Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you met Miss Jones?
Doctor Who is back - with a new assistant! In this first episode entitled 'Smith and Jones' we meet the lucky lady who will be flying around space with the dashing Doctor.

Martha Jones is a trainee doctor herself, and is heading to what she expects will be a normal day at work - until she meets a mysterious patient going by the name of Mr.Smith - who has 2...
Published on 12 Jun 2007 by KAT

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not the best episodes in the series
This dvd contains some of the weaker episodes in the series. The episodes on this dvd are Smith and Jones, The Shakespeare Code, and Gridlock.

Smith and Jones= This episode introduces the Doctors new accomplice, Martha Jones. She is acted by Freema Agyeman, and I think she is a great actress and brilliant for the part. The episode is about a hospital...
Published on 1 Aug 2007 by I AM ME


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Series 3: Volume 1, 1 Aug 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
David Tennant has a new companion aboard the TARDIS, Martha Jones (played by Freema Agyeman) and the girl needs to adjust to the Time Vortex, as she will be travelling in time a lot more often. The first three episodes are:

Smith and Jones: When Martha Jones finds herself on the Moon, she meets a mysterious stranger called the Doctor, and her life will never be the same again.

The Shakespeare Code: The Doctor takes Martha to Elizabethan England, where William Shakespeare is under the control of deadly witch-like creatures.

Gridlock: The Doctor takes Martha to New Earth, in the far future, only to find that an entire city has become a deadly trap.

These episodes introduce Martha very well and the Doctor adjusts to a new companion onboard his Time and Relative Dimension in Space (the TARDIS), his time machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who at his best, 30 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
One of the best episodes of Dr Who I have seen was the one where he met Shakespeare. This episode, along with two others from Series 3 are included on this DVD. Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOCTOR WHO SERIES 3 VOL 1, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Angela J. Welch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This DVD was as new still in its wrapping and I received it within a week of ordering it I was very pleased with the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the bunch, 30 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I think this dvd is the best volume out of the lot of them with mrs finnigan and the face of boe tellin his big secret to the doctor its brilliant.plus the spell binding withes using there withcraft for evil.its so coe wicked from chris age 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very happy with the product and the seller. exactly what I wanted, I'm very happy, I would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennant is still great, 10 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. J. M. Parker "Johnny" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The opening three episodes to the Third series of the new Doctor Who show how great David Tennant is in the role of the Doctor. Freema Agyeman, who plays the role of Martha, fits into the role well, replacing Billie Piper's character of Rose.

Of the Three Episodes "The Shakesphere Code" is the strongest of the three stories and is just excellent, "Smith and Jones" is also another great story setting up The Doctor & Martha with ease. "Gridlock" is perhaps the weakest of the three but a good story nonetheless.

If you like these three episodes you'll be eager for Volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good start, 30 July 2007
By 
J. colbourne "paddington" (deep in the heart of somerset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After the superb chemistry in series one of Doctor Who with Christopher Eccelston and Billie Piper; series two with David Tennant was so sacherine sweet and poorly written that I wondered if the third series was worth watching at all. Fortunately I was proved wrong and David Tennant and Frema Agyeman worked brilliantly together to start a whole new set of interesting and subtly poignant stories. The one downer in these three episodes is the Shakespear code which I think is a bit overdone and is basically not all that far removed from the dickens episode in series one, has much less to say for its self and the numerous quotes are absolutely infuriating. The other episisodes are dark and atmospheric and although the first episode is a bit slow, in the way of most setting the scene episodes, it gives good insight into the characters and is easy to watch. The episode everyone else has slated in these reviews is much the best of the lot if you like tense atmospheric storylines with poignant endings and a perfectly wrought distopia.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant start for a new companion., 28 April 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I am writing this review based on the actual episodes as the DVD has not yet been released so I have not been able to write about the commentaries or additional features.

For those who thought no companion could ever be as good as Rose, I hope you feel much happier now after seeing Martha Jones - Freema Agyeman gives a great performance, and it's clear she's not going to just follow The Doctor like a sheep. Like with Rose, she's got attitude and isn't afraid to put The Doctor in his place.

The first episode has some amazing special effects, the missing hospital scenes felt more like something from a film. For those of us who saw the Rhino-baddies with their head gear on a few weeks back in teaser trailers, we didn't get the Sontarans but we still got a good baddie! They reminded me of the Vogons from the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy with their beurocracy and large heads!

Next we had a charismatic Shakespeare trying to pull Martha Jones and saving the world in the process. The whole ethos of words being powerful against the forces of evil rang true with the spirit of Doctor Who where brains often overcome braun. I've seen many actors play the role of the Bard himself over the years, but Dean Lennox-Kelly is in my opinion, the best. He brought warmth, humour and a good dash of egotism to the guy whom many of us have read in the classroom. The evil witch baddies were a bit naff, but the concept was good enough to keep the episode flowing well.

I didn't feel that Gridlock was the strongest of these three episodes, but it still didn't disappoint. The concept was brilliant (to a dystopian fiction lover like me!). The highlights of this episode include the Doctor talking about Galifrey and the time war to Martha, and of course - the face of Bo's final words to The Doctor ..."You are not alone".

A fab start to the series, from the episodes directly after these ones - this looks to be one of the best Doctor Who series we'll enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who hasn't lost any of it's sparkle as it enters it's third series!, 30 May 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After two hugely successful and enjoyable series, the pressure was on for head writer Russell T Davies to deliver a third series that combined the same quantities of fun, adventure, scares and excitment - that would make sure that both children and adults alike were hooked on a Saturday night. Of course, there is one huge change between the first two series and Series 3 - the absence of Billie Piper as companion Rose Tyler, who had been part of the show since it returned in March 2005. The current Doctor, the superb David Tennant proved himself as more than an apt replacement for Christopher Eccleston, but the question was whether or not newcomer Freema Ageyman would be able to take over as Martha Jones, the Doctor's new sidekick, and more importantly if audiences would accept her and still enjoy the show to the same degree. After a very promising Christmas Special, the first episode without Rose, my expectations were very high for Series 3, and luckily I wasn't left disappointed. Doctor Who seems to have lost none of it's sparkle and energy, and if you fancy an adventurous romp, there's nothing better. There are three 45-minute episodes included on this 'Volume 1' DVD, all of which are excellent and a great start to the third series. There will be a 6-disc boxset including all the episodes (and Christmas Special) available at the end of the year, including special features, by if, like me, you can't wait for that - then this 'vanilla' release is a must-buy. The episodes included on the disc are:

Smith and Jones

Writer: Russell T Davies

Director: Charles Palmer

Original airdate; 31/3/07

A great start to Series 3 - this episode is action-packed, fast, funny and very slick, and doesn't slow down for one minute. Most importantly, it is very successful in it's introduction as Freema Ageyman as the Doctor's new companion, Martha Jones. Martha is a practicing medical student, living in the middle of a chaotic domestic situation - her parents are divorced, her father's got himself a new younger girlfriend and her brother's got a baby. So, as you can imagine - the Doctor's just what she needs! In Series 2 in particular, I did start to find Rose somewhat unlikeable and annoying, her constant obsession with the Doctor made her appear rather selfish at times, but Martha is instantly likeable and feels like the kind of person you'd like to spend a day in the TARDIS with. She's intelligent, warm and good-natured, and has great chemistry with David Tennant. David Tennant is also great in this episode too - and gives a fully-charged performance; arguably one of his best to date. The new monsters are some of the best the show has given us yet - the rhino-like space police - the Judoon! Not only are they very menacing, but they're also the source of some good humuor to. The main threat of the episode is the bloodthirsty Plasmavore - but I don't want to spoil any surprises! The hopsital Martha works for is transported to the moon (the special effects and visuals are fantastic), but the best scenes of the episode come right at the end when Martha enters the TARDIS for the first time. A triumphant, colourful and exceedingly confident opener to the third series - full of life, fun and action. What more to you need?

The Shakespeare Code

Writer: Gareth Roberts

Director: Charles Palmer

Original airdate: 7/4/07

Another top-notch episode, and one of the best of the third series. Newcomer Gareth Roberts (who is currently working on the Doctor Who spin-off series 'The Sarah Jane Adventures') delivers a scrpt bursting with wit, adventure and charm. In this episode, the Doctor and Martha go back in time to the year 1599, and in true Doctor Who fashion, the design department really raise to the challenge. Doctor Who has always excelled at the historical/period adventures, and this is no exception - it's beautiful to look at and captures the time brilliantly - both in design/visual style and the way people speak/act. It's also a hugely ambitious episode in many respects too (Russell T Davies' says it's the most 'lavish' piece of work to date), and the final climax was actually filmed in the real Globe theeatre, which makes the episode rather special, in my opinion. Dean Lennox-Kelly is superb as the loud-mouthed, vulgar William Shakespeare - playing the Bard as a bawdy boyband-esque type of character, therefore not conforming to the general stereotype of the man, which is a joy to behold. The villains of the piece were also very appealing to me - how could you have Shakespeare, without the three witches? And they're great - scary, effective and typically Doctor Who. Another absolutely great episode - that contains all the ingredients for a 'classic' Who adventure.

Gridlock

Writer: Russell T Davies

Director: Richard Clark

Original airdate: 14/4/07

The third episode on the disc is the best in my opinion, full of wit, charm, adventure - combining the usual brilliant Russell T Davies' penned script with stunning performances and special effects. After taking Martha back to the past to meet Shakespeare, the Doctor takes Martha even further into the future - returning to New Earth in the year five billion and fifty-three. Of course, if you'll recall, we've been to New Earth before (in the first episode of Series 2), but this is a very different New Earth. Gone are the rolling hills, the apple-grass and the clear blue skies to be replaced by a bleak, grimy undercity, where strange people are dealing drugs and the motorway is jam-packed and conjested with cars spewing fumes. There is a great sense of mystery and panic to this episode - not only is it impressive to look at, but the premise itself is fairly innovative and impressive too. Some travellers have been on the motorway for over twenty-years, kept sane by promises from computer holograms and the exploitation of their faith and religion, the latter of which is realised quite brilliantly and beautifully. If this wasn't enough, the episode also boasts the return of an old enemy from the Doctor's past not seen since the last 1960's (the Patrick Troughton tenure), a sumptious description of the Doctor's dead home planet, Gallifrey and the return of the Face of Boe, who is finally read to impart his great secret... 'Gridlock' is a superb episode, rich in imagination, tightly plotted and containing many of your trademark Russell T Davies' traits. It's cheeky, exciting and offers some great characters - the standout being Ardal O'Hanlon (Father Dougal from 'Father Ted') as Brannigan, the cat!

There are a number of notable guest stars in these episodes too - such as Anne Reid as the Plasmavore in 'Smith and Jones', who oozes unpleasantness. Dean Lennox-Kelly from Channel 4 drama 'Shameless' is fantastic as William Shakespeare in the second episode, and Ardal O'Hanlon gives his usual likeable, engaging performance as a cat in 'Gridlock'. So, all in all, a tremendous start to Series 3, all three episodes are brilliant and I'd recommend this DVD most highly. Saturday night's are still very much ruled by the Doctor, and long may the brilliance of the series continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 9 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love this DVD, but I cant really comment on the DVD itself, I can only comment on the Doctor Who series. The best yet in my view and well done to all the team who made Doctor Who, and the amazing actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol.1 [2007] [DVD] [2005]
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews