Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Look What The Wind Just Blew In..."
This new 18 October 2010 CD on Decca 984 447-7 remasters Thin Lizzy's debut album for Decca/London Records and adds on a further 9 bonus tracks (it was initially slated for a 25 February 2008 release, but cancelled). Here's a detailed breakdown (71:40 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 10 are the album "Thin Lizzy" issued on 30 April 1971 in the UK on Decca SKL 5082 (London...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars O dear
I absolutely adore the first Lizzy album, first band I saw as a three-piece before the cock-rock era and I love its charm and especially Eric Bell's guitar parts which are little gems. In fact I always take it with me on holiday! The re-master doesn't illuminate much buried in the mix or feel that much sharper and as for the extra tracks which promise so much, don't...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Look What The Wind Just Blew In...", 24 Oct 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] (Audio CD)
This new 18 October 2010 CD on Decca 984 447-7 remasters Thin Lizzy's debut album for Decca/London Records and adds on a further 9 bonus tracks (it was initially slated for a 25 February 2008 release, but cancelled). Here's a detailed breakdown (71:40 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 10 are the album "Thin Lizzy" issued on 30 April 1971 in the UK on Decca SKL 5082 (London PS 594 in the USA).

The album was well received - especially by Britain's influential RADIO 1 DJ David "Kid" Jensen, who championed the band and their platter as much as he could. In 1973 Kid Jensen put substance to his love of the band by turning up as the vocalist in the story song "The Hero & The Madman" on "Vagabonds Of The Western World". The style of Lizzy's debut was a mixture of Rock, Folk and even some Jazzy and Progressive elements. It highlighted Lynnot's great voice and lyrics and Eric Bell's superbly diverse guitar playing. The catchy riff of "Look What The Wind Blew In" (lyrics above) would have made a good lead off single, but no 7" ever came off the album. Standing alone it makes for a warm listen, but it's the bonuses on this issue that make it an all together most tasty beast.

Track 11 is "The Farmer", the A-side of Lizzy's legendary debut single on Parlophone Records DIP 513. Issued in IRELAND-ONLY, it was mistakenly credited to THIN LIZZIE and released on the last day of July 1970. Its first CD appearance came on the superb "Vagabonds Kings Warriors Angels" 4CD Box Set from 2001. As the band was an unknown, its release in that summer of 1970 went completely unnoticed and legend has it that it shifted less than 100 copies. A genuine rarity, the definitive authority that is the Record Collector Rare Record Price Guide of 2012 lists it at £1000, but try finding one! Its inclusion here in upgraded sound quality is a genuine bonus to fans (it wasn't on the original 1991 re-issue CD). As to the song itself, it's not a great track by any stretch of the imagination - it's also the only song in their cannon to feature the original keyboardist Eric Wrixon. Unfortunately, its equally rare and unheard B-side, "I Need You", ISN'T represented on this new reissue (no explanation) - a very real shame that.

Tracks 12 to 15 make up what's known as the "NEW DAY" EP. Recorded across 3 days in July 1971, the non-album 4-track Extended Play was released in Britain after the album on 20 August 1971 as Decca F 13208. Most copies came in a Decca Label Bag, but rare ones carried a beautiful gatefold picture sleeve (very rare and again very expensive - £300+ - I've only ever seen one in my life). It was also a MAXI PLAY EP, in other words it spun at LP speed of 33 1/3. Its four tracks were laid out as follows:
Side A: 1. Dublin 2. Remembering Part II (New Day)
Side B: 1. Old Moon Madness 2. Things Ain't Working Out Down at The Farm
Their first outing on compact disc came on the 1991 reissue of the album as its only bonus tracks, and in the relatively early days of CD issues, the sound quality was good, but not great. In 2000 two of the tracks turned up on the "Classic - The Universal Masters Collection" set in hugely improved sound quality. This October 2010 issue is the first time ALL FOUR TRACKS are presented in the one place in truly exceptional remastered sound quality. Eric Bell's guitar work on "Remembering Part II (New Day") is just great and makes this extended release makes for a much more rocking listening experience.

Tracks 16 to 19 are 'December 1977' remixes and re-workings - they first turned up on the 1979 UK Decca compilation album "The Continuing Saga Of The Ageing Orphans" and have never been on CD before. They contain contributions from Midge Ure of Ultravox and Gary Moore. With regard to these 3 tracks and the other 5 remixes on that album, see my 'comment' attached to this review.

BOOKLET:
The newly upgraded 16-page booklet is peppered with black and whites photos of the boys looking confident and chipper and a very cool and rare poster naming them as the support act to the FACES on the 8th of October 1971 in the Royal Ballroom at Boscombe in Bournemouth. The knowledgeable and detailed liner notes by MARK POWELL go into the band's history as Orphanage, Phil's stint with Ireland's Skid Row, their debut single on Parlophone in Ireland and their eventual signing to Decca in the UK. It's very well written and its all been run by Philomena - Phil's mum.

SOUND:
As with "Shades Of A Blue Orphanage" and the 2CD Deluxe Edition of "Vagabonds Of The Western World", PASCHAL BYRNE has remastered this 2010 CD with hugely improved results. I've raved about his work before (see my reviews for "Ain't No Saint" the 4CD John Martyn box set and "Blues From Laurel Canyon" by John Mayall), and this set is no different. The first generation tapes have been used - not too brash - fantastic presence - each track a revelation.

CONTENT:
Taking their name from a character in the 'Dandy' comic book called "Tin Lizzie", the band were still a three-piece at this point - PHILIP LYNOTT on Vocals and Bass, ERIC BELL on Guitars and Keyboards with BRIAN DOWNEY on Drums. The famous dual guitar blasts of Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson are years away, so those expecting "Fighting" or "Jailbreak" should really look further ahead.

SCOTT ENGLISH produced the stage-rehearsed 10 songs in 5 days in January 1971 - and the result was a great debut rather than just a starting point. Rockers like "Look What The Wind Blew In" and the Hendrix-influenced "Ray-Gun" sat comfortably alongside more folky offerings like "Honesty Is No Excuse" and the early Horslips folk-rock vibe of "The Friendly Ranger Of Clontarf Castle" (I come from Clontarf in Dublin). The bass and plucked guitar of "Clifton Grange Hotel" is fantastically clear and the hiss that seemed to inflict previous versions of "Saga Of The Ageing Orphan" is largely gone. The "New Day" EP sounds far better too over the 1991 CD issue. And I love the rocking guitar work put in by Midge Ure on the 1977 modernized remix of "Things Ain't Working Out Down At The Farm". Very nice indeed...

To sum up - lovers of lesser-known Seventies rock sound invest in this - the remaster is fabulous, the bonus tracks genuinely good and I picked it up for less than a fiver.

Recommended like the refreshing breeze on Dublin's Dollymount Beach.

PS: see also reviews for "Shades Of A Blue Orphanage" Expanded and 2CD DELUXE EDITION sets of "Vagabonds Of The Western World", "Nightlife", "Fighting", "Jailbreak", "Johnny The Fox" and "Live & Dangerous" (2CD/1DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy at their most inventive., 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Thin Lizzy (Audio CD)
This is not the sound of the Thin Lizzy who became famous. The powerful but overwhelming and simplistic twin-guitar sound of 'Live and Dangerous' is absent. There is a range of emotions here lost in the mid-late 70s' work. We've got a trio here with the stunning Eric Bell on melodic, jazzy guitar. His measured, unhurried, velvety guitar on 'The Friendly Ranger...' (I'd call it Hawaiian, but I suppose it's some delay effect) is sheer beauty. There is a sweeping exhilaration on 'Honesty is No Excuse' (guest mellotron-player on that track) absent from the later macho-stuff. The guitar riff on 'Look What the Wind Blew In' is to my ears totally original, and the solo simply inspired and oh so fast. 'Clifton Grange Hotel' has a loose, confident funkiness. 'Saga of the Ageing Orphan' is a saddish, reflective ballad. It's a pity that Thin Lizzy became so one-dimensional after this and the second album -- not the received wisdom, I know, but try this and you might agree. (Anyway, you can give it to a guitarist friend who will surely profit from it.) The last four tracks, incidentally, were originally on a four-track E.P., not on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy's first album, 20 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] (Audio CD)
The album is very progressive in style and very different to the period when Thin Lizzy became superstars. However if Thin Lizzy had carried on in this vain, they would have created great music. The album is folky sounding in places and even moving. This album contains the original album, along with the EP and then 1977 remixes of various songs from the album and EP.

It is essential listening for all Lizzy fans and I would recommend it to any progressive music fans who might not be so keen on Thin Lizzy's later classic rock style.

I am reviewing the promo copy so I cannot comment on the album sleeve notes/design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars do not over look, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Michael Sherriffs "music 1w1" (surprise az.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] (Audio CD)
very good much more folk than there later stuff, still some really good song. remaster sound is good bonus stuff is good. buy it .... what are you waiting for ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible debut - amongst their best., 12 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Waldron "mhsob" (UK & Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy (Audio CD)
Occasionally you discover something you never expected. This is just that. Yes, there are the early signs of what was to come such as the live-friendly "Return of the Fathers Son" and the rousing "Old Moon Madness". But there is so much more to Thin Lizzy on this box of tricks. From the inspired "Friendly Ranger" to the beautiful "Eire" and "Ageing Orphan", I can't remember being so enthralled with an old classic since I picked up Jethro Tull's "Benefit" a few years ago. Like that cd, there is just so much going on with Thin Lizzy's debut you can never get bored. Lynott's voice is just mesmerizing. If it's not already in your 1970's collection of great albums, then your collection just isn't complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy 1st LP, 8 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Johnston "hamrag2" (Carnforth, Lancs.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Rather than review the music on this album (which many other people have already done), it might be handy for some people to know about the vinyl re-issue from Light In The Attic which I purchased from a Amazon Marketplace seller recently. It comes in a heavy duty gatefold sleeve with the original UK Decca artwork on the front & rear of the sleeve and inside the gatefold you get the original US London records artwork. The front of the sleeve also has a Japanese style obi strip which gives details to any potential purchasers in a record shop (are there any left?).
Also included in the package is a 4 page booklet which gives extensive background information to the making of their first LP and an interview with Eric Bell plus some B&W photos. There is also a large poster included & a Light In The Attic 32 page mini magazine which has articles on their other releases.
The vinyl is 180g in weight and sounds very good with no pressing blemishes that I can hear or see. A lovely sound utilizing a 24bit/96kHz mastering from the original tapes. And to put the cherry on top of the whole package, the original UK Decca labels are reproduced on the record itself.
All in all a superb vinyl re-issue which puts a lot of other companies to shame. If only all re-issues were like this.
4 stars for the music (reviewed many times elsewhere as previously mentioned) & 5 stars for the Light In The Attic edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original and Best, 11 April 2007
This review is from: Thin Lizzy (Audio CD)
I wholeheartedly agree with the review of Music Fan. This was Lizzy at their best with Eric Bell on lead before the uninspired efforts of Goram & Robertson. This album deservedly went to No.1 on Kid Jensen's Hot Heavy 20 on Radio Luxembourg in the early seventies with help from David Jensen's plentiful airplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy (Audio CD)
This is the Lizzy line-up I preferred, Lynott, Bell and Downey. With Celtic inspired ballads, achingly beautiful love songs and passionate powerful rockers, this album has everything. The inclusion of the extra tracks from the New Day EP (I have the original vinyl) actually fit very well with the rest of the album, which is not often the case with many re-issues. Despite a few tracks seeming to fade early, it remains a brilliant album. Check out on YouTube Lynott's acoustic version of Dublin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "If only someone could stall this ageing" Saga Of The Ageing Orphan, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] (Audio CD)
This is a very welcome replacement for my old LP of this album, which is sitting sadly neglected in the garage, along with all my other vinyl. I would say the key notes of this album are melancholy and energy. The melancholy comes through in many of the songs both melodically and lyrically, especially on numbers like my personal favourite, 'Honesty Is No Excuse', and the very beautiful and precociously time-aware 'Saga Of The Ageing Orphan', as well as the obvious saudade* of 'Remembering Pt. 1'.

Energy wise, this is a young band trying out all kinds of ideas. Some of these ideas work better than others - several of the songs, like opener 'The Friendly Ranger At Clontarf Castle' do seem like fragmented patchworks of ideas rather than songs (the individual ideas are at least, on the whole, very interesting), whilst others, from 'Honesty Is No Excuse' to 'Eire' and 'Saga Of The Ageing Orphan' are fully-formed songs, if not yet as strong as Lynott or the band would ultimately wax. But, as many point out, this captures Lizzy in a fantastic open-ended early phase, and some of the material is just fabulous: 'Remembering Pt. 2 (New Day)' is an absolute blinder and was (and I had considered myself a fairly devote Lizzy fan) completely new to me. Indeed, the whole New Day EP is fantastic.

Throughout most of this music Phil's voice already sounds surprisingly and beautifully mature. Downey's drumming has the ferocious near uncontrolled energy of youth, is often quite exploratory, and frequently just downright superb. But he would improve as he grew more restrained, focussed, and sensitive as an ensemble player. Eric Bell's guitar is very different form the twin guitar sound Lizzy would later become famed for, but is certainly interesting. I prefer Bell's acoustic guitar work on the whole (although I like the funky wah-wah riff in 'Ray Gun'), his melodic elaborations in 'Saga Of The Ageing Orphan' are lovely, and sometimes find his rockier playing lacks form and sounds a bit random, especially compared with the tightly focussed guitar playing of future Lizzy six-stringers.

Although there might seem to be few clues as to the 'classic' Lizzy sound to come, I think that depends what aspects of Lizzy you treasure. Whilst I dig Lizzy's heavier, rockier side, I happen to have an even softer spot for Lynott and co.'s mellower side, and the roots of that are very evident here, albeit in a more kaleidoscopic and even slightly proggy/psychedelic manner. The sound quality itself is, I feel (not all reviewers agree on this), massively improved over earlier releases, with great clarity, presence and strength to the mix, giving it more power and immediacy. As already mentioned above, the New Day EP material is wonderful. But then so are the '77 remixes. So often such tampering can prove fatal. Not here.

A great package for the Lizzy/Lynott lover. Within Lizzy's own output, I'd say some of this ranges between three and four stars, but with a decent slab of five star action spread throughout. But as a treasure trove of diverse, interesting and often very moving early music from a great band, and in comparison with so much of the lacklustre 'produce' out there, this is, I feel, fully deserving of five stars, especially as it collates and expands upon an already great set of music, making it sound better than ever into the bargain.

* Not a misspelling of sausage! But a Brazilian word we don't really have an equivalent for, meaning... well, it's hard to describe, but Lynott and Lizzy have it in spades, so to speak. Wikipedia has a very good definition of it if you need clarification!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning.., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] (Audio CD)
Thin Lizzy forever will be one of my favorite rock bands of all times, i have all their albums.
I have to admit that i became a fan from the 'Vagabond..' album, and the first two albums is different but unique.
The debut album is good, this is not my favorite only because i less like the folk kind but is still enjoyable and i like to listen to Lynott's vocals. The remastered edition contain the EP "New Day', a great bonus because it is a great EP.
There are some great songs like: 'Return of the Farmer's Son', 'Remembering part one' and 'Look What the Wind Blew In'.
This album maybe not be played frequently by fans who like 'Jailbreak', 'Chinatown' and 'Thunder and Lightning' but yes by fans who like 'Vagabonds..', 'Bad Reputaion' and 'Black Rose'.
I am fan who like from here and from there, and as a Thin Lizzy fan i must own this album too, and i hope you don't have doubt of purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded]
Thin Lizzy [Remastered & Expanded] by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews