Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die, die, we all pass away; but don't wear a frown, 'cos it's really ok :)
Tim Burton has done it again! The story of our own jubilicously lovely corpse bride :) This is a funny, romantic, sweet and just a little bir creepy adventure with a great sense of humor and wonderful songs. It is more "grown-up" when compared to Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas; Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham's voices have added so much to the characters. Make sure you...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by Miranda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Please could you help me?
I ordered this DVD but when it arrived the case was snapped, this was meant to be a present, could I have another please.
Published 3 months ago by LeiaLoveirng


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die, die, we all pass away; but don't wear a frown, 'cos it's really ok :), 11 Oct 2006
Tim Burton has done it again! The story of our own jubilicously lovely corpse bride :) This is a funny, romantic, sweet and just a little bir creepy adventure with a great sense of humor and wonderful songs. It is more "grown-up" when compared to Burton's Nightmare Before Christmas; Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham's voices have added so much to the characters. Make sure you buy the movie together with the soundtrack. A must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necro-mungous, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Stuart R. Allen "Extreme Dom" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm largely a fan of Tim Burtons work, bar a couple, and having seen this for the first time recently I have to say that it's a work of art.

When I first saw Nightmare before Christmas I felt it was lacking something. Burtons reliance upon his saccharin goth formula has been tiresome in some of his recent outings. But the gnarly silhouetted backdrops and jaunty atmospheric soundtrack by Danny Elfman suited this film down to the ground, no pun intended.

The plot was slightly cutesy in places but with Burtons astonishing eye for detail and depth of scenery you soon become lost in it all.

With the Pixar animation machine taking over the world at the moment churning out throw-away plots it was refreshing to see a stop motion flick come up with something that looks as beautiful as this does.

With Burton and Depp both being staunch 'Anglo-philes' it was no surprise to see a strong British cast lending their voices to this film.

If you're a fan of Tim Burton and have yet to see this, I strongly urge you to do so because the magic he weaves in his films has never been so perfectly executed as it was in this film. One in the eye for Pixar I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade from DVD to Blu-ray, 28 Dec 2008
I can't imagine the picture looking better than it does on Blu-ray. I previously owned the DVD but will be passing that on now. The Blu-ray is captivating and really makes the most of the contrast between the more monochromatic and colourful sequences. The 4 stars is because even though the film is good, it feels lacking a certain something, particularly in the abruptness (to my taste) of the ending...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 6 Feb 2007
By 
My six-year old daughter introduced me to this film, which she saw at a friend's house. She says it is "beautiful and sad at the same time". We have watched it together a few times now and I think she is spot on! To my mind much better than the Nightmare Before Christmas; there is a superb cast of voices as well as all the visual delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for everyone, 21 Nov 2005
This is one of those films that your laughing all the way through and think in the middle 'Hang on why am i laughing?'
With witty little things that make you laugh and reminds you every minute of 'A Nightmare Before Christmas' yet has a totally different story this film flows nicely and leaves you at the end not feeling tired because it went on so long or dissapointed because it finished to quick.
This film is one that you can sit there on a wet Sunday afternoon with the kids and watch over and over again.
A real must see. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love and marriage deserve to die, 6 Dec 2006
By 
Do not try to disentangle and find out all the allusions this film contains. You will always miss most of them, even Hamlet. Just enjoy the animation that is superbly creative and the situation that is so full of humor, black and white and in colors, that you may end up losing your marbles and loosening your jaws. The music is definitely marvelous and mysterious. A Danse Macabre in high noble society and a wedding march in the cemetery. An accidental marriage crossing the life and death divide that has to be repaired to satisfy the true right love marriage that could not take place due to some infernal elopement or kidnaping of the bridegroom. The characters are superb marionnettes and cartoons so nimble and yet stiff at the same time that they seem to be dancing cripples in wheelchairs. It's true though the dog is the best of them all. This film is a caricature, a satire of any commonplace trite established statement and of any attempt at being creative and escaping this preprogramed and overdigested world of ours. You will think of many other films and you will be right, though you will miss most of them. At times it is a direct allusion like an echo and at times it is an indirect allusion like a photographic negative. And the best of it all is that it is neither gross nor frightening, but deeply romantic, with maybe a touch of slavonic nostalgia and sadness.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University of Paris Dauphine & University of Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different beauty, 26 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked "A Nightmare Before Christmas" you'll absolutely enjoy this one as well. I must admit that I really admire most of Tim Burton's films, as they really seem to go beneath the surface in a most profound and original way and really do have a lot of heart and depth. A film, which is about a guy who accidentally marries a `dead' woman and therefore is taken to the underworld of the dead and hold there against his wish bound by his vow, would normally seem to be a rather dark and sinister film, but not in this case, this is a beautiful film. It is almost `classical' in its style of telling its tale, but at the same time of cause, being a Tim Burton film, `unusual'. This is about magic & love versus vanity & evil, but the film also has a lot of humour and irony, which is unfolded in a glorious way. It is also a film about redemption, and dare I say, it has a wonderful ending where everything falls into place. The music is also a big part of this movie and Danny Elfman, who is a great film composer, has really delivered some stunning tunes. This is a real gem by the maestro - don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corpse bride., 17 Feb 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Another dark, kooky gem from Burton. This has an original storyline and amazing animation. There's great music and so many funny little touches to watch out for. The voices are perfect and the story is fun enough for kids and still manages to engage adults. A worthy partner to Burtons other classic 'Nightmare before Christmas'. Give it a go, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MAGICAL FILM, 21 Dec 2006
I first watched this film at the cinema and enjoyed it, then I saw it in an offer and bought it along with 4 other films. I watched this for a second time last night in bed and enjoyed it once again.

This is by the creator's of NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS and I enjoyed that so with this I knew I was in for a treat. TIM BURTON has done it again and created a timeless film to be enjoyed by young and old alike.

This might be a bit scary for the younger cildren (3 - 5) but children older will enjoy it. But the film is a PG so it's upto the parents really weather they let their children see this.

Set in a 19th European village, this stop - motion animated feature follows the story of Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp), a young man whisked away to the underworld and wed to a mysterious Corpse Bride (voiced by Helena Bonham Carter), while his real bride Victoria (voiced by Emily Watson) waits bereft in the land of the living. Though life in the Land of the Dead proves to be a lot more colourful than his strict upbringing, Victor learns that there is nothing in this world - or the next - that can keep him away from his one true love.

It's a really good film and a film that I think will stand the test of time like NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS did. I really enjoyed it and I think most other people will.

Thank You for eading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you don't like this film, you must be dead, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just cannot, cannot believe that there is ANYONE on planet Earth who doesn't like 'The Corpse Bride'. Why don't you just bury yourselves and be done with it? You're dead; you're the only ones who don't know it. Either that, or you must be the same people who keep 'Big Momma's House', 'Disaster Movie' and countless other excremental drivel in the cinema - they're clearly more to your level of intellect. I despair. It seems the number of people who can actually tell the difference between a turd and a diamond is dwindling rapidly.

I first saw 'The Corpse Bride' on TV a few days ago, and immediately fell in love with it. Even the damn TV voice-over loved it, expressing her admiration as the credits rolled (and you don't hear that often). I quickly got it on DVD to treasure forever. What more can I say? The story is enchanting and charmingly original; the voice-casting is first-class; the stop-motion animation is just sublimely well done; the songs are ghoulishly good (the song the Corpse Bride sings to herself is just adorable and touching). I could go on.

'The Corpse Bride' deserves to be up there along with 'Toy Story', 'Monsters Inc', 'WALL-E', 'Shrek' as not only one of the greatest children's films of all time, but one of the greatest films full stop. If you do not like this film then not only do you not have a heart, you are one of the reasons why this world is in such a mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e2a1024)

This product

Corpse Bride [HD DVD]
Corpse Bride [HD DVD] by Tim Burton (HD DVD - 2007)
9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews