandless: "Happiness only real when shared."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
A great film that can be watched time and time again, very enjoyable. Another one to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
Great film, but only watch it in a good mood or it may make you cry there are certainly sad parts.
Feel good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Ms. Jeanette Hayes "netty" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
Shows the pressure of a family who loved each other but could not make ends meet. Very moving and makes u think too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, 25 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
DVD was in perfect condition.

Only fault I can give is that it did not come in a DVD case which I would have preferred. It can in a plastic wallet.

However this did not affect the DVD in anyway - just my preference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 April 2012
This review is from: The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] (DVD)
The DVD arrived promptly and in new cellophane wrap. The viewing quality was great. Would definitely recommend it to others - great gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007]
The Pursuit of Happyness [DVD] (2006) [2007] by Gabriele Muccino (DVD - 2007)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews