Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing change
I bought this game when it was released the main reason being i played Theme Hospital and i loved it. When i heard this was being made i couldnt wait for its release to bring back those TH memories.

As soon as i got the game i fired it up and played for a good few hours in sandbox mode, i loved the graphics and quirky characters although the sound was annoying...
Published on 15 Jun 2007 by Creomortis

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice graphics, shame about the game
I haven't tried story mode in this as I was a fan of Theme Hospital , like everyone else who bought this so opted for freeplay. You can see why we all thought it was going to be a modernised sequel but it doesn't come close, they have tried to build in more focus on the staff, who spend too much time either arguing or trying to romance each other which seems to me that...
Published on 6 July 2007 by C. Rankin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice graphics, shame about the game, 6 July 2007
By 
C. Rankin "clairelybelgian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I haven't tried story mode in this as I was a fan of Theme Hospital , like everyone else who bought this so opted for freeplay. You can see why we all thought it was going to be a modernised sequel but it doesn't come close, they have tried to build in more focus on the staff, who spend too much time either arguing or trying to romance each other which seems to me that they've tried to put in some Sims-like control while ignoring the bits they hype up- there's no sense of urgency in the gameplay as there are few patients and only about 5 diseases.
Overall it lacks the challenges of Theme Hospital as well as the focus on the actual hospital processes, the menus are not as well laid out as they appear as it's hard to identify objects in the purchase screens if you haven't been through "story mode", or forced tutorial and the game developers will try to charge you for cheats, which you won't really need as you'll probably be bored with it after half an hour. I'm sorry I bothered with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crushingly disappointing; do not waste your money on this game, 9 Jun 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Hospital Tycoon "will create emerging situations that are as entertaining as they are challenging" says the official product description. I agree with that statement. It is both bad at entertaining and being challenging.

Being a big fan of Sim Hospital, this sounded like a sort of sequel to that fantastic game. Crazy medical conditions, a hospital to run, doctors to manage... I was looking forward to it. Nice in theory, but this game doesn't deliver. It tries to be a bit of Sim Hospital and a bit of the Sims, but fails so amazingly at both of these.

In terms of the story element to the game, it is plodding and uninteresting. I mean *really* uninteresting. Maybe the story is designed for the under 10s, but adults will find it without any merit.

In terms of the simulation element, it's just as bad if not worse. The game is very linear in that you get an ailment, you build a room to fix it. You get another ailment, you build another room. You follow steps from A to B to C but never do you feel like you are needed, you are just following the game's path. The game has none of the usual sim elements so you don't feel as if you are in control at all. You can't tweak prices, raise wages or do research. So whereas with a game like Sim Hospital you'd have to choose whether to push research through, try to raise prices to fund that research, but then possibly drive away customers -- with Hospital Tycoon you have none of this risk so there is no challenge whatsoever.

"Training" of your staff is non-existent. You put the person in a room and 10 seconds later they have a 5% increase in their total skill level. Never do you feel that they may quit, or burn out, and like the rest of the game they operate without any real need for input from the player.

There's no chance to chuck patients out of the hospital, you can't make the sick ones queue jump. Even if they stick around and die, there seems to be no appraisal, no consequences for your actions. And if half of your patients die like they did in one of my games, yet still patients come in and I make money, then why even bother curing them?

There is a Sims element to the game too where you can get characters to talk to each other and interact, but for the most part this serves no purpose as the characters don't need to interact. In a sign that it is behind the times of the games like the Sims, love possibilities seem to only occur between men and women.

So I left the story mode, did sandbox mode and put the game on Hard level. What was hard? It was the same as the story mode. Patients come in, you build the necessary machines and then they go. Money goes up, I have to do nothing. You seriously have so little control that this game seems impossible to lose.

There are various clumsy and ill-designed interface problems too. Players can walk through walls for example. If a machine is breaking down, you can't just click the machine and then a repair icon. You have to click a button to bring up your Hospital Computer, then click Staff, then double click a Janitor. You will be taken to the Janitor, where you must then exit his profile screen then click him then scroll to the machine then click the machine and select to repair it. Unbelievably convoluted.

And finally I have to make comment on the extremely aggravating fake language that they have given their characters, again trying to emulate the Sims and failing badly. The voice of the female character that "talks" to you to teach you the game will have you turning off your speakers within minutes. It is so, so bad.

In all, avoid this game. It seriously has no value. It is formulaic, and you are an observer of events rather than having any real bearing on them. It may be okay as a fun, easy game for kids but that's me attempting to find some worth in this worthless game. What a shame, this could have been so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while... but the game is unfinished, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Julie Winthrop "Debt Collector" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I was hoping this game would be a good replacment for Theme Hospital, it does capture most of the fun and feel of TH. Hospital Tycoon is fun for a while, but then it gets boring.

You will never have many patients in your hospital, so your hospital will be a ghost hospital. The largest number of patients that have been reported in a hospital is 19. Also you have no control over what will happen in Sandbox, some types of illness might not EVER appear in your sandbox game. Also its too easy to make money, you should really never be low on money as long as someone is coming into your hospital and you dont have more staff than you need. Also the camera is dumb, since you can only veiw the "inside" of the hospital, the camera stops when it bumps into the walls of the map, and you cannot turn the camera around beyond this, meaning the camera cant be swung into certain possitions in rooms built next to the main walls of the map.

here is the worst part... the game is incomplete, Codemasters decided to wrap it up and sell an unfinished product anyway and have stated they have no intention of patching or updating this game. They never released a demo or beta, so we could not help them fix the game(wut?!) The advertising of the game was false, Codemasters lied to us and showed us content they had no intention of letting us play. Larger Hospitals, vast numbers of patients, wheelchairs and additional illnesses are among many of the things they showed us and did not give us.

These things are actually stored in the game, but they are not "active" a mod is currently being made to "activate" these features and make the game complete.(or as complete as it will get).

If you really want to just "try" it, then by all means do so, but until a mod or patch comes out you will not get the full experience of this "game"

Such a waste. if only they had adressed some problems, this game would have totaly been the next Theme Hospital, it has so much potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 7 Aug 2007
By 
E. Mellish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'm a huge fan of Theme Hospital and was delighted when this game came out, thinking it would be a more up to date version with better graphics. How wrong I was.

The game is played with three levels per hospital. If, like myself, you change the layout and equipment at the start of the level to something you feel would be more effective you will be disappointed to find that after each bit is complete they dump you back in their own version and you have to start over. The room sizes are fixed and you can basically only chose large, small or medium which may be helpful only to people who have problems dragging and dropping boxes.

On the plus side being able to store multiple bits of equipment in one room does give you the option of just buying several large rooms and dumping all the equipment into them, with one or two doctors of the right speciality.

The number of levels and lack of different diagnoses was also a let down, and you never seem to get a "full" hospital. Just a couple of sick folk wandering along the corridors looking lonely. No mention was ever made of how you would move a patient up a queue to get them looked at faster by a doctor / specialist either, and I'm guessing that's because you never have enough patients waiting for it to be necessary.

All in all the lack of depth makes this game not worthy of its predecessor and I'd not recommend buying it. I returned my own copy in disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars whatever you do, just don't pay money for this game, 15 July 2007
By 
A. Adamowski - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
no where near as fun or exciting as theme hospital. started the story but didn't finish (too repetative) and the 'sand box' (their name for us just being able to play outside a story) just got really dull after a bit and i found myself speeding up the game just to get some new illnesses in.
really, just don't bother....dull and a pointless waste of time...better to invest in a good nap or make some home-made soup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother if you have Theme Hospital, 21 Jun 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Was really excited about the possibility of another hospital sim, as I was a complete Theme Hospital addict. Have now played this game for all of 4 hours on and off, and am so disappointed, I had to add a comment, which is something I don't usually do.

If you have played Theme Hospital, don't even bother - comparisons are unfortunately going to be an issue with this Sims wannabe. The worst problem I found was total boredom, there is just not enough to do, and the onslaught of patients after building rooms - nope, nothing, nada!!!!

When I read one of the other "disappointed" reviews and found out that the game isn't even finished........grrrrrr.....oh well, best beat a path quick to my local game exchanger, before he reads one of these reviews!!!!

PS - For anyone who has NEVER played Theme Hospital - give it a go, especially if you like The Sims and the like, but don't pay 18 for it, shop around, or wait for a couple of months and pre-owneds' will be flooding the market along with mine....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond a joke, 2 July 2007
By 
Mr. T. J. Penney (Jersey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
As just about every reviewer below says this game has to be the worst game i have played for many years.

To think theme hospital is 10 years old and is so much better in gameplay tells you everything.

Its bug city to say the least and with only 12 patients in the hospital at one time(theme hospital would have 50-60 or more)is just a joke and no challenge at all.

With no support or patch coming the only place for this game is the BIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected!, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. S. P. Taylor "Stevey" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Like other people that were a fan of Theme Hospital, I thought finally someone had taken the time to make a long awaited sequel!

I was excited about the arrival of this game, but after a while of playing I found it very boring and dull. It seems as if the producers started off with a good concept, but rushed the finalities to get it onto the shelf. Their's really not very many diseases, the music is very irritating, the chracters speak in the most annoying voices and altogether the UI is really poor and clumsy.

It is the 10th anniversary of Theme hospital this year and it's still by far, a more superior game in many aspects!

All in all, it looks pretty but that really is the only plus point I can make. I can honestly say that I have never been so disappointed in a game, ever!

Don't bother with it, save your money for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Aug 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had played theme hospital and was very glad a new hospital tycoon was out and was looking forward to updated game play. Sadly I was very disappointed. This game isn't as much fun as the MUCH older theme hospital.

It has tried to incorporate Sim-like play but failed dismally. It says that increasing positive interaction between staff can help your hospital but it's really fiddly to do it and doesn't really affect your success.

The controls don't work smoothly and everything just feels 'sticky' resulting in you positioning objects/rooms/machines oddly and then having to move them.

The scenarios aren't interesting, the conditions aren't nearly as funny as in Theme Hospital and within a scenario your development of the hospital doesn't save, so each chapter everything you have done gets wiped away and they present you with a version they have put together - which is incredibly frustrating if you have decided to go for larger treatment rooms with several bits of equipment in them and have spent ages decorating rooms because you are put back to square one on the next day of the scenario.

The controls to hire staff are particularly annoying as you have to click through several options to hire someone then immediately are chucked out again and have to go back in again to hire the next person - annoying when you are starting from scratch and hiring about 20 people.

There really aren't many scenarios and the sandbox isn't exciting at all - I managed to play it all and a sandbox game in a week and I have a small baby who doesn't allow me more than 15 minutes at the computer in every 5 hours!

I wouldn't bother buying it to be honest, I would try another tycoon. It isn't a patch on rollercoaster and not even comparable to the older theme hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i nearly died when i saw that amazon wanted 34 for this tripe, 7 Jan 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) (Video Game)
i though this was going to be great,hopefully going to kick theme hospital in the teeth,i didnt,it revived it,becaus ehospital tycoon is without doubt,the buggiest game ever released.you cant rename your staff and they have annoying names,the game is slow and crashes even on powerful computers,the music is bloody annoying,the same 30 second blast every 30 seconds.theyve have tried to give it a sims like language.but this dosent have that likeable tone to the sims language.the receptionist sounds like she's having a fit while sucking helium from a balloon,not to mention the price i paid 10 at a shop somehwere else and even that was a rip-off but 34!!! what the hell were amazon thinking!.this is a massive failure and should be avoided at all costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD)
Hospital Tycoon (PC DVD) by Codemasters Limited (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews