Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love 24!!
i really love all 24 episodes. before they said season 6 will be boring but its not..
Wayne Palmer makes it more exciting.. but its kinda confusing since one of the scene there, jack bauer's father, Philipp Bauer is also looking for Gridenko, then on the scene where supposed to be got a chance to kill Jack Bauer, he didnt do it and left Jack bauer in the roof top...
Published on 14 Jan 2009 by M. Robinson

versus
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bauer Lite and Repetitive to the Extreme
I was really looking forward to Series 6 following the cliff-hanger ending of Series 5, sadly it did not live up to my expectations and went off on a crazy tangent. It really did feel, to me, as if the series was written off-the-cuff, whilst the show was actually being filmed. What are the problems? There are far too many to list here, but here are a few:-...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by D. A. Giambrone


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bauer Lite and Repetitive to the Extreme, 2 Aug 2007
By 
D. A. Giambrone "Daniel Angelo" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to Series 6 following the cliff-hanger ending of Series 5, sadly it did not live up to my expectations and went off on a crazy tangent. It really did feel, to me, as if the series was written off-the-cuff, whilst the show was actually being filmed. What are the problems? There are far too many to list here, but here are a few:-

There is a significant reduction in Jack Bauers screen time. Perhaps the producers were trying to ascertain if the show could work without the legend that is Kiefer Sutherland or maybe Kiefer had several other commitments, probably most likely.

There is extreme repetition, there are so many deja vu moments, assassination attempts, CTU breach/incompetence/distrust/staff torture/significant character deaths/staff turnover (exceeding that of a top fastfood joint), challenges to the presidency, the threat ultimately targeting LA (24 has to stop shooting in LA, it is all starting to look samey, why don't Fox choose a fresh location?)

What are the good points? As usual, the cast is exceptional. Although it was a shame that the Vice Presidents plot thread-the stupidity of his retaliation plans, towards the wrong target-was very weak, as this was a waste of a strong actor. There are 2 outstanding 'Jack Moments tm', We finally see Jack get a well-deserved meal (the end of the 1st episode)and he has his best fight ever. The last scene was also good, wiping the slate clean.

I know that diehard 24 fans will strongly disagree with me, But after an amazing first 5 series, maybe it was inevitable that there would be a dip at some point. Series 7 has some repair work to carry out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love 24!!, 14 Jan 2009
By 
M. Robinson "heavenscent" (heart of the earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i really love all 24 episodes. before they said season 6 will be boring but its not..
Wayne Palmer makes it more exciting.. but its kinda confusing since one of the scene there, jack bauer's father, Philipp Bauer is also looking for Gridenko, then on the scene where supposed to be got a chance to kill Jack Bauer, he didnt do it and left Jack bauer in the roof top alone leaving him a cell phone with Charles' Logan's number. Jack then called Logan and find out that Logan would be a help in locating Gridenko. but Y did jack's father gave the number of Logan to jack? is it like he's helping jack to locate Gridenko where he is also finding Gridenko himself right?

hehehe..
but anyway.. I still love it.
Wayne Palmer is the best character in this season. Hope to see him on the next seasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Unmissable, 26 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I started watching this series wondering pessimistically whether the magic would finally give out. I got to the end happy that it hadn't! Another great series that keeps you hanging on to see the next episode, then the next...

I dropped one star because of the occassional bad line, something that I'd not noticed in the earlier series. Picky I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a slight fall in quality but thats to be expected!, 25 Oct 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When you consider that the previous five series' of this cracking show all attained a nice five stars out of five then this series had some work to join that rating,this doesnt reach the heights of previous series' and that isnt really a surprise,series five was just so good,superlatives dont really exist that can do that justice,so this series while brilliant was never gonna hit the heights of five,no shame in that.
Regardless,this doesnt stray far from the formula that made the show so powerful,that in turn has caused many to say that the storylines featured are merely recycled,i can see what they mean but at the same time the show is about stopping terrorists so alot of the same rules and tensions will apply,there isnt gonna be an episode or series where c.t.u are watching an ice cream salesman who is overpricing the children.
The character of Jack bauer features slightly less in this series and gives other characters a chance to dominate,it works on some levels but jack is the show in many ways so im hopeful season 7 will go back to the meaner side of jack ,that was always the best way to show his character.
The show starts extremely well,has slight lull in the middle and then smashes through towards the end and redeems itself in fine fashion.
I wont give anything away,you cant make me!but needless to say if you are a fan of 24 then you need this like you need oxygen,new fans cant just jump in,start at the beginning and see what the fuss is all about hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good - but not as good, 1 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Season 6 was by far the worst so far ... but even with that "criticism" it is still vastly superior to pretty much everything else on TV. For me, the biggest disappointment was with the mis-casting of DB Woodside as the US President. Somehow a black American prez with a goatee beard and aged in his 30s just didn't ring true, particularly given the excellent "presidents" from previous seasons! I see from other reviews that Tony Almeida makes a comeback in the next season - given that he died in Season 5 (a big mistake by the producers in my opinion) it will be interesting to see how that is handled. Box set is by far the best way to watch this programme so recommended despite the reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seams to have lost something, 14 Nov 2007
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having watched seasons 1-5 I was hoping that that the long wait for the DVD to be released would be worth it, unfortunately it isn't. I think they have just crammed too many different sub plots together in just 24 hours, it literally becomes too far fetched, a bit of a shame as I always look forward to seeing Jack in action in the previous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack's back., 21 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
24 season 6 is not as good as the first 5 seasons, but still has a lot going for it, and is still very enjoyable and still one of the best shows on tv. Kiefer sutherland is as good as ever as jack, and there is superb casting with james cromwell as his dad. Yes, you get to see more of jack's family besides kim.
There's also a great new vice president in the form of the excellent powers booth, fresh from the superb and never should have been cancelled deadwood, and some other good new charaters as well. All i'll say is that this show at it's weakest is still a hell of a lot better than some shows at their best, and still highly reccommended. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hope 24 hasn't run ot of steam!, 17 July 2007
By 
Lounge Lizard (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
24 has been amazing seasons 1-4, for me season 5 especially. But Season 6 just doesn't live up to the others, mainly because it just seems the writers got a bit lost in what to draw up.

It's not a bad season - it starts off very well & there are some awesome moments but it just failed to grip me as much. Watching 24 you expect to be suprised/shocked/excited etc especially at the end of each episode but towards the final episodes you know what's going happen each & there's limited excitement. Perhaps too many people have been killed off? Nevertheless, it's not terrible, I just hope they can bring it back in the next 2 seasons or it may die for ever & lose many viewers. Don't lose faith though 24 has had some great seasons & hopefully it will return with a bang for season 7, 8...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another high octane, high suspence installment of Jack Bauer at his best!, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. B. Appleby (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
More explosions, more shocks, and more of Jack Bauer doing what he does best. Fans of 24 and those new to the series will love day 6. Once again you will be on the edge of your seat throughout, suffering from sleep deprivation because you have GOT to watch the next epsiode to see what happens.

The bad press in the US regarding how the torture scenes in 24 are affecting troop morale in Iraq came out in the middle of this series, so day 6 has by no means been dumbed down from previous series, with a number of scenes that have you covering your face thinking "that's gotta hurt." Without giving too much away, there are a number of differences in this series compared to previous ones. We start the series with America in the aftermath of a sustained terror campaign, adding different dimensions to the series such as how frail and seemingly desperate the US is. Another major difference is that this series is much more personal to Jack, introducing us to more members of the Bauer family. The involvement of Jack's family as well as the experiences he endured for two years in China has also changed Jack slightly, as the memories of what has happened in his life coupled with what he has to endure in this series affect him more than ever.

Once again the major characters from previous series such as Bill and Chloe remain, and we are also introduced to some new key people, who will most likely play a prominent role in future series. As per usual there are a number of different plots surrounding the primary terrorist one, most importantly how the White House deals with the aftermath of the terror attacks, and the lengths they are prepared to go to in order to stop future ones.

Overall, one of the best 24 series so far, drawing on the best and most effective aspects of previous series, and adding new dimensions that keep this latest installment fresh, and not just a copy of previous series. A must for all fans of epic entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 24: Series 6, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
24 season 6 picks up 2 years after season 5. Jack's freedom has been bought by the U.S government, and he returns on the day of (another) Islamic fronted nuclear threat.

It looks promising from the outset - episode 1 features an array of terrorist attacks, that suggest a new element of madness and chaos is being brought to the franchise. However, this quickly pitters away and becomes just another nuclear strike, but without the creativity of those in season 2 or 4.

The other major disappointment is the surprisingly poor use of Jack's back story. With Jack having been in a Chinese prison for two years, something much darker and more interesting could have been done within the story. But after half an hour of sitting quietly, Jack simply has a shave and acts like he's never been away. It is a criminal waste.

On the upside, there are still the great action set pieces that people have come to expect, and love. The pace too, is relentless as ever, albeit without as many twists. The Los Angeles CTU has been revamped, and makes another move towards the centre of the action and drama in this series, which does prove to work well within the confines of the show.

Whilst still being more entertaining than pretty much everything else on television, Series 6 is unfortunately, a noticeable weak point in the show's history. Its fails to move on and be original in both the action and politics. It amounts to something we feel we have seen before in the previous series' but better. A wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002]
24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2007)
23.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews