Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Music!
It takes some time of listening when compared to Louder than Hell for example. But the more I listen to it, the more I love it. Including orchestration, symphonies and narrations, the album melds classical music with Manowar's signature sound, creating one hell of a beautiful atmosphere. This is Music! Eric's voice is, dare i say, clearer and more emotional than ever...
Published on 13 Mar. 2007 by Matthew Spagnol

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Runes Translated - by Heavy Metal Dave.
GODS OF WAR.

In every great mythology, there are powerful beings worshipped, respected and feared as bringers of victory, battle and death. These terrifying deities are the Gods of War. Gods of War is Manowar,s first entry in a cycle of concept albums, each a tribute to a different war god.

Opening with the booming orchestra piece, Overture to the...
Published on 1 April 2007 by J. Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Music!, 13 Mar. 2007
It takes some time of listening when compared to Louder than Hell for example. But the more I listen to it, the more I love it. Including orchestration, symphonies and narrations, the album melds classical music with Manowar's signature sound, creating one hell of a beautiful atmosphere. This is Music! Eric's voice is, dare i say, clearer and more emotional than ever before (take Blood Brothers for instance).

Songs like King of Kings, Sleipnir, Loki and Sons of Odin... especially Sons of Odin (in my case) will get you punching the air! Other songs are gonna get a tear to you eye, others will give you goosebumps. This is an emotional album, this is not noise-pollution like most of the modern junk we get nowadays, believe me THIS IS MUSIC. Just shut your eyes, blast those speakers full on and see for yourself. As per usual, this is an album to be played at high volume, no posers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to Manwar!!, 5 Mar. 2007
By 
Thor Hammer (Buckhurst Hill, Essex) - See all my reviews
Essential Manowar. A fantastic return to the form of yore. The packaging is unique and hints at whats to follow on disc. Manowar's lyrics, based on Norse mythology, are the icing on the musical cake. True Heavy Metal made even better by crisp, bright production and Manowar's obvious passion for the genre. Muscianship... flawless as usual. ESSENTIAL. Play very loud!! Hail the Kings of Metal. Await the arrival of the longships!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second coming, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After so many years of grief from the rock press, suddenly they have realised that Grunge was a flash in the pan, Nu-metal was as manufactured as the spice girls, and now Maiden and Priest are cool again. 'Battle metal' is having a resurgence also- 3 inches of blood, Dragon Force, Fintroll and others are all enjoying deserving success in this new wave of interest. But they are not 'the daddies'. They are not the best. They are not Manowar. Here come the old guard, the band that stuck to their artistic beliefs through the swirls and eddies of musical trends, maintained their vision when all around scoffed and scorned, and have returned to a public more receptive than any time in the last 20 years with an absolute belter of an album. The musicianship is guaranteed on manowar releases- incredible as always,and Adams voice is not cowed or weakened one jot by a long career of use and abuse. What makes this album so exciting is the energy and renewed purpose in the music. As with all Manowar albums, it is best listened to as a whole, rather than looking for standout tracks, and as a whole is easily up their with 'Hail to England' and 'Kings of Metal', and vastly superior to anything from 'Triumph of Steel' onwards.

The kings are back, wimps and posers leave the hall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 13 May 2013
By 
AndrewWkd (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This album is heavy as Thunder! Anyone who gives this 3* or less will be left behind in battle. Manowars music is so powerful and as I sit here doing homework, I can only imagine somewhere else in the world someone is also listening to this album and feeling as I do and that is to carry on and never give up and to be brothers of metal even if we are from different countries. Hail!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year?, 12 April 2007
By 
I'm not a die hard Manowar fan, in fact, this was the first release of theirs I'd bought since 'The Triumph of Steel'. I was intrigued by tales of orchestras, narration and a concept. I'm starting to feel a bit daft for having not bought any Manowar for such a long time as this album is outstanding. It's best played in one sitting because the album flows beautifully. I saw one reviewer (for a different edition) bemoaning the lack of metal on this album, but really, the album is crammed full of powerful music and the kind of steamroller power metal that you expect from Manowar. There is definitely no compromise on the metal front. However, the real strength is in the continuity between the classical/orchestrated sections and the out-and-out metal songs: the transition from 'The ascension' to 'King of kings' has to be one of the finest moments of metal ever committed to CD. It's easy to laugh at Manowar and to write them off as a joke, but they have created some of the defining moments in rock music over the past 25 years or so. This is their crowning glory and against all of my expectations may well be my album of the year. (PS Personally I didn't think the DVD with this special edition was particularly great unless you want to invest in a `custom built Manowar guitar, built to the highest specifications, for you, the fans ... etc.', a longer documentary on the making of the album would have been better).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods Of War, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
What can I say another outstanding album from the kings of metal! Touching, Moveing and Powerful.This album was well worth the wait it take`s more than one listen but each time you play it-it get`s better and better with songs such as King of Kings-Sleipnir-Loki-Blood brother-Sons of odin plus the mighty Glory Majesty Unity.All we need now is for them to play the U.K!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life changing, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods of War (MP3 Download)
Epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Runes Translated - by Heavy Metal Dave., 1 April 2007
GODS OF WAR.

In every great mythology, there are powerful beings worshipped, respected and feared as bringers of victory, battle and death. These terrifying deities are the Gods of War. Gods of War is Manowar,s first entry in a cycle of concept albums, each a tribute to a different war god.

Opening with the booming orchestra piece, Overture to the Hymn of the Immortal Warriors, an epic tone is set for an album beyond anything Manowar has ever done before. This album is a tribute to Odin, almighty father of the Norse gods and details the history and exploits of this storied character. His power and wisdom were unmatched among the gods and he was paid tribute with human sacrifice on the battlefield, as heard on the song The Sons Of Odin. In Norse mythology, no being is more powerful than Odin, allfather of the gods, creator of the world of men, god of magic, wisdom and war. One can imagine that Odin, also known as Wotan, displayed a rather imposing countenance. Wearing a wide-brimmed hat low over his face and having sacrificed one of his eyes to the purifying waters of Mimir,s spring beneath the root of the world tree in exchange for the wisdom of the ages.

Odin was not only god of war, but also lord of the hunt, the slain and poetic muse. Able to change his shape at will, Odin often travelled the earth in the guise of a mortal wanderer constantly gaining knowledge. Manowar pays homage to this high lord of Asgard in the epic canticle Odin, which recounts the great deity,s journey of self sacrifice which ended in the attainment of supreme power.

The world of the Norse gods was divided into separate realms. Asgard was the dwelling place of the gods of Aesir, while the ancient race of gods known as Vanir dwelled in Vanaheim. Midgard was the earthbound land of humans. Valhalla was a great hall that housed the Einherjar, the souls of great warriors who died a valiant death in battle who were escorted there by Odin,s beautiful horseback riding warrior women, the Valkyries. There were also the realms of Muspellheim, a flaming hell-world, and Niflheim, the icy realm ruled by the goddess Hel. All of these worlds were connected by a central tree known as Yggdrasil or the world tree, with Asgard being at the very top.

Odin was the first and most powerful of the Aesir. Together with his brothers Ve and Vili, Odin overthrew the frost giant Ymir and created the world from pieces of the slain titan,s body. After this Odin fathered several children with several wives. With his first wife Frigg, he fathered Baldr, god of happiness, goodness and beauty. With the earth goddess Jord, Odin also sired his most famous son, Thor, the thunder god.

Odin was also attributed with several mystical allies and tools. At one point, the Aesir fought a great war against the Vanir. During this battle, Mimir,s head was severed, sent to Odin, who would consult it as an oracle. In battle and during the hunt, Odin would brandish the sacred spear Gungir, which was forged by dwarves and had the magical power to always hit it,s target. This led to Odin also being called Lord of the spear. Odin was also accompanied by two wolves, Geri and Freki, who represented greed and ravenous hunger, two ravens, Huginn and Muninn who represented thought and memory and would observe and report earthly goings on for the war god. Perhaps the most famous of Odin,s mystical allies was Sleipnir. The eight legged horse Sleipnir was the offspring of Loki, Odin,s blood brother and god of mischief. This magnificent colt was the swiftest on earth and could traverse land, sea and air, as well as carrying Odin into the land of the dead when necessary. This great steed would also carry the dead to Valhalla over the great rainbow bridge, Bifrost. The tale of Sleipnir can be heard in the song that bears his name.

Valhalla, Odin,s great hall of the slain, is perhaps as well known as the great god himself. Situated in Gladsheim, Valhalla is a massive hall with hundreds of doors. It,s roof, walls and benches made of shields, spears and armour. The hall is so huge that there will always be room enough for all worthy occupants and is wide enough for hundreds of warriors to walk through shoulder to shoulder. Valhalla is used as a barracks for the army of the Einherjar who will assist Odin and the Aesir at Ragnarok. Each day these vanquished warriors will engage in practice battles to prepare for the ultimate comflict before returning to the hall for a great feast of meat and mead. Manowar tells the tale of these great warriors in the song, The Army Of The Dead, Hymn Of The Einherjar. Anyone who is not worthy of Valhalla will be sent to Hel, the lair of the dead from which the word Hell is derived, which is located beneath Niflheim.

Odin would often go on adventures in search of more knowledge. At one point, Odin had hung upon the Yggdrasil for nine days and nights without food or drink, slashed with a spear and sacrificed, in order to learn the secrets of the universe and the secret of the runes, which granted Odin magical powers unlike any other. In this epic fantasy tale Manowar tells us that as his blood ran down the tree, it mixed with the rain and wind and where it fell to the earth, up sprang Odin,s four immortal sons. All of this is brought to life in the song, The Blood Of Odin. It actually makes one feel as if we are there on the battlefield with Odin.

On another occasion Odin disguised himself as a mortal to trick the giants Suttung and Baugi into letting him drink the mead of poetry. Odin tricked Baugi into boring a hole through the mountain that housed the mead, then transformed himself into a snake and crawled inside. Once inside the mountain stronghold, Odin courted Suttung,s daughter Gunnlod for three nights, each night drinking his fill of the mead. Changing himself into the shape of an eagle, Odin then escaped to Asgard with Suttung in hot pursuit. As Odin prepared to empty the mead into containers the gods had prepared for him, he spilled a bit of the mead of inspiration outside of the walls of Asgard, thus allowing mankind to have access to the sacred drink and it,s powers of muse.

It is said that at Ragnarok, the epic battle at the end of the world, the Aesir will battle their enemies Loki and his offspring, who will sail from the north, as well as the army of Jotuns, who will sail from the east aboard Naglfar, a ship made of fingernails of the dead/ However, the gods will be assisted by the Minherjar. The titanic battle will take place at Vigrid Plain, the great battlefield. The titular anthem, Gods Of War, features the sounds of these marching armies, set to do battle to the bloods end. During Ragnarok, Odin will be devoured whole by Fenrir, the gigantic wolf. After a fantastic and brutal battle, Thor will also fall, exchanging death blows with Jormungand, the massive serpent that is coiled around Midgard. Most of the universe will be torn asunder and the gods will die admirable deaths in battle. Sol the sun and Mani the moon will be devoured by the wolves Skoll and Hati and the stars will vanish from the sky, plunging the earth into darkness. The earth will shake, forests will topple and mountains will crumble. All of the gods are already aware of their fates and look forward to this battle with great relish.

Gods Of War tells an epic tale that has existed for almost as long as modern human civilization, reminiscent of classical composer Richard Wagner,s The Ring Of The Nibelung, four part cycle. Over the course of twenty six years, Wagner worked painstakingly to tell, without words, the story of a magic ring that grants power over all of existence and the struggles of man, gods and mythical creatures to win this sacred prize.

In fact, Odin is one of the main characters in the ring cycle as he inspires the human, Siegfried, to capture the ring. Siegfried is then slain in battle and his lover, the Valkyrie Brunnhilde, daughter of Odin, returns the ring to the Rhine, thus inciting Ragnarok and the destruction of the gods. All of this is orchestrated by Odin.

Divided into four parts, Das Rheingold, Die Walcure, Siegfried and Gotterdammerung, The Ring Cycle is truly an epic musical composition that has stood the test of time. It was this incredible piece of music that inspired Manowar to create their own multi-part epic. By utilizing both song structures and dramatic narrations, such as Glory, Majesty and Unity, Manowar weaves an intriguing and captivating saga that is unlike anything being done in modern music.

Much like Ragnarok, as Manowar continues this epic saga, the earth will shake, the walls will crumble and only true fans of metal will remain standing, heads held high, with the triumphant glimmer of a battle well-fought in their eyes.

Hail and kill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MANOyawn, 13 Nov. 2007
I'm a long time fan of this band. I go back to the first record and own everything they have released, so I know what i'm talking about here.
This is only half of a true manowar record.
The orchestral parts are great, but there is simply too much of it, and as for the metal........well the rest of the band,(apart from Joey!) must have been bored out of their heads waiting to play.
The top and bottom of this, is that Manowar have been touring with Rhapsody and Joey must have been heavily impressed and influenced by their music and thought "hang on a minute, maybe we can come up with something similar?, after all we are MANOWAR!!!!"
Sorry to say, but in my opinion as much as i love the band, they have, on this occasion, come a poor second to Rhapsody(of fire)or whatever they are called now?
I only hope that Joey isn't bull headed enough to make Gods of War 2, just to prove to us all that they do what they want, even if that means dividing the fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars massively dissapointing., 21 May 2008
no no no no no no
this is not what the fans want as manowar claim. if i wanted to listen to a story i would of got a audio book. there is only 1 proper manowar song on this which is loki god of fire the rest are just talking and losts of organs and stuff. the men loin cloths have reli sold them selfs out with this one. SO BE WARNED, spend ure hard earned cash on battle hymms or a vigin steele album.
the bonus DVD is a joke. theres no songs or live performances. its got how they make the manowar shirts and chopper bikkee bits. not gd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gods of War
Gods of War by Manowar (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews