Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine brought to your DVD player
As has been mentioned below, this is where Morecambe and Wise became the Morecambe and Wise that are so warmly remembered. Eric Morecambe once said that their premise was that everyone knew that Ernie was an idiot and that Eric was a bigger idiot, and in their early days, this was certainly the case. Eric was gormless and naive (but still providing the greater part of...
Published on 11 July 2007 by S. Bentley

versus
55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Misrepresented Package
Morecambe and Wise are obviously worth five stars of anybody's rating system, but I have only given this 2-dvd set three stars for the simple reason that the packaging misrepresents the contents.

You are promised "The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series." What you actually get is the surviving footage from the first series,...
Published on 13 Jun 2007 by A. Cadwallender


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great look back at the old days !, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
As I & my friend love M&W this was the perfect gift and full of fun & laughter a must for any fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Brought me sunshine!", 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a 16 year old teen, and have always had a love for Morecambe and Wise since I was first shown their Christmas shows at around the age of 7. They are a prime example of how good things never die and are still hilarious long after their tragic ends, this brilliant DVD shows (what's left) of their first season, which from way back in the 60s still brought me sunshine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing a programme about them, I decided to go down memory lane and relive my childhood and happy Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars non like it anymore, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
these guys were a great pair . we have all the series & after all these years we still think humour like this is a thing -unfortunately - of the past , when we are feeling down we get one out & play it . So much talent on the shows too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best series ever, 16 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
The 'surviving footage' of series 1 turns out to be only about 20 minutes (all from the same episode i think), so really this is a DVD of their second BBC series, the first after Eric's first heart attack and the first with Eddie Braben as writer. As such it has a wonderful freshness and excitement about it.

The 'flat sketches' and 'bed sketches' are especially good: the bed sketch in episode 2 is one of my favourite Morecambe and Wise sketches ever.

In fact, that episode as a whole is just fabulous, beginning with the opening where Eric thinks Ernie is eulogising him - only to discover that the wonderful person Ernie is praising is Ernie himself.

There are also the usual (unintentionally) bizarre musical acts (especially the French 'flamenco' threesome!) made all the stranger by the garish 70s clothes, plus the inevitable Kenny Ball number.

Odd to think i wasn't even born when this series was broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Early Years, 27 May 2007
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD features part of an episode from the 1968 series and the entire 1969 series. As this item hasn't been released yet, I obviously haven't yet viewed it in it's entirety. I did see a clip of it on a TV show though and the picture quality was excellent and I had never actually seen that particular sketch before. These episodes never seem to appear on TV (I think we've all seen the 1971 Christmas show more than can be good for us!) and I think this DVD will make a fascinating addition to any Morecambe and Wise fan's collection. Plus the 1969 series features some great special guests such as Peter Cushing and Edward Woodward. A must-see!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unforgettable, 8 Nov 2007
By 
C. N. Windsor "chas windsor" (stamford lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - The Surviving Footage From The First Series And The Complete Second Series [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
when you watch this brilliant 2 disc d.v.d it certainly makes you realise what great comedy actors they really were, no other double acts have come anywhere near their brilliance. ok we did:nt see frankie & susan as advertised but that dos;nt distract from making this a must have d.v.d.

chas windsor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews