Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most underrated who ep?
This story has a lot going for it, for a start you have a brilliant looking villain as well as H G Wells. Plus androids and a throwback to the 3rd doctor as well. Pleasantly surprised by it.
Published 8 months ago by fall341

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real lash-up
As a self-confessed Doctor Who fan for the past twenty five years I am duty bound to be as positive as possible about any story from the programme's long history. Therefore I will not begin this review by carping about production values - it is a well-documented fact that during the mid-1980s Doctor Who received little support from the BBC and by the time this story was...
Published on 4 Sep 2007 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real lash-up, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
As a self-confessed Doctor Who fan for the past twenty five years I am duty bound to be as positive as possible about any story from the programme's long history. Therefore I will not begin this review by carping about production values - it is a well-documented fact that during the mid-1980s Doctor Who received little support from the BBC and by the time this story was produced it was considered to be tired and irrelevant show that needed to be consigned to history - but will instead focus on the positives whilst remaining objective; surely the whole point of this review system.
Accompanied by Peri and a young HG Wells, the Doctor returns to the planet Karfelon, which is now secretly being ruled by the Borad; a scientist horribly mutated into a cross between a human being and a Morlox (the planet's reptilian inhabitants). The Borad intends to provoke a war with Karfelon's neighbours, the Bandrils. In the wake of the conflict, he will start a new race on Karfelon - a race of mutants like himself, of which The Doctor's companion Peri will be the first.
At the time it was made, the Script Editor (Eric Saward) seemed to be aiming to combine political comment with knockabout humour; a combination that tried the patience of most viewers. On top of this the writer, Glen McCoy, was a TV novice and this led to extensive re-writing of the scripts; the resultant 'disjointed' feel to many parts of the story obviously only served to highlight its limitations.
The story is also guilty of being a little too self-referential, something that would never happen nowadays. The third Doctor is referred to as having visited the planet sometime ago (or after!) and a somewhat bizzare portrait of him is unearthed in episode two.
Overall this is clearly not a classic slice of 'Who' but is nonetheless an enjoyable romp with madcap villains, stilted robots, wobbly sets and over-the-top performances. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad., 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
When the booklet that accompanies the DVD claims "Timelash isn't that bad!" you know you're in trouble. When the making of extra merely reels off a list of reasons for why the story was rubbish, rather than discussing the actual making of the serial, you can't be too hopeful.

However Timelash is much better than its reputation would suggest. The story is pretty simplistic but decent enough. The acting isn't too bad except for Tekker, but I don't feel I really need to comment on that. There are some scenes which are so clearly placed for padding, principally the doctors argument with Perri at the end, which serves no other purpose whatsoever. The blue android thing was squeaky and so pretty ineffective as a menacing villain. The design in the serial was also poor, the interior of the Timelash was effective only for its comedy value. The fact that the terrifying Timelash could easily be climbed into ruined the premise f its use as punishment. Also the poor positioning of the prop meant that people had to throw themselves into the Timelash rather than being thrown into it. Colin Baker was only the Doctor for two full seasons and with such a high percentage of his stories falling short of the mark you can see why he was unpopular with the BBC bigwigs, however Baker is a good actor and could have been an excellent doctor, his performance here (excepting the cringeworthy TARDIS scenes) is a highlight, the design of The Borad is also good.

Another massive problem is the glaring plot holes displayed at the end. The explanation of the Borads escape is improbbable and unsatisfactory, and the fact that the doctor decides not to explain how he prevented the bomb shows weakness in the writing.

I have to say although I have managed to reel off a long list of faults with the serial I did enjoy it when I watched it. I have given it a low rating because it is hard to give it more when so many superior stories exist. However it is a budget release and I wouldn't warn people off picking it up for a cheap price. But with Genesis of the Daleks, Earthshock, Spearhead from Space, The Hand of Fear and other classic serials being released for bargain prices maybe you should shy away from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most underrated who ep?, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
This story has a lot going for it, for a start you have a brilliant looking villain as well as H G Wells. Plus androids and a throwback to the 3rd doctor as well. Pleasantly surprised by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Colin, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
Weak story and back to my old criticism - a naff bad guy. Makes you wonder if they ever really wanted Colin Baker to play the part the amount of poor stories they gave him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can Bad Be Good?, 4 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
Contains spoilers. Sometimes I feel that, when watching certain Doctor Who, notions of bad and good become more complex. Is this good? Is it so bad it's good? Is it just bad? These are questions I find difficult to answer regarding Timelash. I must be honest, I enjoyed it much more than I expected. It's certainly much, much better than the dreadful "Twin Dilemma". Yes, it's ludicrous, but the ludicrousness is entertaining, particularly Paul Darrow, and the ridiculous tinsel climbing frame thing that is supposed to be the inside of the Timelash. Also, the bit where Peri goes away "to be by herself for a bit" and then ends up in the grip of the Borad clone-thingy genuinely surprised and shocked me (sort of). The worst bits are the second main batch of TARDIS bickering between the Doctor and Peri - totally pointless and just annoying, and the slightly dodgy plot - how did the Doctor survive in part two? That isn't adequately explained, nor is the cloning of the Borad. Yes it's pretty rubbish of course, but I was thoroughly entertained for most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to cringe when you watch it, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
Back in the day, I used to go to Doctor Who Appreciation Society local meetings. The one following Timelash sticks in my memory primarily because of the way I was treated. The question was asked of me, "What did you think of Timelash?", to which I replied that I enjoyed it. Much scorn was heaped on me and thus began the start of my disaffection with organised fandom.

In retrospect I think all parties in that exchange were wrong. There are parts of Timelash that are enjoyable... just not many of them. Whereas Twin Dilemma is instantly forgettable, Timelash sticks out in the memory both for its good and bad parts.

Plot: It is an interesting idea: H.G. Wells being inspired by the Doctor into writing his stories and it is a shame that more is not made of this. In particular Wells doesn't really spend a lot of time in the presence of some of the inspirational elements in order to be inspired. Other than Wells, the plot seems somewhat formulaic with a hidden dictator who banishes people on a whim, rebels who want to kill the Doctor/Companion and villains who are hoist by their own petard. The plot failings are a major contributor to the dissatisfaction with the whole story. The insertion of Pertwee and Manning into the story seems forced and might have been better with a generic Doctor (as in Twin Dilemma) or someone more familiar to the original viewers - Peter Davison or Patrick Troughton perhaps.

Script: Absolutely terrible! And that is the nicest thing that can be said about it. Of prime concern is the large amount of arguing going on between the leads that does neither of them any favours. It might have been possible to get away with this early in the season and put it down to a Doctor suffering from a bad regeneration, but here it just seems out of place. What is worse it seems poorly acted as if neither of the leads had their heart in it (not surprisingly). The rest of the script is pretty forgettable.

Design: A mixed bag here. The costume design is very good, in particular the Guardoliers and the Android. The set designs are very functional, but not particularly spectacular, though a lot of care seems to have been lavished on Herbert's living room, making it the best of the sets, despite only a brief appearance. The Timelash itself doesn't work, either with the entrance in the main hall or the interior as seen by the Doctor and Herbert. With the exception of the Borad, the monsters just don't work. The Bandrils appear so small on the screen that one is not sure what one is watching. They are just not menacing. In addition their lips don't move in time with their dialogue. The Morlocks suffer an even worse fate - clearly a badly made puppet on someone's arm. It looks like something off of Blue Peter, not Doctor Who, though kudos to Nicola Bryant for acting as though it were totally real. Unfortunately overall the bad and the mundane overwhelm the good and there must be a general thumbs down to the design.

Acting: There are actually some very good performances on show here. David Chandler is delightful, making one wish that he would become a regular (although his annoying optimism might have to be toned down). Jeananne Crowley is very good and contributes to the lovely moment when she walks serenely across a room to cover while everyone else is rushing. Paul Darrow chews the scenery a bit. When he is not channelling Shakespeare he is rather good as a villain and according to the making of his performance was toned down at the insistence of JNT, so I dread to think how it might have been. Others provide good performances and credit should be given to Robert Ashby for making the Borad completely deranged while remaining intelligent. Dean Hollingsworth's Android is also very well done, with his movements, emotionless face and spoken lines coming across very well.

Direction: Pennant Roberts makes the best of a bad lot. There is not much else to say about this that I haven't already mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Slashed, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
This suffers from a low budget, some rather stiff acting, and some throw back characterisation to the Peri Doctor relationship of Twin Dilemma (which suffers similar production/acting values). Timelash is squeezed between The Two Doctors and Revelation of the Daleks which are classics in terms of adult themes of violence, sex, and gore as Doctor Who got.
Timelash is an interesting story - the choice of 'matte' sets because the Borad bans mirrors leads to dull sets that seem to inspire dull acting, the puppet alien unfortunately comes over muppet, but both the intentions were good.
The design of the Borad himself and the 'blue' robot is exceptional.

I like this because I Love Doctor Who, but you need to watch this with a naive point of view, the concepts are in the words which are lost in the mostly lame delivery.
An excuse is that Colin Baker and Nicola were in Panto at the same time and it was the cheap studio only episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Tinseltown, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

The Planet Karfel(or maybe the city of Karfel, it's never made clear) is ruled by a merciless dictator called The Borad who deals with any form of rebellion by having his enemies thrown into the Timelash, a time vortex that sends its victims back into history. When the Doctor and Peri are caught in said vortex and are sucked through the Timelash into Karfel, the Borad eyes an oppurtunity. Having recently lost a vital amulet, he sends the Doctor back in time to retrieve it, using an imprisoned Peri as a bargaining tool. However, The Doctor has other plans, and is soon planning an end to the Borad's reign of terror.....
I look forward one day to seeing an exciting televised adventure featuring the Doctor and H.G.Wells. Until then, I will have to make do with this instead. In the case of 'Timelsh' do believe the hype as it is rather bad. It is, however, not without its good points. Colin Baker once again delivers a great performance as the Doctor(did he ever give a bad performance?), it is a story full of ideas, even if the execution lets them down, Paul Darrow is as entertaining as always and on paper The Borad is a fascinating villian.
It is all a bit boring though. The sets are dull and drab, only coming to life when being chewed by Darrow giving an overripe, panto villian performance as Tekker. Peri has little to do but squeal a lot, spending a lot of the story tied up and menaced by rather immobile penis shaped reptiles called Morlox. The design and height of the blue skinned droids gives them an air of menace. Until they open their mouths to speak, that is. Menace gone, replaced by mirth. Another unintentionally hilarious sequence has the Doctor descending into the dreaded Timelash, no expense spared here. In fact none at all.
Still, it's Doctor Who, so all is forgiven in the end. I'm very fond of Colin Baker's tenure as the Doctor, but Timelash really doesn't cut the mustard. By the way, look out for a young Steven Mackintosh as a doomed rebel.
The extras are worth the purchase alone, with the highlight being a very witty and informative commentary by Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant and Paul Darrow. Baker really is very commited to Doctor Who as a show and this becomes apparent during the commentary. However I still cannot in all truth give this particular story more than 2 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Absolute pantaloons!, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
No no no no no! This story should have had John Nathan Turner in his superior's offices, nervously explaining why it is so bad. Followed up by his immediate sacking. Why has Doctor Who still, even though it has returned with such a swagger, with such confidence and with such an ability to entertain at all levels are there those members of society who still associate the name with rubbish tv? Look no further than here. Uniformally terrible, with the exception of some of the cast (Baker and Bryant, obviously, who must have been pulling their hair out at this point, such was the quality of the scripts and effects they had to deal with). Stay away unless you enjoy really badly conceived and executed television. It get 2 stars for making one imagine what the first visit by Jon Pertwee's Doctor would have been like. Timelash? More like the writer's been out on the lash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prepare the Timelash!!!!!, 17 Mar 2008
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] (DVD)
Often regarded as the worst Dr Who story ever made, Timelash is actually not half bad if you're in the right mood for it. The script is actually fairly good, it's just in terms of production that it falls down. The sets are very bland and non-descript, some of the acting is woeful and there's a fair bit of padding and bickering scenes in the TARDIS that just go on and on and on...Paul Darrow's performance as Tekker is a joy to watch - completely hammy and over the top but never, ever boring. Colin Baker is as good as ever while Nicola Bryant is very pleasing on the eye. The main villain, The Borad, is an excellent creation, possessing possibly the most chilling voice ever heard on Dr Who and the make up is outstanding. The extras on this DVD are rather minimal - a 25 minute documentary that makes no bones about the fact that the story is no classic, and a wonderfully entertaining commentary. Timelash is nowhere near as bad as it's reputation. Watch with a few beers and an open mind and you'll probably find yourself really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD]
Doctor Who - Timelash [DVD] by Colin Baker (DVD - 2007)
8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews