Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An Underated Gem'
First off this game is criminally underrated, I remember going to game to buy this, because of the relation of staff between Mistwalker and Square Enix. It suprised me though, i was hoping and expecting for something similar to Chrono Trigger. But what you get from this game is a collaboration of features from previous game made by other developers, that's the main let...
Published on 26 Dec 2008 by O. Friell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but with the usual dubbing faults
This is a genuinly fun RGP; little sidequests for the hardcore and many many shiny little items in items in chests for the treasure hunters. And teh ability to skip both of those for gamers with left time on their hands.
Although at 3-disks in length time is something you will need.

Battles are fun too, you hit an enemy to cause a battle with it and by...
Published on 1 Jan 2009 by D. J. Bentley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'An Underated Gem', 26 Dec 2008
By 
O. Friell "+" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First off this game is criminally underrated, I remember going to game to buy this, because of the relation of staff between Mistwalker and Square Enix. It suprised me though, i was hoping and expecting for something similar to Chrono Trigger. But what you get from this game is a collaboration of features from previous game made by other developers, that's the main let down of the game. I know people may argue that they can't help this because Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest have near enough done everything with the RPG genre that is possible to do. But there is always a new idea out there somewhere. The games story in my opinion is very good and excellently presented, though it does drag on a tad when you get on to disc 3. All in all if i had to give this a review a score out of 10 i would give it around an 8. The game is very good, but i do not recommend it to any im-patient gamers (because it does go on a bit and you will have to do, like in every RPG undertake in tedious walking around and battling to get your level up.) or a person who dislikes RPGs (because its about as true to the genre as possible).

Pros:
* Well presented Graphics perfect for the story.
* Decent Storyline.
* Loveable Characters.
* A proper RPG that lives up to the Genre.
* No random ecounters you see the enemy (think Mario RPG Seven Stars).

Cons:
* Having to level up for boss battles all the time.
* Pointless parts of the quest that were only in the game to expand the main quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue dragon = fun!, 24 Mar 2008
By 
Yves Havermaet (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I decided to buy this even after all those average reviews on the web or in magazines.
Believing that if you liked jrpg you can't do much wrong.
And i'm glad to say i was right. This is a jrpg in the truest sense.
I really can't understand this game got so much undiserved critism.
Don't get me wrong it isn't a perfect game, like all game it has its good and bad sides. But the good far outweighs the bad in my eyes.
The bad points so far i encountered ( i played about 18 hours)is that i doesn't have that epic feel games like FF and recently Lost Odyssey has.
And the story lakes a long time to get going and only starts to get interesting after about 10-15 hours into the game. Those are the bad points that really comes to mind.
As for the good points i can summon this up really easy, it is fun!
The battlesystem is traditional in every sense of old school jrpg.
Turn based and with all the usual elements included. Magic attacks physical attacks and items usage. Every character can choose from different classes from white and black magic users to warrior, assasin, monk and many more. And each has its strong and weak points. What is also worth noting is that every character can switch between all of the classes which they unlock througout the game.
I think i gave a good impression of what you can expect from this game.
People who can't get enough of turn based jrpg can't do much wrong with this game. Is it a classic? No not really but it a very enjoyable game that can stand it own in its genre.
People who are searching for something new won't find it here, and it won't change you over to the jrpg genre if your not a fan of it.

I hope i have been helpful, and made your desicion a little bit easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great RPG, 29 Aug 2007
By 
Philip Potter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game on release day, and I have enjoyed every minute of it. I am 15 hours in, still on the first disc (of 3), and am utterly engrossed. This game has many positive aspects: firstly, it has wonderful graphics. It's not like Bioshock or Oblivion, realistic, but it has graphics which make the fantasy world feel alive and vibrant. Every character and monster has been given great detail, with looks and especially movements seeming natural and interesting. The graphics really do the combat justice. The combat is typical Final Fantasy turn based combat with a twist, where there is a charge bar which alters the turns depending on the charge. The combat itself is, in a word, awesome. Fights aren't random as in FF games, but you see enemies on the field, so you can either attack them, or avoid them. Combat is a tangle of brilliant looking moves and tactics, and as the game goes on, more great looking moves are unlocked. Occasionally a boss fight will occur, where the enemy is tougher than the usual monsters. Overall, the game doesn't really repeat the monsters for you to become sick of a particular monster. Another good aspect of the game is the music. The music is on par with the FF series. When exploring the world, the music is light and jolly (except during dramatic parts), and when in a boss fight, it becomes more rock and roll. Finally, onto the world itself. The game has a weird and wonderful sense of humour, and the world shows this. It is a large and expansive world, although quite linear, unlike Oblivion, but a benefit of this is that you won't get lost. The game's designers have put a lot of effort and thought into making the world as fun as possible, and it is evident when encountering some of the areas and races for the first time. As for the storyline, it is there, but very vague. Just trust the game to present storylines. This leads us onto the bad points: the saving system is quite bad in some places. You can save at a save point, or on the world map. You cannot save halfway through a dungeon, so if you die, you have to go all the way back to the beginning. Alternatively, if you need to save, you could warp back to the beginning of the dungeon and save at the save point (a warp device and save point are usually found in the same place), but this resets the dungeon's monsters, so you have to encounter (or avoid) all the monsters again, possibly not a bad thing as it gives you extra experience. The cut scenes are not, as one reviewer insinuated, bad, and the dialog is not cheesy. I enjoy all the cutscenes, as they make the world seem alive to me, and help you relate to the characters. The dialog is fine, considering this is a Japanese game. Another slight fault is that sometimes the fights seem to follow the exact same sequence and moves, but considering the wealth of combat moves, it won't happen often.
As you might expect, this game is not online playable, but will probably follow Oblivion's example and have downloads available.
Overall, this is a class game, with not many things wrong with it. It certainly has longevity, with a large game world and 3 discs. You certainly would be spending money well, as it will keep you occupied for at least a week. If you enjoy a great story, exploring (fans of the Broken Sword series will love this), and exceptional looking combat, this game will delight you to no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 23 Oct 2007
By 
P. Milner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i was forced into renting this game by a friend..

i am a massive rpg fan but with mass effect and fable 2 both coming out i didn't like the idea of the turn based combat even though i loved final fantasy 7 and so on i thought it was a bit out dated with next gen consoles....

having watched the opening scene and playing 3 hours into the game i was gripped by the story and i think only turn based combat would work for this game as it's in japanese style characters.

i'm so glad my friend forced me to play this game i have now purchased it and it's 3 discs long so value for money unlike other stuff thats forced out early and is completed in 13 hours or less for £40

try this game it's a pleasant surprise!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old skool RPG with great storytelling, 3 Oct 2007
By 
K. Ng "Digi.k" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Once upon a time, an ancient super-civilization had great power and command over magic and machinery, but then that civilization suddenly vanished! Centuries passed and the reasons for the ancient's civilization's downfall have all been lost. The story begins in the dusty remote village of Talta where dark scary purple clouds have been appearing yearly for the past 10 years terrorising the village people and bringing destruction.

Blue Dragon is a turn-based role-playing game that centres on a young boy named Shu and together with his town hood friends Kluke and Jiro set out to protect their village from the invasion of these dark scary purple clouds.

Shu, Jiro and Kluke eventually find out that these dark purple clouds and the destruction they bring are controlled by a mysterious being called Nene (who is able to control these ancient machines). It's not too long before Shu and co find out firsthand that Nene enjoys tormenting humankind and to what end, no one knows....

Eventually Shu, Jiro and Kluke are given powers that grant them the use of these phantom shadows that mirror the actions of their masters, giving Shu and his friends amazing strength and magic. The so called Blue Dragon! Along your journey you will also party up with Zola a Royal Mercenary and Marumaro (of the Devee Tribe) and together during the dark times they'll confront, they will all learn about "hope, Friendship" and never to give up" in order to defeat the evil Nene and his allegiances. There's also a love triangle developing in there but its just a tiny one!

Playability
Blue Dragon is a turn based RPG. Battles you encounter are hectic and will keep you busy and on your toes! Each of the Blue Dragon warriors can create and develop their combat styles, by utilizing different types of Shadow skills and jobs including; Sword Master, Assassin, Black and White Magic etc. and each character is pretty customisable it's up to you to create a balanced party to lead you into either victory or for the loss! As like any other Japanese RPG, Talk to people to get information, use Inns to recover health, buy and sell accessories, items and spells to build up your arsenal. The story will make you follow in a fixed path (although in the world map you can head out to other areas and do side quests) also during your adventure you will encounter several mini games which are blended into the story... these can be a bit tricky to master! You'll also given the ability to go to certain warp points and eventually you will get your Airship and allow you to travel to places out of reach before...

Graphic wise this game looks pretty sharp with it's 'high-res' visuals (without the high resolution Blue Dragon would look quite at home on a PS2 though so it's not the greatest 'current gen' looking game)..At other times the 3D in-game graphics look identical to the high definition FMV play during key moments. Regarding these cut scenes the developers have blended them in quite well with the actual in-game graphics and at times even me and my friends can't seem to tell where one ends and begins. Only downside is at times the frame rate does stutter. Also Akira Toriyama character designs look great... When I first saw the character designs I thought they were bland and uninteresting but as the story progresses the characters and how their interactions with each other develop and grow they should begin to grow on you too.

Music by Nobuo Uematsu is again good... There's nothing outstanding it just does its job, there's a mixture of different sounds throughout blue dragon although a few evoke Uematsu's earlier work on the early final fantasy games. There is one track which is causing mixed opinions and that's the boss theme. Uematsu chose vocal rock track which may seem 'cheesy' with some while others will love it! Voice acting again with American VA you will either love it or hate it. You can always switch to the original Japanese VA and subtitles.

In Japan Blue Dragon has garnered high scores but in the western parts of the globe it's received mixed reviews. Why? Well some say it's not Oblivion Elder Scrolls and that it offers nothing new. I don't think the original creators intended on Blue Dragon as being anything near complex as Oblivion or pushing the RPG genre to new heights like each final Fantasy game it's just 'old skool' turn-based RPG with great story telling. Basically if you enjoyed games like Dragon Quest, the early Final fantasy games, chrono trigger, Lunar games and Grandia etc you will feel right at home with Blue Dragon.

Blue dragon starts off as an ok game but it gets much better the more you play the more the characters open up and the more skills you learn! I can't really put my finger on why... the usual grind of levelling up each character and their 'jobs' is fun and the story telling is very well done. This is rare as a lot of people get bored half way with most of today's RPG games and never complete them. Other internet reports say the game is too easy... well the battles and boss fights can be tricky and tense, completing the game is not overly difficult... What will TEST you is unlocking all of those 43 achievements this is for the real hardcore blue dragon fans!

Also as I'm typing this if you connected your xbox 360 to the internet you can download the patch to make the game very hard! Plus there should be other downloadable content in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but with the usual dubbing faults, 1 Jan 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a genuinly fun RGP; little sidequests for the hardcore and many many shiny little items in items in chests for the treasure hunters. And teh ability to skip both of those for gamers with left time on their hands.
Although at 3-disks in length time is something you will need.

Battles are fun too, you hit an enemy to cause a battle with it and by using field tactics you can lure multiple ones into the frey. You can use items, attack or use magic in a Final Fantasy 3 reminicant class system.
On thing that FF3 did not have however is that here you can dabble in multiple classes, pick up the skills, and use them in other classes. Adding both fun, strategy and flexibility.

So on the good side there is a lengthy story, battle play variety and a genuinly fun experiance.
On the other hand it was imported and that always causes the inevitable dubbing issues - unusually this game doesn't dub enough! So many things like wording and catchphrases that would work in Japan just don't swing well over here. The main characters love of the words "I will never give up!" are only said at the most innapropriate times, that is; when your NOT ACTUALLY FIGHTING, when your, say; crashing a plane or falling into an ocean.

Akira Tokiyama took his artistic hands to character design again, just as he did in Dragon Quest, and although his talents in that area are good, the silly and oftain pink swily poo (of which there are LOADS) sense of humor can go amiss with western audiances. I think fans of Tokiyamas "Doctor Slump" or the Dragon Quest series will feel right at home with these touches

I could continue to ramble about flaws, oh believe me i could, but i could do that same for the good things and so i think this game should be summed up shortly thus:

Hours of genunine fun that i would highly recommend, and minutes of required patientce along the way which i would not.
Buy if your looking for a good long RPG to indulge in and don't if your not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Um..,, I am 17 hours in and I am still not sure whether I like it...., 30 Jan 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is odd. I suppose that is true of most japanese games but this one really takes the cake.

The Positives: The graphics are lovely, the combat is easy to understand and interacting with your environment is simple. The menu system looks a bit intimidating at first but you'll soon work out how to best use your items and dragons well. The levelling system for your character/dragon is excellent and interesting. The game is MASSIVE with a vast array of towns, villages creatures and a huge story. The learning curve is not too steep and the game teaches you enough so that you aren't stumbling around frustrated. As with all japanese RPG's I've seen, the combat is turn based and this allows you time to think about strategy - and in your harder battles you will have to use many different kinds of magic to defeat your enemies.

The Negatives: The story (so far) is odd and not very engaging. I don't care that much about my main characters, they aren't very interesting. The combat can be highly repetative and there are times when you are just battling the same monster over and over again by just using your basic attack - a waste of time - but if you skip it, your character will be too low level to beat bosses. The map screen is all but pointless - it just doesn't help you. Finally , and I have saved the most irritating problem for last, you can't save anywhere and there can be waaay to much play time between save points. I just don't think a feature like that should ever be incorporated into a game. I mean who wants to be stuck at their console and unable to save if you get bored??

Worth a try if you have 5 years to spare and love jrpg's. Otherwise I'd probably give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Review..., 28 Feb 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been playing blue dragon for quite some hours now and feel I have to add a fair an honest review of the game to level the playing field a little. Firstly I tend not to take too much notice of reviews and hence don't blame you if you ignore mine, but I will try to be as fair and unbiased as possible. Firstly the beginning of the game - and by the beginning I mean the whole of the first disc and a good bit of the second (there are three in total) is very average and quite often yawn educing. The game play throughout is typical turn based fare but the first disc is completely bog standard and unexciting. After that it does get more fun, but that's a long time to stick something out and I wouldn't blame anyone for giving up and trading in because there is very little pay off for your hours of input. Even after the initial hurdle is cleared the game doesn't really break new ground or offer anything overly fantastic - it's just a solid JRPG with a slightly off putting slew of cringe worthy characters and a by the book, heard it a thousand times before, story. However as I said before; it's a solid enough experience with some cool spells and ideas, albeit brought on more than a little late in the game, and if you're looking for a decent length adventure which isn't too offensive you could do a lot worse - especially for the bargain basment price it's now going for. Let's hope Lost Odyssey is something special. Cheers for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game...for Dragon Quest fans!, 18 Sep 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this game! I'm a big fan of turned-based RPG games and this one certainly hits the mark, even the cut scenes are good! I sat through most of them and usually I'm a chronic 'skipper' (you have the option to skip if you want to). This game really reminded me of my Dragon Quest days, it has a similar cartoony look and plays very similar, but the good thing is that you can see the enemies and dodge them if you want to, you can even take an invisibility potion and sneak your way around, checking pipes and barrels etc and opening chests. There are plenty of ways to upgrade your character with equipment, skills and extras and you can swap and choose your class of character, be it more magical or stronger etc, and each has their own special skills to unlock. This game is sooo much fun you wont want it to end. There are plenty of little side quests and surprises, there's always something to go back for. Another advantage is that through the whole game I never once had to 'grind' to get to the right level (yipee). My one and only critisism is the map, it didn't seem to help me at all, and I ended up using the compass for directions, but it wasn't a massive deal. Teleport your way around villages dungeons and fields, with boss fights around every corner and a great little story line to keep you engaged, what is there not to like?

Trust me if you like Dragon Quest and Final Fantasy games you'll love this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great JRPG, 3 Sep 2007
By 
PL Tuck (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm really enjoying this game. I'll not repeat what the reviewer below said, but I will say that JRPG's are a kind of marmite game genre. You either like them or you don't. Personally I like them as they are fairly slow paced, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, despite what mags and forumites would have you believe. Blue Dragon is a slow burner in much the same way the Final Fantasy series are. Blue Dragon though, seems to me to be more focused than FF games, especially in the skills / level system, which I think is very innovative, simple to understand, yet hard to master. I also really like the way you can take on multiple monster groups with the encounter circle, and even have monsters weaken or kill each other for you.

It is a 3 DVD game, and I am still on disc 1 as I'm taking my time with it (and I have 4 other games I'm playing regularly at the moment....so many games, not enough hours!), but I'm having a really good time with it.

I've marked it down slightly due to some relatively minor graphical issues, such as framerate slowdown, which considering where it is happening to me (field screens - not much eye candy), shouldn't be happening on the 360. The other slight markdown is that so far, the game has been quite easy, with none of my characters getting KO'd yet. I'm hoping hoping it'll get more challenging as I get further in.

I'd highly recommended this if you have the patience for this type of game. You won't be blasting through this in a few days (well I guess you could, but you'd miss so much).

A quick tip for any new players......level your generalist shadows when you can, as it opens up extra skill slots, and allows you to use special accesories that become available a little later in the game. I tend to level my shadows in 5's so for example, I got Shu's Sword Master to 10, then Generalist to 10, the Sword master to 15 and so on. This seems to work well. Each of my characters is multiskilled, with everyone having 2 classes, and everyone having generalist as a 3rd class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Dragon (Xbox 360)
Blue Dragon (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews