Customer Reviews
Nw5


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've still got it!, 24 Feb 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Barcode: 5060065582236

I was inspired to buy this after seeing their great performance on Jools Holland's show and i wasn't dissapointed. The title track is a charming slice of retro styled ska-pop opening with a nice little piano hook. The Full Length Version has a long, extended outro. B-side Bittersweet works equally well. The only let down is the Man Like Me remix - it's not a dance version at all but just a weird reworking full of random noises, i wasn't that keen on it.

Special mention must also go to the packaging - i was well surprised when i bought the CD thinking it'd come in just a standard jewel-case but instead it comes in this fake vinyl packaging - it's a cool little touch and i like it!

Track listing:
1. NW5 (Radio Edit)
2. NW5 (Full Length Version)
3. Bittersweet
4. NW5 (Man Like Me Remix)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MADNESS sheer joy!!!, 14 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Its always great to hear that Madness are releasing new material and it seems that the muse has not left them. NW5 is a bittersweet slice of classic English pop music in true Madness fashion. There really is no other modern band who could turn a potentially downbeat set of lyrics into something so wonderful and joyful. In a lesser bands hands this wouldnt have worked, but Madness prove they still have that edge, an edge that puts them in the higher echelons of fine British pop music.
A truly great track for the now, a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic piece of Madness from Camden's finest...., 15 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Nw5 [7" VINYL] (Vinyl)
Madness prove they still have what it takes 30 years down the road from their first single The Prince. This has all the classic Madness hallmarks - thumping piano, great sax breaks, melancholy lyrics given an upbeat twist by the melody.

One warning however the track listing as shown in the product details for this particular item is incorrect...if you're buying the 7" vinyl all you get is NW5 (Full Length Version) on the A-side, and Bittersweet (an Undertones cover) on the B-side. (Ahhh those were the days when records came with A and B sides!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Madness!, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Here is the lastest in a long line of great Madness Singles, NW5 is such a great track with meaning and feeling. If you like some of Madness's previous attempts you won't be dissapointed.
It is also a great buy, as you get 4 tracks, 2 versions of NW5, a great cover of the Undertones Song Bitterseet and a unusual, but great remix of NW5 titled "Man like me".
The CD also comes in an 7inch sleeve which gives it this great retro feeling.
I'd certainly recommend you buy this masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It Now, 11 Jan 2008
By 
I. M. Wall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Now is the time for you all to put Madness back where they should be topping the charts. All you need to do is: Buy It Now. The BONUS is you get to own a classic Madness single. Now stop reading this and get buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Madness, 1 April 2008
By 
Craig Taylor (Scuthorpe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Another great release from the Nutty boys!
This German release was released back in 2007, alongside a feature film, that contained NW5 and a remix of It Must be Love.
The EP contains 4 tracks, NW5 (the radio edit), It Must Be Love (A longer Rerecording), NW5 (Full Length) and NW5 (Live from 06 Tour)
It is important to note that the NW5 on this release is a different version than the english release, and in my opion it is not as good as the newer english version which is more upbeat and textured. But all in all it is a great release.
It is a must have for any Madness fan!

Plus it includes the NW5 video in the theme of the film featuring Suggs, Chas, Woody and Actors from the film. It also includes the New Must be Love Video which featured in the films credits and a making of video (in German). A must have for a Madness Fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madness back to their best..., 5 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
A slice of classic Madness that shows the Mad-nificent 7 are still very much alive and kicking. This song has been known to the bands fans for some time now having been aired on their Xmas 2006 tour and played at various live appearances throughout 2007 culminating in a "live" performance on Jools Hollands Hootenanny. Finally due for release on 14th January in a number of formats all I can recommend is that you buy it!!

The track listing for the CD is actually as follows - not as listed by Amazon:

(1) NW5 (Radio Edit)
(2) NW5 (Full Length Version)
(3) Bittersweet (cover of an Undertones song)
(4) NW5 (Man Like Me Remix)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great song, shame about the production, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Dr. D. J. Kearney (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
This is a classic Madness pop song, but I can't help feeling that the production on this record leaves something to be desired. The general sound is a bit "mushy", Suggs sounds like he's got a sore throat and the backing vocals are out of tune on the line "for just a song to sing". Still can't wait for the new album though, whenever that will be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not sure on the pacakaging, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Bunyan "jak_amneziak" (Luton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nw5 (Audio CD)
Madness have come up trumps again with a classic song here but two points of note.
1) im not sure if they should have released nw7. I think bittersweet (the b-side) is much better and should have been the a-side.
2) the packaging that i got was a little annoying as i couldn't store it with the rest of my cd's, had to be in my vinyl collection which is annoying. That said get the disc and the track because these guys could be one of the few good things to come out of the music industry this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nw5
Nw5 by Madness (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews