Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love 24!!
i really love all 24 episodes. before they said season 6 will be boring but its not..
Wayne Palmer makes it more exciting.. but its kinda confusing since one of the scene there, jack bauer's father, Philipp Bauer is also looking for Gridenko, then on the scene where supposed to be got a chance to kill Jack Bauer, he didnt do it and left Jack bauer in the roof top...
Published on 14 Jan. 2009 by M. Robinson

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bauer Lite and Repetitive to the Extreme
I was really looking forward to Series 6 following the cliff-hanger ending of Series 5, sadly it did not live up to my expectations and went off on a crazy tangent. It really did feel, to me, as if the series was written off-the-cuff, whilst the show was actually being filmed. What are the problems? There are far too many to list here, but here are a few:-...
Published on 2 Aug. 2007 by D. A. Giambrone


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bauer Lite and Repetitive to the Extreme, 2 Aug. 2007
By 
D. A. Giambrone "Daniel Angelo" (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to Series 6 following the cliff-hanger ending of Series 5, sadly it did not live up to my expectations and went off on a crazy tangent. It really did feel, to me, as if the series was written off-the-cuff, whilst the show was actually being filmed. What are the problems? There are far too many to list here, but here are a few:-

There is a significant reduction in Jack Bauers screen time. Perhaps the producers were trying to ascertain if the show could work without the legend that is Kiefer Sutherland or maybe Kiefer had several other commitments, probably most likely.

There is extreme repetition, there are so many deja vu moments, assassination attempts, CTU breach/incompetence/distrust/staff torture/significant character deaths/staff turnover (exceeding that of a top fastfood joint), challenges to the presidency, the threat ultimately targeting LA (24 has to stop shooting in LA, it is all starting to look samey, why don't Fox choose a fresh location?)

What are the good points? As usual, the cast is exceptional. Although it was a shame that the Vice Presidents plot thread-the stupidity of his retaliation plans, towards the wrong target-was very weak, as this was a waste of a strong actor. There are 2 outstanding 'Jack Moments tm', We finally see Jack get a well-deserved meal (the end of the 1st episode)and he has his best fight ever. The last scene was also good, wiping the slate clean.

I know that diehard 24 fans will strongly disagree with me, But after an amazing first 5 series, maybe it was inevitable that there would be a dip at some point. Series 7 has some repair work to carry out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love 24!!, 14 Jan. 2009
By 
M. Robinson "heavenscent" (heart of the earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i really love all 24 episodes. before they said season 6 will be boring but its not..
Wayne Palmer makes it more exciting.. but its kinda confusing since one of the scene there, jack bauer's father, Philipp Bauer is also looking for Gridenko, then on the scene where supposed to be got a chance to kill Jack Bauer, he didnt do it and left Jack bauer in the roof top alone leaving him a cell phone with Charles' Logan's number. Jack then called Logan and find out that Logan would be a help in locating Gridenko. but Y did jack's father gave the number of Logan to jack? is it like he's helping jack to locate Gridenko where he is also finding Gridenko himself right?

hehehe..
but anyway.. I still love it.
Wayne Palmer is the best character in this season. Hope to see him on the next seasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a slight fall in quality but thats to be expected!, 25 Oct. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When you consider that the previous five series' of this cracking show all attained a nice five stars out of five then this series had some work to join that rating,this doesnt reach the heights of previous series' and that isnt really a surprise,series five was just so good,superlatives dont really exist that can do that justice,so this series while brilliant was never gonna hit the heights of five,no shame in that.
Regardless,this doesnt stray far from the formula that made the show so powerful,that in turn has caused many to say that the storylines featured are merely recycled,i can see what they mean but at the same time the show is about stopping terrorists so alot of the same rules and tensions will apply,there isnt gonna be an episode or series where c.t.u are watching an ice cream salesman who is overpricing the children.
The character of Jack bauer features slightly less in this series and gives other characters a chance to dominate,it works on some levels but jack is the show in many ways so im hopeful season 7 will go back to the meaner side of jack ,that was always the best way to show his character.
The show starts extremely well,has slight lull in the middle and then smashes through towards the end and redeems itself in fine fashion.
I wont give anything away,you cant make me!but needless to say if you are a fan of 24 then you need this like you need oxygen,new fans cant just jump in,start at the beginning and see what the fuss is all about hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Unmissable, 26 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I started watching this series wondering pessimistically whether the magic would finally give out. I got to the end happy that it hadn't! Another great series that keeps you hanging on to see the next episode, then the next...

I dropped one star because of the occassional bad line, something that I'd not noticed in the earlier series. Picky I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 of 24 bit predictable but still first class, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Season six of the series 24 is up to the usual standard. Its true that there are some elements that have been sort of done before and there is a lack of great strides of originality. But its still gripping and just as well produced and acted as the previous five series.
It is basically more of the same sort of thing but it still has that compulsive addiction to keep you watching. There are still tense moments of action. Don't get me wrong this is a new story but by now its easier to guess what is going to happen. But that is understandable after such high standards on the previous series. If you liked the previous series you will like this one too. I did. I cannot fault the series and really enjoyed it.

The plot takes up from the end of series five and we see Jack freed from captivity. He joins in the battle to find the terrorist that threaten nuclear attacks.
If it were reality it would be about time that everyone trusted Jack to be the best man for the Job. But they still don't. But this is fiction and its great fun watching Jack giving every bit of energy against the odds to put things right.

DVD is the best way to see any of the series of 24. Each series has its own story and plays out like one long film. So to be able to go straight from one episode to the next is great. Each episode ends with something that makes you want to see at least the beginning of the next episode to see what happens next.
There are some interesting extra features and as with the previous series there are subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing.
Series Six is predictably excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still worth watching..., 25 Oct. 2008
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Season Six of 24 opens some eighteen months after Season 5's diasterous finale in which Jack was captured and carted off to China.

Sometime later, and Jack, visibly broken and dishevelled - is returned to the United States in exchange for a known terrorist. This is ultimately expected to end with Jack sacrificing himself, something Jack seems more than ready for, having been regularly abused and tortured at the hands of his sadistic captors.

Without giving away the plot, I'll stick instead with how it compares against what was - for me a flawless Season 5, as well as earlier seasons...

Day 6 is a slow burning season this time around. It takes a good six or seven hours for things to really get moving - somewhat different from earlier seasons where there were more twists and turns than anyone could handle, and season 5's explosive opener simply isn't matched - (well how could it be?) - and some might find themselves turning off at this early stage.

The problem is with 24, is that it has been so good that the bar is now set impossibly high. With previous seasons dealing with assassination plots, nuclear weapons, bio viruses - its hard to top anything beyond nuclear, so don't expect much new. The season also reuses some familiar plot lines - spies in the White House? 25th Amendment? and there is a slight feel of Deja-Vu.

The program also expects you to really disband reason to fantasy, as practically anywhere in the states now can seemingly be reached in twenty minutes - the world of 24's real time element gets lost, and annoying main characters seem to still be managing to hang on for far too long.

So, you might wonder with all these minuses, how has it got four stars? Well, the good news is - despite the deja-vu, a couple of reused plot lines and a slow start, 24 hits its stride about seven-eight hours in. There are some genuinely shocking moments, and although Jack seems to be back to himself unrealistically quickly, his character is carried off with superb style by Kiefer Sutherland's incredible acting.

Yes, season 6 is not like season 5 - but there's still plenty for Jack to get his teeth into yet - hopefully the delay on season 7 being released caused by the Writer's strike in America may have given everyone time to think over new directions to take the show in.

So never fear fans - jack is certainly back - just not with quite the bang we're used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good - but not as good, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Season 6 was by far the worst so far ... but even with that "criticism" it is still vastly superior to pretty much everything else on TV. For me, the biggest disappointment was with the mis-casting of DB Woodside as the US President. Somehow a black American prez with a goatee beard and aged in his 30s just didn't ring true, particularly given the excellent "presidents" from previous seasons! I see from other reviews that Tony Almeida makes a comeback in the next season - given that he died in Season 5 (a big mistake by the producers in my opinion) it will be interesting to see how that is handled. Box set is by far the best way to watch this programme so recommended despite the reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You okay?" "I'm fine.", 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24 - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
The bland exchange above is repeated countless times this season, and usually follows Jack being tortured, beaten, shot, chased, betrayed, or having his heart broken. It's pretty lazy dialogue for such a sharp series but typical of a season that is a huge disappointment after the excellent Season 5.

Jack Bauer is released after 20 months of torture in a Chinese prison; though he can barely stand, within moments he's fighting bad guys, jumping fences, and single-handedly bringing down all his enemies. This season, the "hostiles" are Arabs, Chinese, and Russians, as well as some Washington insiders who bicker like children. Since half of the story takes place in the White House, we see much less of Jack, and the show suffers in his absence.

The writers have come up with an endless parade of forgettable villains whose only purpose is to pad the story. When Jack's on the screen, the show is brilliant, thanks to Keifer Sutherland; when he's gone, it's tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack's back., 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
24 season 6 is not as good as the first 5 seasons, but still has a lot going for it, and is still very enjoyable and still one of the best shows on tv. Kiefer sutherland is as good as ever as jack, and there is superb casting with james cromwell as his dad. Yes, you get to see more of jack's family besides kim.
There's also a great new vice president in the form of the excellent powers booth, fresh from the superb and never should have been cancelled deadwood, and some other good new charaters as well. All i'll say is that this show at it's weakest is still a hell of a lot better than some shows at their best, and still highly reccommended. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but could have been so much more., 15 Feb. 2008
This review is from: 24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
24 Season 5 was my favourite of the series so far, so naturally Season 6 had a lot to do in order to surpass it. Sadly it doesn't achieve the mark or close to it but is ultimately entertaining.

I feel 24 does the more personal threats better than big-scale disasters like Seasons 2, 4, and 6 do, so when I heard that the plot was about a bunch of Middle-Easterners wanting to nuke the US I had to roll my eyes a bit. Don't get me wrong, it's done decently but it's starting to run thin in this show. However, the dynamic between Jack and the terrorist leader Assad is interesting in the few episodes it presents itself in.

Speaking of Jack, he's the star of the show, and Keifer is as awesome as always, but I felt him getting out of China was too easy and could have opened up a whole new can of worms for the show, but nonetheless he is back in L.A. He's asked to sacrifice himself as Assad wants him dead after Jack did something to his brother, either torchered him or force-fed Pot Noodle into the poor sucker's mouth. Despite being battered after two years in a Chinese prison, Jack is a bit too soon able to be his old self, venting his anger of his wasted years on too few occassions. His family is thrown into the plot too, but seems to pop in and out of the story rather than a solid conclusion.

CTU is still in this, and houses plots a bit too familiar, some interesting characters in the form of Chole O'Brian and Morris, as well as Bill are the best here, the mistrust and incompetancy is still there. Nice, but too familar. The White House is a little more refreshing, D.B Woodside provides a decent President struggling to live up to his brother's legacy, whilst handling opposition inside the White House. Joining him are Karen Hayes, who is underused, but Tom Lennox, the chief of staff is the star here, his motives are shadowy but gripping.

The main criticism I have with this otherwise entertaining season is that nothing new is acheieved, it is the same plots in a different window dressing. The writing staff of the show appear not be united in what the plot should be about, and seem to be using a message board style way of organising the plot rather than figuring out what is great and makes sense when watching the show again. The show needs to evolve otherwise it will meet a terrible fate, I hate saying those words but it is needed.

Feel free to enjoy this season (I did), just don't expect groundbreaking material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002]
24: Season Six DVD Collection [DVD] [2002] by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2007)
£19.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews