Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GAME
I ordered this game at first and unfortunately it got lost in the post , so i contacted Joseph gaming and they gave me a re-order as soon as possible. The game then arrived in the next three days which was great. I really like this game because it’s so cool and epic and i never get bored of it
Published 8 months ago by Petrit

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough!
The original spiderman game for the PS2 had potential: it was flawed, but the basic idea was great. So surely there is no excuse for getting it so wrong given the power of the PS3? But somehow the game's developer has managed to produce a bit of a dog. Free-roaming around the city is satisfying, but is not enough to sustain interest (and it's at times a frustrating...
Published on 21 May 2007 by Shady-boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Good Enough!, 21 May 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
The original spiderman game for the PS2 had potential: it was flawed, but the basic idea was great. So surely there is no excuse for getting it so wrong given the power of the PS3? But somehow the game's developer has managed to produce a bit of a dog. Free-roaming around the city is satisfying, but is not enough to sustain interest (and it's at times a frustrating experience). The level design is poor, repetitive missions, limited AI. And why is Spiderman so small? Check him out when underground, particularly in comparison to the size of the tracks: the developers clearly thought it would be amusing to make him seem like a midget.

I know movie-tie-in games never quite deliver, but this is especially disappointing. If you really, really want this game, buy the PS2 version (which is cheaper - though still too expensive for what you get).

Frankly, it's about time some decent titles were released for the PS3 - many more like this one and gamers will turn their backs on Sony's platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT VERY PLEASED, 28 May 2007
By 
Jane Khan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
i was looking forward to this game and wasn't happy when i heard the release date had been pushed back. when i finally got the the game i was excited but the excitement went away as soon as i started playing. the first thing i noticed was that the graphics were terrible,they looked more like a ps2 game. the missions are very repetitive and there is only 1 AI difficulty level. The only good things about this game is that it easy to make yourself look good at fighting and that u can follow the film storyline.

Sam Khan, 14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another PS3 disappointment, 26 May 2007
By 
Mr. B. J. Hunt "jedra_" (Saxilby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
I have had my PS3 since launch and I really like it as a system. The problem is that there is only one decent game for it and that is most definitely not Spiderman 3!

I found the graphics appauling in this game - you can tell it was put together for a lower end machine and just given a bit of 'shine' for the PS3. Don't get me started on the water - it looks like an oil slick!

The control system is also awkward and I find that 'spidey' is very difficult to control - expecially when crawling in tight places. It's here that the camera work is at fault too - the camera swings around like something mental leaving you very confused as to what direction you are actually facing in and invariably leading to a fall.

I do like the web swinging though - this has been implemented well along with the freedom you get to swing around (the albeit poorly modelled) New York City.

If I had bought the game for the PS2 I would have been just about satisfied, but as a next gen release for PS3 that retails for FIFTY QUID it's not acceptable.

That one decent game? Motor Storm - still play that all of the time as it really shows what the PS3 is capable of and is a lot of fun to play.

C'mon - get some decent games out for this console!

Regards

Brian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GAME, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
I ordered this game at first and unfortunately it got lost in the post , so i contacted Joseph gaming and they gave me a re-order as soon as possible. The game then arrived in the next three days which was great. I really like this game because it’s so cool and epic and i never get bored of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing. Waste of £50, 28 Dec 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
I've had the PS3 since May and really like it. The graphics on nearly every game are amazing but not this game. The graphics are awful and so are the cameras. The controls are really hard to master. In the end I sold it after playing it 3 times. Guess how much I got from Game for selling it. £22.50 Avoid this game at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider -Man 3: The Movie - PS3 Version, 24 July 2011
By 
A. Boylan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
According to the game player this is a reasonably good game, not one of his favourites or as addictive as some but still very enjoyable. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My Spidy Sense says - Disappointing, 24 July 2007
By 
Mr. R. Betts "XtreamXTC" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly, each to their own when it comes to reviews, what is one persons cup-of-tea may not be the same for someone else. I can only review this game by comparing it to other similiar titles I have played.

For big spiderman fans, bad reviews probably won't change your opinion of the game, after all, its the only pure Spiderman title on the PS3, so for now at least its this game or nothing.

I bought this game because the cover looked great and I was sold by what it said on the back of case. Please don't make the same mistake. At least read some reviews before you make up your mind, or download a demo if it becomes availiable.

I was totally let down by this title, the shiny well made cover, nice, the in game graphics, poor. I played this on a 50" TV via the HDMI cable, I have played around 12+ titles on the PS3 and the graphics for those have been outstanding, very crisp and faultless. But spidy was quite pixlated, a bit cartoony and generally a let down.

So to say the game got off to a bad start was a understatment. Then comes the gameplay, I expected there to be plenty of moves etc, but if anything there are too many. There is no way you can remember all the differnt combo's and because of this, you tap away on the controller with no scense of purpose and just hope, its more like playing a 1v1 Beat 'em up at the arcade that you've never played before, hit the keys and hope.

In terms of plot and storyline goes, this seemed to be the only thing the game had going for it, however I didn't get a chance to get immersed in it, as after about a week of trying to like this game, it was traded in.

If you're after a platform style fighting game, so with something like Ninja Gaiden Sigma. If its just spidy your after then by all means buy this game, but don't say I didn't warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, but...., 7 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Shane Walsh (Shrewsbury United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
Being able to web around the city, and climb to the top of the biggest buildings has it's feeling of freedom. It's great and New York does look quite spectacular, however there are some small factors to take into consideration before you buy this game.

Firstly, the repetative combat sytem. Fair enough you unlock new moves as your progress through the game, but it always feels as though you are button mashing and doing anything random to basically win the fight, often of which are the same kind of battles over and over. Yeah it's fun, but it gets samey. Also the character graphics, say when peter parker goes civvy are choppy and not very cool looking for a next gen console at all.

The final thing is the boss battles, most of them are easy and involve button pressing at the right time, it's cool but it's taking it out of our hands and milk feeding us the action, however some of them are ridiculously hard, and you can spend up to 30 minutes jumping and pressing square and triangle frantically before his life is even half down. I'm talking about the kingpin.

Dont get me wrong spider man is good, it looks and feels amazing, and is cool the way you can change your suit, however overly hard bosses, milk feeding and repetative combat are all annoying factors which put a downer on the game itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AS BAD AS IT CAN GET, 29 July 2007
By 
F. A. Stephenson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing the marvellous Spider-Man 2 on the PS2, I thought I would be in for a treat when I traded up to the PS3 and obtained Spider-Man 3.

Boy, how wrong can one be? I have to ask the question. "Did they park their brains at door or what? I was under the impression that Spider-Man was this superhero with amazing powers! Surely, they must have read at least one comic! Didn't they?

What we got was a wimp who couldn't beat up a couple of girls with umbrellas! I also cannot understand how he is able to move two train carriages of about twenty tonnes each to get to Kraven yet be unable to lay a glove on him when he changes into a 500lb bear!!! Am I missing something?

I suppose what is most noticeable about this game is there is no fun. SM2 was fun to play, maybe short but enjoyable! This is a chore from beginning to end and as much as it hurts this fan of spidey of forty odd years, I can only say that this is definitely NOT a showcase for the PS3.

Purchasing this game would lead anyone into the inescapable conclusion that they may have inadvertently downgraded by mistake! Yes, it's that bad. I can only hope that other games for the PS3 do not receive the same shoddy treatment and make me wish I had bought the XBox 360 instead.

AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It 'Swings' But Sadly Misses!!!!!!!!!!!, 29 May 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) (Video Game)
Activision has been extremely fortunate to have the Spider-Man franchise at their helm for the past 7 years now. Besides the Tony Hawk franchise, Spider-Man is one of Activision's highest grossing licenses. The same way the movie shattered all box office records, within its first three days of sales, Spider-Man 3 went on to sell over 210k copies for both the Xbox 360 and PS2 combined. But also like the movie, quantity doesn't equate to quality, as Spider-Man 3 is quite a flawed game and shows considerable signs of being a rush job. This is easily the worst Spider-Man movie game to date. sorry guys thats my oppinion.
The game starts with a training sequence, where Spider-Man rushes into a burning office building in an attempt to save stranded citizens. Here you will be forced to learn some of the game's basic actions and such - something I really wished to just skip. Once you're done with that, you'll do some minor exploring, fighting, and saving before completing the training. Once you're done with the training, you'll appear on a Manhattan rooftop. Just like before, the city of Manhattan is your hub. In it you will be able to find various missions, on top of also stumbling across side-missions. The game's core consists of 10 different storylines, one of which includes the movie's plot. Meanwhile the side missions are more pedestrian based and are just there so that you have various diversions for when you're not doing a core mission. Really, the structure of the game is certainly nothing new, and anybody who's played Spider Man 2 will feel quite familiar with SpiderMan3

In terms of combat, the game feels more like a button masher than anything else. There doesn't seem to be much strategy involved in standard fights, so you'll likely get by quite alright most of the time. But be warned: the boss fights can be very tedious, long, boring and there just crap! As you progress through the game, you will earn new maneuvers for SpiderMan to pull off. Eventually, after completing the game, you will also gain the Black Suit... Ooooo excited yet? don't be too excited. You see, aside from looking cool, the Black Suit serves no purpose. Whatever enhanced powers the game promises with the suit seems to be lost, as I didn't see much of a difference between either suit.The only thing you get is some lousy extra move, and a pointless button mash that you'll have to perform when removing the suit. Yes, clearly they're trying to replicate the struggle that Peter faced in the movie when separating himself from the symbiote, but it really doesn't work very well in the game.

As far as how the game ties in with the film...it's pretty loose. There are similarities between the two mediums, but the game has a ton of extra content written into its storyline which really separates it from the film such as a swarm of gangs controlling different parts of Manhattan and additional villains. That said, while Spider-Man 3 sounds like a fairly decent title, it has some crippling flaws that make playing the game nearly impossible at least, for me.

These crippling flaws are a mixture of a rotten framerate and horrible camera work, so they're aesthetic issues. The game camera is absurdly unstable and nauseatingly bouncy. Web swinging has the camera moving up and down, up and down, up and down, ad nauseum lol The worst is when you're on foot or inside a building somewhere, the camera is all over the place, swinging, jumping, and twisting around with every little move you make. Add to the broken camera an awful framerate that almost never hits 30 frames, and you've got yourself a recipe for disaster. I've noticed that the Xbox 360 version has a slightly smoother framerate, but still pretty annoying. If you're a bulimic and need an excuse other than your finger, give Spider-Man3 30 minutes and you'll be puking in no time lol And despite my sarcastic jokish manner, there really isn't anything funny about these two flaws, they could seriously do some damage...

Frame rate aside, Spider-Man 3's best trait is its enormous scope. Manhattan, while not very accurately depicted, seems to be just about the right size. The draw-in distance for the city goes about as far as the eye can see, which is extremely impressive. There is some decent texture work on the buildings, but other than that Spider-Man 3 fails to impress any further. The roads consist of three different cars, but you'll mostly see hundreds of Ford Crown Victoria look alikes very lazy work. On top of that, even though the city doesn't have any draw-in while you're webslinging, you will see tons of cars, pedestrians, and building textures popping up. In fact, you won't just see them pop-up, but also warp and disappear. Spider-Man himself doesn't look terribly detailed, either none of the characters do. An observing eye will notice that the game was clearly rushed in time to coincide with the release of the film. Shame, because Spider-Man 3 really could've been the best of the games (lost opportunity) which is a shame.

As far as audio goes, if you've heard one Spidey movie-based game, you've heard them all. It's basically the exact same concept recycled for this one an orchestrated Elfman-esque song plays in the background throughout most of the game, Bruce Campbell does the narrating and calls you a moron, Spider-Man blurts out a quip every 20 seconds, and the actors lend their voices to give the game a bit of authenticity. It's not terrible, but it's nothing new. Though, the voice acting can sometimes feel pretty bland and forced.

I wasn't expecting to be disappointed by either Spider-Man 3 the film or the game, so I must say that finding out that both turned out to be absolute crap was quite a shock to the system as im a huge spidey fan. At the end of it all, Spider-Man 3's biggest problem is that it has a camera and framerate that makes the game nearly unplayable which destroys the game and On top of that, a recycled formula would've prevented this game being anything but average anyway. And with a clumsy graphics engine and uninspired audio, Spider-Man 3 is definitely a swing and a miss. but saying that this game will appeal more to the younger spiderman fans, but as im 28 im a bit more critical and i expect a lot more for my money and also a lot more from spidey lol this game is by far the worst of the series im truly dissapointed and i wanted this game to be something special i truly did but it wasnt to be. never mind next time 'developers take note'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3)
Spider -Man 3: The Movie (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
£20.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews