Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial but well worth a watch
If you don't like films that are straight to the point or show things exactly how they are without the gloss then I'd avoid this but otherwise I'd definitely recommend you view it. This is a film full of the gritty truth that is teenage life and isn't just another glossy hollywood export. It doesn't deny what really goes on behind closed doors or make things appear so...
Published on 6 May 2007 by J.E.T

versus
86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Old Larry pushes the boat out
Another enjoyably depraved offering from the director with a disturbing fascination with teenage kicks. This was made before the equally explicit Destricted segment, before Bully even. The loose theme of this one is twisted family units. We have a macho Dad with an obsession for his more sensitive son, consume by the idea that he looks like his wife. A religious father...
Published on 27 Feb. 2008 by J. Pogmore


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial but well worth a watch, 6 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
If you don't like films that are straight to the point or show things exactly how they are without the gloss then I'd avoid this but otherwise I'd definitely recommend you view it. This is a film full of the gritty truth that is teenage life and isn't just another glossy hollywood export. It doesn't deny what really goes on behind closed doors or make things appear so much better than they are. If you want a real view of teenagers then maybe this is the one for you.

Of course there are always going to be the critics that say this is practically pornography and in a way they have a point. The difference is that this isn't designed to tittilate, it's designed to show reality. Sex is something that teenagers go through and this is something that is explored here along with realtionships with family and friends. It's about that phase in life where you are experimenting and learning who you are. Of course some difficult themes arise along the way such as that of suicide and so there are some scenes you may find disturbing. If you really look closely though it seems that this is only on the surface and if you look past all that there is a very touching and profound story there. Overall I feel this is a film which should be taken seriously and given the credit it deserves.

It follows on from films such as 'Kids' and 'Bully' and is along the same kind of lines in what it deals with. I'd definitely recommend you give it a go unless you are someone who is easily offended because I think there is a valuable message here.

The DVD is a good quality and, even though it's imported, it is easy enough to change the settings to English and suchlike so that is nothing to worry about. It is well worth watching because it has a real point behind it. Give it a try, you might be a little shocked at first but you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Porn with plot, 22 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Russian version in English) (Uncut Uncensored Director's Version - Import) (DVD)
One might say that this film is as near to hardcore pornography as can be attained in main stream cinema. However, that is untrue. This film never made the main stream: it had little cinematic showing and was released on DVD by a little known Russian company rather than by a major USA distributor. Those readers of this review who have ever seen hardcore pornography, and care to admit it, will realise that such is fundamentally boring. Views of naked bosoms, bottoms, male and female genitalia, and said, explicitly combined in action do not excite interest for long. There is plenty of that in this film. Yet, it has a plot, of sorts, which, if one is under of the influence of a bottle or so of wine, is quite absorbing. Nevertheless, the film would be very short if the sex scenes were hinted at rather than shown explicitly. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Old Larry pushes the boat out, 27 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Pogmore ""trash hound"" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Russian version in English) (Uncut Uncensored Director's Version - Import) (DVD)
Another enjoyably depraved offering from the director with a disturbing fascination with teenage kicks. This was made before the equally explicit Destricted segment, before Bully even. The loose theme of this one is twisted family units. We have a macho Dad with an obsession for his more sensitive son, consume by the idea that he looks like his wife. A religious father whose daughter, Peaches, looks the dead spit of his late wife, but she's sexuality active which leads to a bizarre confrontation. Add to this a neurotic teen with a hatred for his grandparents and a fondness for Michael Hutchence type masturbatory experiments. Oh, and a young lad enyoying a relationship with a mother and daughter. Chuck in a hardcore threesome featuring Peaches and two of the guys, plus an unfaked scene of oral sex. It's a heady brew allright, neeedlessly explicit, light on plot but you do get the feeling Clark is messing with us a bit because in a very nasty black way it's pretty funny. Gotta admire his stones, but Larry needs help, and you'll feel like you need a wash.
Not for Gran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch this DCD more than once, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. MO MCCARTHY "Mike" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching this DVD was an interesting experience for me. I'll probably watch it again. The narrative or story line was complicated and meandering with many characters in different real life and believable situations. The young, sexually active, teenagers lived their lives in a different world that didn't so much overlap with the adult world as impinge on it with little or no love or engagement.
The oral sex scene with the boy and the older woman was spell binding while being real and believable. Their dialogue after her orgasm perhaps held the key to what it is all about.
There was lots to think about including teen suicide, lack of communication, religious insanity, bondage, domination and the futility of life.
There were probably other things which passed me bye first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to watch, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
This is a tough movie to review. Really tough. To be honest, I completely flipped my opinion about it at least 4 times whilst watching it. At first I thought it was interesting, then needlessly pornographic, then confused, and finally brave and inspired.

First let me give my opinion on the huge amount of sex. Up until the end of the movie, I thought, you know, perhaps what people say about Larry Clark is true. But if you really think about it, sure, he covers sex a lot, but so do sexologists. It's their field. This seems to be the field Clark wants to talk about. That doesn't make him a sex maniac, much like horror movie makers aren't necessarily obsessed with murder. They are simply interested and have something to say. As for why the sex is relevant in this film, well that's obvious. Without showing how sexual these teenagers are, it would never really hit home. Never would it have quite the same impact as it has. Without showing the sex so explicitly, it would just have been there without consideration, but by showing it, Clark makes it the centrepiece of the movie. Now what he's saying about sex, I think is up for debate.

It seems to me that the movie is trying to convey a thousand messages all at once. Whether it be alienation from their parents, child abuse, the causes of child abuse i.e poverty, the causes of teen sex i.e neglectful home lives, or the psyche of the teenage mind. It's this last point that strikes me as particularly brave about this movie. Larry Clark is stating that teenagers like sex. A lot. But he's not allowing the audience to forget it either. He's saying that when we ignore this that bad things happen. Ken Park's situation for example. And, by the way, in my opinion, that's why the movie is called Ken Park- His suicide is an analogy for the point- sex education is necessary- safe sex. The almost surreal ending with the three teens talking about sex being their escape, even Utopian, because it lets them escape their lives I found particularly inspired. Like his other movies, Clark's trying to make people realise that we can't treat teenagers as kids- because they're not.

On another note, something I particularly liked which I don't usually was the use of mirrors. In the scene where the abusive father seems ambivalent about molesting his son, just before he walks to his room he's shown looking in the mirror, then the camera watches as he and the reflection leave. A nice way to show that he's just changed for the rest of his life.

PS- You should not be watching any film cut or in any way censored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Not uncut version, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because i had seen Ken Park before, but it was 89 minutes long, and this stated to be 97 minutes long, so i was excited to see all the material that had been cut in the previous version i had seen. But i was disappointed when the DVD arrived because, even though it even says 97 minutes on the backcover of the DVD, it is in fact the usual version that is 89 minutes long. So do not buy this if you're after a longer cut of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in all senses., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
The end comments by the director should have been made before the start of this movie. This would have explained all the stunning scenes more believable.
I was amazed to discover that all the actors had no acting experience whatsoever before being chosen to play the scenes in this great movie. No doubt about it the acting by teenagers with no acting talents was absolutely out of this world. This was especially so as the sexual scenes portrayed was mind boggling and so true of real life in the big outdoor world beyond the cinema.
I congratulate everyone associated with this movie as it was perfection to a fine degree.
I think this would have been a most difficult movie to create as it is so real in performance and character.
These young actors will turn up in many more films of the future as they were so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as KIDS, just more explicit, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
This is a light but non easy on the eye documentary styled film, delving into teenage life. There are some explicit sex scenes as the teens rebel and experiment, fighting back against restricting parents. This stands out and overshadows any valid message and makes it look poor compared to KIDS (1995) with this a follow-up film.

Ken Park is a mini doco type film about several kids (class-mates) in California, beginning with a suicide in Ken Park. The grainy off-colour flick focuses in on teens with peculiar parents that are affecting them, and ventures on a journey of sex, power and lessons about young life.

It is all a bit hazy, lacking a point and far superior to Kids, with less likeable characters, being not as well shot or scripted and thus ends up more expressive as a documentary than film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ART YOU IDIOTS!, 18 Sept. 2006
By 
N. Mellor "guitarfusion nerd" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
Larry Clark's "Ken Park" continues his exploration of teenage ennui and alienation begun in "Kids" and "Bully" but offers a wider exploration of family and social dynamics in a small lower middle class community in modern day California.

The movie is unavailable in many countries and this edition appears to be from Holland as the text on the box is Dutch. Sound and picture are excellent quality, allaying my fears that this might be a semi-bootleg. When the film originally appeared the reviewers largely fell back on ta perceived dichotomy between art and porn in Clark's films focusing on the amount of late-teens flesh on display in his films. Reviewers felt a need to adopt a stance in relation to the "Is it art or porn?" question. Clark's films are often deconstructed by seeing the director as a dirty old man looking for an excuse to photograph naked teenagers. This is highly reductive, short-sighted and probably says more about the insecurities of those middle-aged critics who review the films feeling uncomfortable in the presence of Clark's honest, gritty and rather dark presentation of human relations. To me Clark is aesthetically akin to Todd Solondz, PT Anderson and Robert Altman and the equal of any of these critically lauded directors.

"Ken Park" is both Clark's subtlest film and his most explicit and violent. To me Clark is an artist who has transcended the anodyne midle class morality that we all pay lip service to in our daily lives and has come up with a searing account of a society crippled by dysfuctional family relationships. There are a number of carefully drawn father figures in this film; where once they were largely absent (see Kids and Bully), here they are intrusive, dominant and overbearing, offering only "tough love" or dogma to their children who are rapidly approaching adulthood with an overwhelming sense of crisis. In fact, the adults or no more emotionally or sexually mature than the teenagers and the boundaries between the two groups are seen as increasingly blurry as adults try to stay young and teenagers yearn for freedom and independence. The young characters are victims of their parents' insecurities which are projected onto them. Clark presents a psychological war between the generations that often spills over into violence and thus, abuse; everyone is hopelessly lost and blaming their parents or children for their problems.

The photography as you would expect with Clark is excellent and has a hazy luminous look as well as a raw, gritty documentary feel at times. The film is full of subtly brilliant framing and composition which doesn't hit you over the head like pseudo- gritty big budget Hollywood films like "21 Grams". The cast of largely unknowns is superb and the screenplay by Harmony Korine authentically captures the dialogue of disaffected Californian teen angst( well what I imagine it to be like).

In "Ken Park" then, Clark shows great maturity and vision as a filmmaker, achieving a sort of heightened reality reminiscent of Gus Van Sant's "Elephant", while also setting in motion a story of independent but interlocking lives reminiscent of Altman's "Short Cuts". Clark/Korine crucially never retreats into Altman's cynicism or Solondz's kitsch as distancing devices instead thrusting the viewer into the heart of the raw emotions being explored. Mention should also go to the superb use of music in Clark's films which is comparable to Scorsese's use of pop and rock (and hip-hop in this film) to add depth and richness to the milieu presented.

Clark is to mainstream depictions of teenage Americans like "The O.C." what Ken Loach is to Coronation Street and Eastenders. So ignore the dismissive, glib reviews: Clark's films are for those who like their films equal part beautiful and disturbing, a sort of rock n roll Werner Herzog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sometiles funny, sometimes shocking but uncut version essential!, 19 May 2014
By 
Maneblusser 7 (Mechelen - Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ken Park (Uncut) [Import] (DVD)
I bought this title some time ago and therefore it is hard to say whether this was a direct Amazon deal or a Marketplace seller.
Anyway, I did like the film quite a lot, and actually viewed some of the chapters more than once again.
It is a mixture of several storylines which at some point overlap. I admit there are some disturbing scenes (but then rather the violent than sexual ones). The (sometimes very explicit) erotic scenes are made to look almost innocent and part of a local mentality amongst youngsters as well as (some) adults. I loved to see Sean go down on Rhonda especially since the filming angle showed how Rhonda's nipples started to grow and get hard which is a welcome change from those many faking actresses. She is after all also a extraordinary beautiful woman at that and the way she softly started to caress Shaun's penis in his underpants was quite arousing. The seemingly obvious attitude of the two young lads making love to the Latino girl was also striking (and explicit when she gave a blow job to one gay while getting screwed by the other) and having a load of fun. Anyway, I can recommend this one but only when you can get hold of the uncensored version. The director did a great job both the way he let the camera pick the angles as well as handling his cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews