Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a winner
I was a little sceptical about how much fun this would be and whether these coptors really fly. No worries. They are amazing and even my wife's raised eyebrows quickly turned to a smile. My 2 girls think they are 'cool' Even the 8 year old could fly one within a few minutes.

The flying time is as short it suggests but still enough time to enjoy it. It says...
Published on 7 Dec. 2007 by bartman

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No staying power
A great idea, and it was huge fun for about 2 weeks. BUT then the tail rotor needed replacing and in the removal and refitiing procedure suddenly it didn't rotate at all. So one helicopter down... The next one lasted about a month longer. I don't think that's value for money. Toys like scaletrix and lego still work after 20 years!
Published on 14 May 2008 by L. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a winner, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
bartman (battle e sussex) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
I was a little sceptical about how much fun this would be and whether these coptors really fly. No worries. They are amazing and even my wife's raised eyebrows quickly turned to a smile. My 2 girls think they are 'cool' Even the 8 year old could fly one within a few minutes.

The flying time is as short it suggests but still enough time to enjoy it. It says don't use rechargeable batteries but I seem to remember another website saying that you can safely ignore these warnings.

It will be interesting to see how durable these coptors are - you get spare rear blades. I haven't had long enough to know.

If you aren't convinced whether this is worth the money check out the video that is on manufacturer's website.

Could be the toy of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool!, 4 Mar. 2008
By 
S. W. Robson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
These two helicopters are brilliant i stood on one the day after i recieved them, and to be honest i found it increadably easy to fix. after straightening the roter axl and putting the thing back together i could barely tell the difference. mine are still going now even 3 and a half months later, tho i cant help but wander if i should move on to an X gyrator or a 3 channel... i would however rate the single one of these as they are a little easyer to control, and do not waight them until you have got to grips with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the price!!, 14 Dec. 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
I purchased these for my nephew for xmas and obvioulsy I had to give them a trial run.

My intention was to give them a quick go and then wrap them up.

Im now logging on to buy more as myself and my partners daughter (aged 7) can't put them down.

Yes they are fragile and yes you will be buying replacement tail rotors but what do you really expect for £13 each? Anyhow these things fly!!!

My only complaint is that they only last 5 mins before the charge wears out but on the plus side they only take 10-15 mins to charge. Also the shooting aspect is not all that as the infra-red beem bounces off the walls and you can hit each other from anywhere. I guess a bigger space than my living room is needed.

Dont think about buying them just do it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good IFun nexpensive RC Helicopters, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
General
-------
First thing to state is that these are very inexpensive when considering you get 2 RC helicopters in the pack, so this must be considered when assessing them.

Robustness
----------
The helicopters are small light and robust enough to put up with "abuse" in unskilled hands such as mine. That is to say, they can be crashed into walls, cupboards etc. and dropped from ceiling height with no apparent damage. There are also some minor spares for the most vulnerable parts, provided in the pack. The Controllers feel sturdy and of surprisingly high quality.

Controllability
---------------
Read the instructions first (not something I usually do!) in order to calibrate the helicopters each time you use them after charging. I have found that one of the helicopters in my pack does not quite have enough adjustment to fully correct the natural "spinning" caused by having a rotor whizzing around on top of a very light body.

Charging
--------
The helicopters charge from the control units using what looks a bit like a really small USB-type connector that is neatly hidden in a compartment on the top. This is great because it is simple, convenient and best of all seems to work well.

Overall Value
-------------
My 5 (and a 1/4 - very important!) year old son and I play with these and he has no problems controlling the helicopter - in fact dare I say it he may even have more control than me, although I put this down to the previously mentioned adjustment issue (see "Controllability" above). To be honest we are into February now, still using them and still having fun so this must be a good sign. However, these should not be bought with the expectation of getting top of the range RC `copters with precise controllability; although they are good fun and it is definitely frustrating when you're shot out of the sky and good fun if you're the one doing the shooting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 10 Feb. 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
These 2 helicopters have been brilliant, durable and easy to use, we bought them for our teenage sons for Christmas and we've all had a go at shooting each other down. Good fun. You do need a bit of air space and not too many fragile ornaments in the room to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filling the generation gap, 17 Jan. 2009
By 
B. T. Davidson (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
A joint Christmas present for my husband(55) and son(13) these helicopters fly beautifully, haven't broken yet despite being used almost daily over the 3 weeks since christmas and have been voted best christmas present of 08 by both of them.It's great fun being a spectator too!
Most successful present I've ever bought and I didn't spend a fortune, what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars future helicopter pilots - start here, 5 Jan. 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
This is so much fun. I was unsure how durable the copters would be, but my fears were ungrounded, since they survived Christmas and New Year with only superficial damage. The laser zapping element adds to the delight, and is definitely worth the extra money. For indoor use only, because even on the calmest days they soars away, outside.
I would definitely recommend this for young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 28 Dec. 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
I got these for Christmas after finding them on the site. I thought that they would be a little bit of fun, but not brilliant. I was wrong.

These helicopters are a very good laugh. You can fly them well enough to use after the first couple of minutes; leaning to fly them really well however takes two or three recharges.

They are also very durable, I have flown mine into various walls, ceilings, floors and small children, and they still work, save for a bit of plastic taken out of one of the main propellers. They do take about two or three times as long to charge each time as you get flying time, if you follow the "wait ten or fifteen minutes after use before charging" rule in the booklet.

The only disappointing thing about them was the fact that each controller (that the helicopters charge of) require 6 AA (LR6) batteries. I should have realised, but a bit disappointing on Christmas day as we didn't have enough.

Overall, Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No staying power, 14 May 2008
By 
L. Richardson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
A great idea, and it was huge fun for about 2 weeks. BUT then the tail rotor needed replacing and in the removal and refitiing procedure suddenly it didn't rotate at all. So one helicopter down... The next one lasted about a month longer. I don't think that's value for money. Toys like scaletrix and lego still work after 20 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great fun but not fragile!, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
Dawn Smith (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverlit Sky Challenger 2-Channel Remote Control Twin Helicopter Set (One Pair of Products on Alternative Frequencies) (Toy)
My 11 year old son had this for christmas and the concept is brilliant. Fairly easy to fly but while one flies well, the other doesn't - seems to be a common problem in other reviews. As the point of this set is to have 2 copters flying and attacking each other, one non functioning one reduces the value of the product somewhat. On the plus side, the functioning one charges up quicker and flies longer than expected (using 2000 mAmp hrs rechargable batteries). If we can get it replaced with 2 functioning copters, i would give it full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews