Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Realistic, heart breaking, emotional film
I watched this film on tv, boxing day. It broke my heart to watch it, as it was so realistic, you could only feel for the parents and the little boy, Thomas, the puppy, named after Thomas the Tank engine was so real to me as anyone who has been affected by ASD, knows that Thomas is usually the most loved 'person' by your child. The Tantrums, the hurt, the pain and most...
Published on 17 Jun 2007 by CutieQ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
An ok film, about an autistic boy and his relationship with the new family pet dog. It's an enjoyable film, but not brilliant, I would say very watchable though.
Published 7 months ago by Brooksy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Realistic, heart breaking, emotional film, 17 Jun 2007
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I watched this film on tv, boxing day. It broke my heart to watch it, as it was so realistic, you could only feel for the parents and the little boy, Thomas, the puppy, named after Thomas the Tank engine was so real to me as anyone who has been affected by ASD, knows that Thomas is usually the most loved 'person' by your child. The Tantrums, the hurt, the pain and most importantly the hope these parents had. Thank you to the parents and the people who put this together, I didn't feel alone anymore, with the battle against your own insanity, the love for your child and the willingness to get the best out of a 'bad' situation. Handled sensitively, also showed the effects the world has on you, when you are bringing up a child with ASD. I would recommend this film to anyone, who is affected by ASD, knows someone with ASD, or wants to educate themselves and their families about this ever growing condition. Not all unruley children are naughty, or unwilling to co-operate. Some can't by nature. Must see. A+++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart warming story!, 28 July 2009
By 
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After Thomas [DVD] [2006]

The story of a family, whose son Kyle was born with severe autism. Kyle's behaviour ranges from sullen silence to kicking and screaming tantrums - he cannot interact with others, he cannot show love towards his parents.

Follow the family's frustrations - from the lack of understanding of outside observers to dealing with medical and other authorities.

A visit to friends with dogs has Kyle communicating with the dogs in a way that he cannot with people. A golden retriever puppy, Thomas, so named because of Kyle's obsession with Thomas the Tank Engine, joins the family. Thomas's devotion allows Kyle to communicate and open up, first to Thomas, then to his family.

It is very moving to follow the progress made by Kyle, and you could feel the joy of his parents as he starts to express his emotions and feelings.

This is based on 'a friend like henry', the true story of the Gardner family. I would suggest reading the book first, (where the dog is named Henry, and the boy is Dale!)
A Friend Like Henry

Both book and DVD are delightful

Excellent, highly recommended - a box of tissues needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After Thomas, 25 April 2007
By 
K. Munday "film fan" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is an emotional drama based on true events of life with an Autistic child. This will have you weeping from the start, a very powerful and hard hitting piece, quite possibly the best drama seen on TV in a long time. If you liked Rainman then this is a film for you. After Thomas doesn't wrap the issues with cotton wool, it demonstrates a close truth of living with such a condition, and the effects it has on everyone. Another good film based on the same issues is 'snow cake'.

If you have a passion for Autism these are the films for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After Thomas, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Being based on the book 'A Friend Like Henry by Nuala Gardner', I do advise reading this before watching the film, as the film only shows part of what Nicola and Rob went through with their son, and where the film ends, the book carries on quite a bit further, explaning the trials the family went through. The film doesn't really do justice to the book, however, it is gripping from start to finish, opens a window of what life is like for many parents in Rob and Nicola' position. It is a truly touching film, that will have you reaching for the tissues by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. D. Chauvin (Bath England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After reading the book I could not resist and watch the film. Is a very beautiful and sad story . Very good recomended for any dog lover !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Certain good film stars a dog named after 'Thomas the Tank Engine', 28 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. D. B. Coffey "Daniel Coffey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I would recommend this film to people who have their conditions of autism, asperger syndrome etc.

In fact, this film was based on a book about an autistic kid named Dale and a dog named after his favourite Thomas character 'Henry'
In the film, it takes place in the year 1993 and I was like 'wow!' (but I never expect anything from the 1990's like that nowadays, even though the film is made in 2006... I just don't know how.)

The plot starts with Kyle Graham has to struggle with a disability of severe condition of autism, and his parents couldn't know what to do to handle this. Until a solution came as an answer to fix their problems with their son, comes a golden retriever dog named after the popular TV series character 'Thomas the Tank Engine'.

Honestly I have never seen this film, but I heard it had premièred on ITV in Boxing Day 2006 and has eventually been released on DVD in 2007. Now I have the DVD for Christmas and watched it.

Overall, the film is really good to watch despite having some tear jerking moments.
Again I would give it 7.1/10.

Daniel Coffey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After Thomas dvd, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Excellent dvd and a story of hope for any family who may have the blessing of a child with Autism.
Item arrived prior to promised delivery date and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, true to life drama, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I originally watched this drama when it was onT.V. I was delighted to find it available on dvd, as it is such a good account of what life with an Autistic child is really like. I could really relate to the story, being a mother to an Autistic child myself. I would highly reccomend this dvd to anybody wo wants to develop a better understanding of Autism, which is a very difficut condition to explain in words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After thomas, 1 July 2011
By 
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Ifound this film was educating and gives anyone who does not know much about autism how much at risk these sort of people are although they can can give so much happiness and joy to those people around them and proves the point that canines are a mans best friend it a gripping veiwing and a heart-warming tear-jerking story i enjoyed it and would watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film highly recommended, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: After Thomas [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
this is a very good film showing a child with autism an how it affects the parents an the child , an i highly recommend it not just to people affected by autism but by any one who likes to watch a good film based on a true story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After Thomas [DVD] [2006]
After Thomas [DVD] [2006] by Keeley Hawes (DVD - 2007)
6.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews